We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good breakfast, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tallink City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tallink City Hotel to your Saves list
Tallink City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A Laikmaa 5, Tallinn 10145, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
San Diego, California
1 review
“Great location, good breakfast, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is a great hotel in the city center. It's near Old Town and right across the street from Viru shopping center. The breakfast was wonderful with plenty to choose from. Staff was also very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    98
    94
    25
    6
See reviews for
33
71
17
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Booked a weekend trip to Tallin last minute. As quite a few hotels had no room, we had to divide our weekend stay using 2 different hotels. 1 of them was Tallink City Hotel.

Location: About 10 minutes walk from the ferry/cruise terminal and 5 minutes walk to the old town. Viru keskus mall at the other side of the street. A good location.

Room: A nice and spacious room. Airco worked fine (it was 33c that day). A positive aspect was that the room and especially the bathroom was extremely clean. Beds (including pillows) were very comfortable.
The bathroom had a window, which made it very bright (that was positive and negative at the same time).
The curtains in the room are difficult to completely close.

Breakfast: Extensive breakfast with nice choices in a cosy restaurant atmosphere. We came after 10am in the morning and it was not crowded.

Hotel: Staff was very professional and kind.

All in all, I think this is a good place to stay if you want to spend a weekend in Tallinn. We paid 87.5Euros including breakfast. I assume you may get it cheaper since we booked it only a few days before. We stayed our 2nd night in Park Inn, that was 20 Euros cheaper, but I can only recommend to pay the 20 Euros more and stay at Tallink City Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed here for a couple of nights for the recent Champions Leage game between Shamrock Rovers and FC Flora.

The hotel was fully booked at the time and I was only able to check into a smoking room at 2.30pm. I wasgiven a room on the 9th floor, which was fine as the elevator is fast.

The room itself was basic enough. Not very big, 2 single beds, tv, minibar, A/C, shower (no bath), free wifi & a view overlooking the shopping center opposite.

A buffet breakfast was included in my rate and was served from 7 to 10. This was a very busy affair at 9am, but there was a good variety of food.

The location is a €8-10 taxi far from the airport. It is situated directly across from a large shopping center. It is also within a 5 minute walk of the historic old city. The old city in Tallin is lovley, but it is nice to be able to leave it at times, and the metallic look of the Tallink provides a much needed break from the old city architecture!

I have no problem recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: The best rates I could find were on the hotel website
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We booked our trip with TallinkSilja. They booked us into Tallink City Hotel. I am unable to find anything negative to say about this hotel and its staff. It is friendly, calm, clean, welcoming, near the historical Centre, just at the buss stop to the Harbour; The breakfast is wonderful, there is everything you can think of and everything you have not thought of. If you want to rest you can sit in the lounge and read the international Newspapers, nobody will force you to order anything, should yo wish to have a drink they are excellent and when you are used to prices in Paris and London you wonder why you have not been here more often. Just a word of warning, apparently it belongs to the excellent Tallinlink Company, yet now one month later I am still trying to find out why I had to pay the trip three times. But have no hesitation, the City Hotel is the place were you want to stay if you want quality and peace.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one night in late June. The hotel interior and the hotel rooms looked more like from a cruise ship than from a four star hotel, which is not all that surprising as the core competence of Tallink Silja is not in Hotel business but in cruises.
The rooms were a bit outdated, yet still were adequate enough for a short stay. The location of the hotel is the best part as it is located close to the old town and next to the Viru shopping mall and a movie theatre.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

I was at the hotel and, overall, it is a very nice place.

1. The check-in staff is very curteous, welcoming and helpful.
2. There is a car rental at the hotel (we made the mistake of renting elsewhere)
3. The hotel lobby is well designed and clean.
4. The hotel rooms (and bathrooms) are well designed and clean.
5. The hotel is ideally located - just across a mall, on the other side of which lies the old city - a five minute walk at most.

In the summer, since the sun sets late (11:30p) and rises early (around 3a), better curtains would have been appreciated to keep the room darker.

Tallinn is a nice place to visit and this hotel is ideally located for that visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

The number 2 bus from the airport dropped us off directly outside the hotel - very convenient and cheap. We had a bit of trouble with our room at first as the air conditioning didn't work in the first 2 rooms we tried, but we were then given a third room without too much bother and it was fine (there is no other ventilation in the rooms, so make sure the aircon is good before you accept the room!). Be aware that most of the rooms are twin beds and not doubles. I think only those on 2nd floor are doubles and when hotel is full you may have to settle for twins. We found the breakfast in the morning very satifactory and offering a wide range of choice from eggs and bacon to cereal and meats and cakes. It is only 5 >10 min walk from the hotel to the Old Town. The hotel is modern and fairly new with a nice reception area and a nice bar (with piano player) to have a quiet drink in the evening. We didn't use the night club or sauna which is also in the building and free to guests. Overall we found the hotel and breakfast good value as we paid only € 255 for 5 nights for the room on octopustravel.com. We enloyed it and would use again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tallink City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallink City Hotel

Address: A Laikmaa 5, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tallink City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Tallink City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallink City Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tallink City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.