We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 days Tallin” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Old Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Meriton Old Town Hotel to your Saves list
Meriton Old Town Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lai, 49, Tallinn 10133, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Mannheim, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2 days Tallin”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very small rooms and very hot in summer. You can walk to all important sights. The Service is unbelievable poor and unfriendly. The next Parking possibiliy is 15 minutes (walking) away and costs 12€/Day. No hairdryer on the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    121
    69
    21
    15
See reviews for
27
131
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mold
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

A lovely old hotel overlooking a cobbled street close to all the medieval sights of Tallinn.Helpful and friendly staff,a comfortable room and an excellent breakfast at a reasonable price.Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Nice location at one end of the old town, quite near the harbor, and the old town attractions are within a short walk. The building and hotel facilities are in good shape. Air condition is missing, which could be a problem during a hot season - it was warm during our stay, but the room was on the opposite side from the sun and not too warm. The room we got was a small one - even a little cramped - but clean and tidy, as was the bathroom too. Right behind the window was a road, but fortunately during the night the traffic was sparse. You couldn't sleep with window open though.
Reception personnel was nice - and other staff we didn't really meet. Restaurant is Russian style, breakfast was OK. We could also have used the services of a Spa hotel elsewhere in the town, but did not. There's a luggage room.
Overall, OK if your main expectation is a good place to sleep, not luxury or generous rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the main entrance. This could be a very peaceful location if your window is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Nice location near St. Olaf church in the old town. Quiet surroundings. Some of the rooms are very small. Actually, they are so small that you may have problems getting in and out of bed. Beds are not very comfortable either. You will get much better value for money in other hotels nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rasmus-Rai K, Manager at Meriton Old Town Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear user of Tripadvisor,

Thank you for taking your time and leaving your comment regarding the stay in the Meriton Old Town Hotel.

We are glad that you liked the location of the hotel.
We have to admit that some of the rooms in the hotel are indeed smaller then in any other newly built hotels. This is quite a characteristic feature for any hotel located within the medieval walls of Old Town. Nevertheless all of the rooms are unique in size and shape – some of the rooms in Meriton Old Town Hotel are up to 17 sq m. This mostly depends on the category of the room. Superior Bella Vita rooms are bigger and two of them also have a balcony. We would like to point out that our reception is always at your service and in case there is any possibility to change the room to a more appropriate one for the customer, our reception is gladly ready to do so.
We find it important to mention that within July 2013 all the beds in the hotel will be changed.

We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations!
Nevertheless we hope that we will have a chance to greet you in Meriton Hotels and in Meriton Old Town Hotel again to show our improvement.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
338 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had been walked by the Meriton Old Town GARDEN Hotel, a sister property, because apparently booking 6 months in advance is not sufficient notice for them to be able to actually hold a room. [See the MOTGH for Part I.) So after assurances that everything was otherwise in order, we schlepped to the MOTH (ha! good acronym actually!) where we were duly told that despite having been assured we were booked there ... there was no reservation there, either!

Fortunately, that took only about 15 minutes to resolve once it was determined that the reception gal was on her first day. So here we were at a hotel a mile from where we wished to be but it looked decent and, after all, it was only for one night.

We went to our room and entered. Or rather, squeezed. Did I mention this hotel is in a repurposed very old noble's house/castle and is nestled into the fortified city wall? Well, out room was in the basement and the wall of an ancient fortress tower occupied over half of what a normal size room should be. No room here for the booked king bed ... instead we had a tiny double. But there was a diminutive transom window way high on the wall and an old 15 inch tube television cantilevered off the wall on a rickety contraption.

Too tired by now to fight we accepted our fate, returned only to sleep, and high tailed it out of there at 0530 the next morning. No breakfast, not even a pre-packed to-go bag. Probably a good thing.

Never again at any place with Meriton in the name.

Room Tip: Request any room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rasmus-Rai K, Manager at Meriton Old Town Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you for giving your feedback!
Hereby we would like to give our feedback regarding some of the comments that you made.

We appreciate You taking your time to leave a comment about Meriton Old Town Hotel.

Though you do not mention the dates of your stay and your Tripadvisor username does not include your name, we took our time and checked all the possible bookings.
We found two possible matches. We checked both of them and both of them were originally made for Meriton Old Town Hotel (not Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel). Both names include „Old Town“ to make sure that our customers understand that both hotels are located on the territory of Old Town.
We would like to point out that those 2 hotels are located within 350m away from each other. This can also be found and proved by Google Maps.

All our double beds have the same size, we are sorry that this size did not meet your expectations. We would like to point out that starting from 08.07.2013 all of the beds in the Meriton Old Town Hotel will be replaced.
True that part of our hotel is also a part of the medieval wall of the city, which is also under the protection of UNESCO and is one of the main attractions in Tallinn. We are sorry for the fact that you did not like it.

We always provide our guests with a breakfast box - but of course in that case we have to know about the early check-out so our cooks would have a chance to prepare it.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Tallinn.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed 4 nights here which was 4 nights too long. My husband stayed here a couple of years ago and told me the location was great but the room were small so we booked a larger room....well apparently it was larger...it was long and skinny with two twin beds pushed together with a box spring and something on top...you would not call it a bed as as the mattress was only just over an inch thick. It was so soft , absolutely no support. My sofa bed at home has a thicker mattress. The pillows went to the mattress as soon as you touched them so my husband went out and asked the girl cleaning the next room for additional pillows and she looked at him like he was an alien. She brought them eventually but they didn't really help as still very thin. Also NO amenities at all. Liquid soap in the shower that was all and it was horrible.

Our mistake not seeing the "green" sign in the bathroom about recycling of towels and we left our towels on the edge of the bath and on the edge of the sink....to my horror they were still there when We came back to the room several hours later... That means that neither my sink or bath were cleaned. That night I accidentally dropped a spoon from the desk onto the floor...I purposely left it there....it was still there 3 days later upon our checkout....very lazy staff and the room was never cleaned - only the beds remade.

The worst thing was that our rooms right over the Cafe Madmoiselle and we came home one night to hearing a live band directly across the street - apparently a private party was going on...we thought ok, the music will stop at midnight...to our horror it didn't. At 12:30 my husband got dressed and went to reception to complain and they told him there was nothing they could do...the police will not enforce noise laws so no point in even calling. I tried to call down at 1am, only to find out that there is no number for reception on the phone. There is supposed to be a special button,But our phone didn't have it so I dialed an outside line and called the hotel and let her hear the noise in my room and I had our window closed.. She told me there was nothing she would do. I told her with our windows shut, the room was like an oven, she didn't seem to care. We ended up taking the bedspread cover off the comforter so we at least had a sheet on us as with the windows shut it was so hot, but you still want something on you when you sleep.

We complained to the morning manager and they just shrugged. We have family in Tallinn and they were appalled by the staff. I regret staying there and certainly will not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Historical building and interesting hotel within the old city limits of Tallinn. Hotels is an old building so be prepared for a small elevator, the walls of the rooms are not thick, so if you have noisy neighbors, it can be difficult.
The buffet breakfast was fine, nothing very special, but there was enough to select from to get through the morning.
I would recommend the hotel for its location and value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
PK Ilmarine Hotel
PK Ilmarine Hotel
#27 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#18 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#14 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#28 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Old Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Old Town Hotel

Address: Lai, 49, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Meriton Old Town Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Meriton Old Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Old Town Tallinn
Hotel Meriton Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Old Town Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.