We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Old Town Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Meriton Old Town Hotel to your Saves list
Meriton Old Town Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lai, 49, Tallinn 10133, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Good value for money. Very good location. Room small, but with good wifi. Don't forget to visit the Meriton Aqua center - it was included in the price - excellent experience. The breakfast buffet is adequate, but not more.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    122
    69
    21
    15
See reviews for
27
132
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Centrally located hotel - given a slightly odd shaped twin room - but with everything needed in a hotel room. I can recommend this hotel for a good value break. Staff were very helpful and knowledgeable - and it was so easy to explore the old town from the hotel front door. Part of the hotel is actally the old city wall - couldn't ask for more. Lovely breakfast too - recommend the pancakes :-)

Room Tip: Check the room first - we had a small room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hostel is well-reachable, even by car. You can stop only a few minutes to drop-off the luggage, but there is a non-supervised parking area 2-3 minutes away, 5 EUR a day, fine for me.

After I parked my car, I found the pre-ordered fruit bowl in my room, without mentioning it during the check-in.

I had one of the bella vita rooms with a great view over the old town. Even these rooms are small and tend to get warm in summer as the old town is in to the south. Wifi is ok, just sit down in the lobby where they offer a PC as well. As far as I remember, the room had a small fan.

And I had a very special question for the receptionist: I needed to buy a new tent suitable for Laponia, so it couldn't be just any tent. On the next morning I had the addresses of two shops in the suburban shopping centres of Tallinn. Both had a reasonable amount of high-quality tents availabe on stock, so in the afternoon I happily arrived in the hotel with my new tent. Meanwhile the receptionist has organized two more outdoor shops, so they were really interested to help me.

It is not a hostel, there is no washing machine or similar, just an expensive laundry service not suitable for non-business travellers. Togehter with the quite noisy staff in the breakfast room this is the reason for only 4 service-stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here weekend. Old nice building. And rooms was great also. Would consider as honeymoon place. Friendly staff, excellent location; walking distance from harbor and all attractions. The restaurant is also good value for money. Would nor recommend in summer, as no air condition. Free entry included to Spa in other Meriton hotel. Will choose again this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Had a very pleasant stay here early September, 2013, but whatever you do, book a minimum of a superior room. The first room that we were given (as I booked a standard room was so small, we could just not have stayed there for four nights.

The hotel staff are very helpful (most of the time), and as my partner and I were leaving very early to catch a bus to Riga, the staff made us a breakfast to go including sandwiches, fruit and water (very nice gesture). Overall, very happy with the hotel and we would stay there again. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the very beautiful Old Town which is great if you like to explore (recommended).

Troy (Melbourne Australia)

Room Tip: Always request a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I've stayed in places much worse, but also many better. The central location is probably its biggest asset. At the end of a narrow, bumpy road, you are no more than 10 minutes from any of the sights of the old town. Out of the way enough to not be noisy, but close enough to see everything you may want to in a short walk. The room was cute, no problems with it, but all we did was sleep there and spent the rest of our time out in the town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our one night stay in Tallin. The medieval city was amazing and the people very friendly. The hotel was very nicely located and practically the first hotel you come to walking into the city from the port. When you stay in the historic center you cannot expect a really modern hotel room. You trade that for location. We feel we made a good trade. The breakfast was great. Wear good shoes. The cobblestone streets are very uneven and my friend almost turned his ankle several times. Especially after drinking some of the fine local beer :).

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
PK Ilmarine Hotel
PK Ilmarine Hotel
#27 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 616 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#14 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#18 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 861 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.4 mi away
GoHotel Shnelli
GoHotel Shnelli
#30 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Old Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Old Town Hotel

Address: Lai, 49, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Meriton Old Town Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Meriton Old Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Old Town Tallinn
Hotel Meriton Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Old Town Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.