We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tallink City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tallink City Hotel to your Saves list
Tallink City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A Laikmaa 5, Tallinn 10145, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Safe choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It's not the place for romantic vacations or honeymoon but it's a fair e safe choice for any other kind of trip. Rooms are clean, large and quite. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good. It's well located and at a walking distance to old town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Boginia,
We are grateful for your accomodation and opinion above, but please allow me to clearify that we also have suits and royal suits available. My honest opinion is that these rooms, with a 10th floor view, are just suitable for a romantic getaway ;)
B.R
Siim Ojaver
FOM
Tallink City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    98
    94
    25
    6
See reviews for
33
71
17
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lappeenranta, Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a very centrally located hotel in Tallinn owned/managed by the big(gest?) shipping company of Helsinki -Tallinn route, Tallink. Thereby it's customers seemed to be up to 90+ per cent of my countrymen, Finns, having a leisure trip to Tallinn.
A large hotel, clean, service and breakfast OK. Nothing very personal in the hotel, nothing to complain either.
A large shopping mall across the street. Old Town of Tallinn just a stone throw away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Pekka,
Thank you for choosing Tallink City Hotel.
I am glad we met your expectations.
Welcome back!
Siim Ojaver
FOM
Tallink City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is situated in the middle of Tallinn, nearby city-center shopping mall. Unfortunately there is more rooms for smokers than nonsmokers (at least it was something we feel about). Try to get your room as high as possible, there is good views.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Jarmo Y,

Thank you for your stay and feedback about Tallink City Hotel.
Unfortunately you have misinterpreted hotel policy regarding smokers. I can assure, that all rooms are for non-smokers and customers, who are caught disobeying this rule are penalized.

Welcome Back!
Siim Ojaver
Tallink City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapelle, the Netherlands
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

What struck me most was the enormous amount of people in this hotel. It seems that many people from Helsinki come to Tallinn just for the weekend. Fortunately, all these people did not cause any problem. Rooms are spacious and clean, drinks at the bar at a good price (that's why all the Finnish come to Tallinn) and I must say that the breakfast was good as well. Did not suffer from any noise made by others.

Perfect location to explore the city

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Fox family,

I am glad to learn from your comment, that eventhough the hotel was fully booked, everything went smoothly during your stay. The walls were thick enough, the braekfast was not too crowded and you had the possibilitie to enjoy Tallinn, which is the most important thing for us!

Greetings,
Siim Ojaver
FOM
Tallink City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband for 2 days and one night in a superior room. The room was clean and fresh. The service was great. The hotel has fantastic location. Breakfast was average. I would recommend Bonaparte Cafe in Foorum, opposite this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Jasmine,

Thank you for your positive feedback.
Just a small remark, just yesterday our new chef introduced City Restaurants new menu -
You are more then welcome, to try it out!

Best Regards,
Siim Ojaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

its a very nice location, everything is near: shopping, old town of Tallinn, restaurants, bars, Tallinn port, buses. The hotel is clean and nice, staff is quite friendly. Prices are ok as well. Our double room was a bit small but what else do you need if you are travelling and only spending night in the hotel. Cleaning service in the room was nice and neat also. Did like breakfast as well, except the eggs :) The hotel is quiet, nothing really happened inside the hotel though they had the piano on the first floor. I presume that sometimes they have some music evenings. The hotel's guests are mostly Finnish people.

Room Tip: We have chosen double room for the good price (lower price on the booking site), it was quite small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Miss Viii,

Thank You for choosing Tallink City Hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay!
You have made a comment regarding hotel breakfast and eggs. Just for the record, we serve two kind of boiled eggs and also eggporrige, all made from Estonian substance.

Greetings from Tallinn,
Siim Ojaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Well situated opposite the main bus station and shopping centre, and trams nearby, but not in the Old Town. This is probably an advantage, unless you like old plumbing etc.
I think our room was bigger than average.
Reception staff were OK, but could be a little more customer focussed.
Breakfast was crowded, but food was good.
We did not eat in as there was excellent food in the basement supermarket across the road in the shopping centre (and we were putting on too much weight anyway!!)
Good value, especially as a package with the ferry to Helsinki.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Tnuh,
Thank you for your positive attitude towards Tallink City Hotel.

Greetings to the other side of the world!
Siim Ojaver
Front Office Manager
Tallink City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tallink City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallink City Hotel

Address: A Laikmaa 5, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tallink City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Tallink City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallink City Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tallink City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.