We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel and well located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tallink City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tallink City Hotel to your Saves list
Tallink City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A Laikmaa 5, Tallinn 10145, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“nice hotel and well located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

well located - just a short walk away from the edge of the old town. The rooms were nice without being anything special. The breakfast was decent and an overall positive experience. For the price, something to recommend. Local bus station right opposite.

Room Tip: the higher floors definitely give a feeling of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illi O, General Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you for choosing Tallink City Hotel for your stay in Tallinn!

Indeed, we agree, that our location is more than good!
Also we proudly can say that we contribute daily in our service level and we enhance continously our product to offer our guests positive experience.

Welcome back!

Illi Ojavere
Tallink City Hotel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    87
    92
    25
    5
See reviews for
29
61
15
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lohja, Finland
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

As the hotel is already familiar from the previous visits I have stayed there, this time I decided to try the morning sauna - even though there is no swimming pool to complete the freshening moment. However, there are separate saunas for men and women, neatly in own sides of the corridor. Sauna is warm from 7.00-10.00 and opens with hotel keycard. Towels and seat cover available in sauna with 2 showers. Sauna was good, not too hot and good amount of steam.
So if you are awake before breakfast go ahead and try it.

In the restaurant was a incoherent practice regarding to lactose-free and glutein-free food. The food containing glutein had a marking G and the food containing lactose had marking L.
In Tallink ships and Finnish restaurants and hotels the practise is just the opposite and means you can safely eat these products. I wish the hotel changes the custom to mark the food and I already gave feedback of this very important fact in the form I left to reception.

Bed was good and no noise from the corridor. Personnel is kind and location good as so many others have also noticed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illi O, General Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Vivian!

Thank you for your review!
We are happy to read that you have enjoyed staying with us several times and that you decided to use our morning sauna offer this time. As you admit, it really gives a better feeling for the day!

Thank you very much for your feedback about the lactose and glutein markings. We appreciate it a lot. We will discuss the matter with Tallink ships and other Tallink hotels and make the necessary unification.

Thank you again from behalf of our all staff!
Hope to welcome you again in Tallink City Hotel in the nearest future!

Illi Ojavere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel has a perfect location. A few minutes walk from the harbour and another few minutes walk to the old town. Spacious and silent rooms. We had two rooms that were connected by a door for our family. The older kids "slept" in the other room and we could not hear a thing! Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jüri J, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Tallink City Hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that everything was according to your expectations.

Best regards,

Jüri Jasska
Tallink City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located. It is close to almost anything and the old town is just a 5 min walk from the hotel. The room was more than adequate. Excellent breakfast and nice staff. If you just want a hotel to sleep in and that it must be centrally located then choose this hotel. If you want more then you should probably choose Radisson Blu which is close by and also centrally located.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jüri J, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Tallink City Hotel for your stay in Tallinn. We are more than glad to read that the services you received were up to your expectations. We do hope to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Jüri Jasska
Fron Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My company booked this hotel. After reading the reviews I wanted to stay somewhere else but did not have time to change the booking. Perhaps it was because of my low expectations but I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel.

The hotel looked very modern and had a nice lobby. My room was a good size with a very big window. The bathroom was very small and did not have a bath but I loved that it had a big window - it is very rare that there is a window in a hotel bathroom. The view was not great but I enjoyed all the light. The carpet was a little worn but had a nice pattern and the overall decor was pleasant. The free wi-fi was great.

The breakfast was great with excellent service. They label the hard-boiled eggs. I wish more hotels would do that.

The lady who checked me in was great - very professional with a warm and friendly manner.

Do not change money at this hotel. I did not get a good rate.

If this hotel is 48th out of 81 hotels, the standards of Tallinn hotels must be high.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jüri J, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Tallink City Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive a positive feedback and read that you were satisfied with the hotel and the services you received. We hope to welcome you back.

With best wishes,

Jüri Jasska
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Tallink City Hotel is very convenient for the Old town as well as the shopping district. We stayed there for a opera-visit overnight, as the opera is close as well.
The hotel is not new anymore and apparently popular with tour groups. This may account for the slightly worn feeling of the rooms.
We had a superior-class room, which was quite large but very sparsely equipped, not even one comfortable chair was provided and the tv was an old-fashioned CRT-type. The bathroom was very cramped. Last but not least, there was a faint but unmistakable smell of the sewer.
We ordered breakfast served in the room. Maybe this is a rare request, as the offering was tasty and sumptuous but amateurishly presented, everything on a huge tray but plates were not provided ...

Room Tip: The small extra charge for the "superior" room is worth it, as the standard rooms are smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jüri J, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear EeroE,

Thank you for your review we appreciate it alot. We are glad to inform you that in 2013 we contribute our investments to improve our rooms and service overall.

With best regards,

Jüri Jasska
Front Office Manager
Tallink City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Cruised to Estonia and spent 3 days at this hotel with my family. Hotel location is perfect. Near shopping area, old city, restaurants, and the harbour.

Customer service is excellent. They have coffee shop and mini bar on waiting area.
Free access to internet on the lobby area. They have their own bar on the basement which is huge. The rooms are excellent, modern and spacious. Bright room with huge windows.

If you are going to tallin you should definitely check this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jüri J, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Tallink City Hotel while staying in Tallinn. It is our pleasure to read that your were satisfied with the services received. We hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Jüri Jasska
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tallink City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallink City Hotel

Address: A Laikmaa 5, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tallink City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tallink City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallink City Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tallink City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.