We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel is not appropriate for such a huge number of people.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tallink City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tallink City Hotel to your Saves list
Tallink City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A Laikmaa 5, Tallinn 10145, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Helsinki
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The hotel is not appropriate for such a huge number of people.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Very good location, close to most of sightseeings, city center, shops, cafe-houses.
The hotel is not appropriate for such a huge number of people. Long lines at restaurants and to the elevators. We understand that there is nothing to do with it, but the main disadvantage was at check-in. Receptionists doesn`t handle with such a huge line at check-in. Each person staying in the hotel should fill in separate paper at check-in, that`s just ridiculous! That`s why in most of European hotels only one paper should be filled in for all guests staying in one room. Due to these papers that should be filled in by each staying guest (a lot of families with children) line at check-in was huge (the biggest one we`ve ever seen at check-in!) and it took us 45 minutes in the line to get the keys and it lasted for 3 hours minimum! There were Christmas holidays and the hotel was most probably fully booked, but they could at least avoid all these papers filling in in order not to waste the time of their guests!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Roman,

Thank you for staying in Tallink City Hotel!
I am glad, that you were pleased with the hotel in general, but please let me explain with few words, why did your check in take too much time.
As I can presume you stayed with us in the beginning of january and this is also the time when our dear neighbours from Russia like to visit us. This year majority of those reservations were guaranteed with a creditcard, but charged on spot. Therefore, we are not only talking about the time for filling the registration card, but also the time that is needed to charge each client.
Aslo I would like to specify, that after Estonian Tourism Law, §24 it is obligatory to fill in the reg.card for all the quests (except. groups).
We will definitely try to learn from this years experience and organize our work accordingly.

Please accept our apologies and greetings!
Siim Ojaver
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    107
    106
    29
    7
See reviews for
39
80
19
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
174 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

It was okay hotel. Not fancy, but a basic good hotel. Check in went smoothly and we got room in the second highest floor. No noise from the corridor or other rooms so we slept well. Breakfast had a lot of different kinds of food and it was good. Location is near Tallink Silja harbour and old town, so no taxi or public transport is needed. Close to all the shops.

The most annoying thing about the hotel was, that the smoking area was front of the main doors, so whenever you entered the hotel or left, you had to walk through the smoke. Not very welcoming smell.

There were lots guests who had come for partying, some young guys had room party with music, so if you are unlucky you might have lousy neigbours.

If I could I would give three and half stars. It was little above as an average hotel, but not worth of very good. Next time I will try a hotel in old town, but for smaller budget and short term stay this was a good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Cadhlan,

Thank you for your stay. We appreciate your honest opinion about Tallink City Hotel.
All hotels in Tallinn, including Tallink City Hotel, are non-smoking and the fastest and easiest solutions for smokers, is to go outside. We have marked and placed ashtrays to the far end of the door-way for that, but it may happen that guests don´t see the signs. In that case, we ask you to inform our reception so the porter can go and clearify the hotel rules. The same request applies, incase you have noisy neighbours.

I still hope that your next stay in Tallinn, will take place in Tallink City Hotel and you will experience a very good ****star hotel service.

Greetings to Vantaa!
Siim Ojaver
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have just spent 2 nights and days in Tallinn and wished we had planned a longer stay here. The staff were extremely friendly, check in a breeze, with a children's entertainment corner in the foyer which was great. The Tallink City Hotel is excellent for our famy of 5. Large famy room. Fold out bed slept our 3 children comfortably which means we did not bother to make up the roll away that was also provided. Pull out bed was great design that did not have baracrois middle (like mist sofa beds in Australia). Comfortable, cheery, 10 min walk to old town (magic this time of year). It was literally like walking back in time. Modern on one side then transported to medieval times. For an affordable nice and roomy hotel room I recommend the Tallink
city Hotel. Also we are leaving early tomorrow morning so the lady at reception organized breakfast boxes to go! Great service!!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
G'day HoHo,

We are thankful for your accomodation choice and very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here!
FYI - I just saved your comment, incase we need a "show-comment" in our family-package description.

Greetings from snowy Tallinn,
Siim Ojaver
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
177 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

From outside the hotel looks new modern glass covered building. Upon arrival and check-in the staff was friendly and efficient. Elevators were quite located interestingly far from reception and no security lock, so anyone can ride to any floor.
The corridor leading to my room and especially the room doors created this deja-vu to ferries. Room was small twin. Bed good and comfortable. Room consisted small electronic safe and minibar. Room was clean, except several long hairs, I guess cleaners. There is no amenities in the bathroom, as they are not needed. Shower has own gel dispenser and soap dispenser by the sink.
Bar and hotel was full of drunken Finns, who are basically harmless, if you keep eye on them and you are not left under falling drunken Finn.
Breakfast was normal buffet. Hotel was very full, so was breakfast room. Staff did their best to clean tables and refilling breakfast components. Maybe large audience kept the food fresh.
Hotel is centrally located.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank You for your stay and a humorous comment, left here in Tripadvisor.
You have described a few minor shortcomings regarding Tallink City Hotel - please take under consideration, that the building itself is from the year 1974 and unfortunately it was not possible to implement all modern day building technologies, during the renevation, made in 2004.
It is always assuring, when a guest comment starts with the words "frindly" and "efficient" - it shows that we are on the right track!
And last but not least - I promise that in City Hotel, no falling Finn has, or never will cause any harm to no-one, but maybe himself!

BR.,
Siim Ojaver
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The hotel filled all expectations for the purpose as a meeting and conference facility.
Rooms were spacious,clean and tastefully decorated in calm Scandinavian style, but the corridors could need a "face lift".
The beds were really comfortable and nice.
Unfortunately the service level was not very high and the staff did not feel very friendly or welcoming.
The pre-ordered food in the restaurant was not of very high quality, but i recon the food served from the a la carte menu is of much higher standard.
Location is spot on in the heart of the city.
Nice atmosphere in the lounge bar in the evening.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Daniela,

We are most delighted to read, that Tallink City Hotel met all your expectations.
It is our pleasure to welcome you here again!
Siim Ojaver
FOM
Tallink City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The location of hotel was very good, it was next to Viru-centrum. The distance from harbour is short, but easier to go by taxi. The rooms were big and clean. This hotel is cost-effective choice for tourists. We will come back there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Tanja-Nelli,

It is always very pleasent to get feedback like yours.
It will definetly be pleasing to accomodate you again, here in Tallink City Hotel, soon!
Greetings,
Siim Ojaver
FOM
Tallink City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The good thing in this hotel is that you actually do not feel leaving the older Tallink cruise ships when entering your room. Lousy rooms and even lousier breakfast. This hotel is actually really good for booze tourists.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Mikko,

Thank you for your stay and feedback about Tallink City Hotel.
We are sorry, that your experience here, was not entirely positive - unfortunately you don´t specify what exactly went wrong or was disturbing you? Please let me know - cityhotel@tallink.ee
Greetings,
Siim Ojaver
FOM
Tallink City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel
0.1 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#13 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tallink Express Hotel
Tallink Express Hotel
#36 of 84 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
#8 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.1 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
#9 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallink City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallink City Hotel

Address: A Laikmaa 5, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tallink City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your Tallink City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallink City Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tallink City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.