We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation to Estonia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tallink City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tallink City Hotel to your Saves list
Tallink City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A Laikmaa 5, Tallinn 10145, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Vacation to Estonia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed here for a week and it was a very pleasant stay. The room was clean, the location and proximity to Old Town, the Ferry terminal and other downtown spots was perfect. The regular room was spartan on decor, which was more than adequate for our stay. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean and the staff was very attentive and friendly. We would definitely stay here again when in Tallinn.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back seem to be most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illi O, General Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear guest!

Thank you for your feedback!
It is a great pleasure to read that your family enjoyed the stay in Tallink City Hotel!

We warmly welcome you back!

Illi Ojavere
Tallink City Hotel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    98
    94
    25
    6
See reviews for
33
71
17
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Riihimaki, Finland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed at Tallink City Hotel oner night and everything worked fine. Parking is behind the hotel and it cost just 10 €, room was spacy and clean. Hotel was quiet, walls clearly robust. Staff as friendly and breakfast tasty. The location in the heart of Tallinn is perfect; just cross the road and you are in the shopping area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illi O, General Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear guest!
Thank you for your positive feedback!
We are truly glad you enjoyed your stay and found everything fine.

Hope to see you in the nearest future!
Welcome back,

Illi Ojavere
Tallink City Hotel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koblenz, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Quite nice (big) Hotel close to the "old Town" of Tallin, small Standard Rooms, but ok. clean and all needed faclities.
Good Price and value Hotel for Business and Weekend Trips to Tallin,
Airport Taxi is appr. 8-9€
in Tallin is no need for a rental car if you dont need to leave teh city
i personally recommend the Hotel for staying in Tallin

Room Tip: Book a room up from the 5th floor, bit more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear HME,

Thank you for your stay and comment/recommendations, left here in Tripadvsor!
Welcome back to Tallink City Hotel,
Siim Ojaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Do not expect anything and you will not be disappointed. The hotel is very centrally located and averagely priced which are the positives. The lobby is also fairly comfortable and the breakfast is ok. The rooms are very shabby and dated. The regular rooms are also very small. We took the "superior" room expecting a bit more. And what we got for the extra price was empty space (and facilities to make tea and coffee). There would have been room for a comfy chair etc. but the only places to sit were the beds, a small chair and a very worn stool. The furniture is the same in the smaller rooms, so there was just a bit more room to walk about. The room had seen better days, the furniture was chipped, the fixtures scratched and ugly. The room also had not been cleaned properly. Will probably not stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not bother to pay more for a superior room unless you need the space for an extra bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Hanna,

Thank you for your reservation in Tallink City Hotel.
We are working on the shortcomings you have described in your feedback.
Please choose a DeLux room during your next stay, I am sure that a higher room standard suits your needs better.

Greetings from Tallinn,
Siim Ojaver
FOM
Tallink City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed at hotel for a small conference. Hotel is conveniently located and meeting facilities were good. Rooms are dated, breakfast poor and hotel had too many drunken alcohol tourists as guests. Not the worst, but Tallinn has better hotels to offer for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear EeStan,

Thank you for your honest opinion about Tallink City Hotel.
I sincearly hope that you next stay in City Hotel will be a more memorable one.

Greetings!
Siim Ojaver
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during The Estonia V Ireland game, and must say we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The staff were very friendly and helpful in every way. The rooms were top class with wifi, very clean and modern.
The breakfast is great with ample choice.
There is a massage parlor in the hotel which was well and truly used by us. Very professional.
The bar is small but the staff are brilliant at making cocktails, hats go off to Janà and her concoctions. Bravo.
Lots of Finnish people stay here at the weekends. Only a couple of mins from the port. Overall great service, great rooms, great food, great time was had here. As Arnie said," I'll be back"

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Greg G,

We are greatful for the kind words and positive description you have given about Tallink City Hotel.
Jana, our bartender, has a lot of new coctailrecipes and she is thrilled to try them on you.
Looking at the draw for EURO2016, I bet that Scotland and Germany aren´t half as interesting opponents and destinations, so we´ll be waiting :)

Greetings,
Siim Ojaver
FOM
Tallink City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Very good location, close to most of sightseeings, city center, shops, cafe-houses.
The hotel is not appropriate for such a huge number of people. Long lines at restaurants and to the elevators. We understand that there is nothing to do with it, but the main disadvantage was at check-in. Receptionists doesn`t handle with such a huge line at check-in. Each person staying in the hotel should fill in separate paper at check-in, that`s just ridiculous! That`s why in most of European hotels only one paper should be filled in for all guests staying in one room. Due to these papers that should be filled in by each staying guest (a lot of families with children) line at check-in was huge (the biggest one we`ve ever seen at check-in!) and it took us 45 minutes in the line to get the keys and it lasted for 3 hours minimum! There were Christmas holidays and the hotel was most probably fully booked, but they could at least avoid all these papers filling in in order not to waste the time of their guests!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Roman,

Thank you for staying in Tallink City Hotel!
I am glad, that you were pleased with the hotel in general, but please let me explain with few words, why did your check in take too much time.
As I can presume you stayed with us in the beginning of january and this is also the time when our dear neighbours from Russia like to visit us. This year majority of those reservations were guaranteed with a creditcard, but charged on spot. Therefore, we are not only talking about the time for filling the registration card, but also the time that is needed to charge each client.
Aslo I would like to specify, that after Estonian Tourism Law, §24 it is obligatory to fill in the reg.card for all the quests (except. groups).
We will definitely try to learn from this years experience and organize our work accordingly.

Please accept our apologies and greetings!
Siim Ojaver
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tallink City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallink City Hotel

Address: A Laikmaa 5, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tallink City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Tallink City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallink City Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tallink City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.