We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location within the old town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Old Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Meriton Old Town Hotel to your Saves list
Meriton Old Town Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lai, 49, Tallinn 10133, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
San Francisco
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location within the old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Historical building and interesting hotel within the old city limits of Tallinn. Hotels is an old building so be prepared for a small elevator, the walls of the rooms are not thick, so if you have noisy neighbors, it can be difficult.
The buffet breakfast was fine, nothing very special, but there was enough to select from to get through the morning.
I would recommend the hotel for its location and value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    124
    72
    21
    16
See reviews for
28
133
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pornainen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our travel agency had made a special remark on the reservation about this being our 50th wedding anniversary trip. I have often stayed in Tallinn, in various hotels, but unfortunately the room we got was below all expectations and standards.

The outside of the hotel looked nice (I prefer old buildings), the location ´was good, the lobby was OK, breakfast room likewise. Breakfast rather mediocre but sufficed.

The room we got was tiny. The two narrow beds were squeezed into one corner so that the only way of getting to one of them was by crawling from the foot end of it! Most unconvenient especially with one of us having a bad knee. There was only one tiny pillow for each, filled with undescribable material, not pleasant!
The bathroom had a bad smell of sewers. The TV set, hung on a shelf and working occasionally, was with a small screen and poor image quality. There was hardly any space for hanging up clothes.

We had such a shock upon arrival - having expected a nice, cozy old style room with normal conveniences - that we did not bother to complain. Especially as we saw - from open doors, when passing by - that the other rooms did not look much different. We had not even asked for an economy room! (I read in some hotel info that there perhaps were 6 rooms somewhat bigger).

Despite the disappointment with the hotel we had a very good 2-day stay. Tannhäuser at the Opera was excellent on the first night, our dinner at the Ribe on the second evening suberb! Warmly recommended. And these could be reached by walking, a definite advantage. Unfortunately the third day plans were spoiled by heavy rain, but will be followed some other time.

Maybe part of the complaint should be addressed to the travel agency?

Room Tip: Check with someone who has been there before! Or insist on a room as shown in the hotel advertising...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We arrived at Tallin Airport late in the evening due to our flight being delayed and therefore arrived at the hotel after 22:00. The receptionist was very polite and helpful and upgraded our room as we had made the mistake of booking a room with bunk beds instead of a double bed (a common occurrence according to receptionist). This was very appreciated. The room itself was a good size for 2 people with a decent sized shower room (room 102). Location of the hotel is perfect if you want to visit the old part of Tallin. For the price I expect it would be very difficult to get better than this hotel (bearing in mind it is a budget hotel) this is 5 out of 5 for me.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
700 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel has lots of character. It is located inside the Old Town near the Western City Gate. It is possible to walk there from the ferry terminal. However, it is a long walk (about 30mn) and it is not very convenient. So you might be better off to either take a taxi from the harbor or walk a bit to the main avenue to hop into a tram. Check-in only starts at 2:00PM. When I arrived, it was around 11:30 AM. The receptionist told me about the check-in time. But as I was not very pleased with this, she tried her best and got the green lights from the direction to let me in my room. I thought this was nice. My room was big enough on 4thF but there was nothing special about it except that I had a great view over the nearby church and section of the Old Town. I had requested a double bed but had two small single beds. The curtains did not block entirely the lights at night. The bathroom was really small and there was no place to sit and relax in the bedroom. They provide a tiny TV set, coffee-maker and a minibar. There is a wardrobe to unpack your clothes. But the room was not really inviting. This is quite a pity because otherwise the hotel facilities are nice. The restaurant is pleasant and well decorated. The staff are also quite nice there. The hotel is extremely well located. Being at one end of the Old Town, it allows you to discover this UNESCO Wold Heritage city on foot and come back when you feel like having a rest. When I left to go to the bus station, I took a taxi (it's far away) and it cost me 7euros.

Room Tip: - Rooms facing the Old Town are probably the quietest - Having a balcony would be a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed here for two nights this week, and really enjoyed my stay. The location is great - right on the edge of Old Town, and within easy walking distance of all the main tourist sites. The lobby of the hotel is beautiful (seemingly recently renovated). The front desk staff is very competent and friendly. The room was a bit worn (the television seemed to be from the 1990's), but it was clean, comfortable and quiet. And, actually the traditional decor was nice as well.

The breakfast was so-so with most of the hot items served lukewarm (the scrambled eggs were literally cold both days), but the unlimited coffee was nice! I went to dinner at the attached restaurant one evening, and really liked it. The Russian dumplings were excellent, and the waitresses were very friendly.

All in all a great budget oriented hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rauma, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights and we really liked the hotel. It is a small, friendly hotel, where is easy to stay. Everything worked really well for us. The room was quite small, but clean and otherwise ok. Breakfast was good for a small hotel. There was everything you would need from breakfast.

Location of the hotel is very good, especially if you are travelling by ship. It is very near the harbour but still in old town. Also it is only few minutes walk to center. There is also nice restaurants near the hotel.

The hotel was perfect for our trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltsjo-Boo, Sweden
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

small, unbelievable bad odour.one side noisy the other side small rooms. Weak internet. would describe this more as a hostel than a hotel. On the plus side, excellent little restaurant. Try the chicken/vegetable on buckwheat for 10€.

Room Tip: Select another hotel, sorry:(. Unless you are extremely flexible and only budget minded, not a reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
PK Ilmarine Hotel
PK Ilmarine Hotel
#30 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 639 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#17 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#18 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 889 reviews
0.4 mi away
GoHotel Shnelli
GoHotel Shnelli
#33 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 662 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Old Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Old Town Hotel

Address: Lai, 49, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Meriton Old Town Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Meriton Old Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Old Town Tallinn
Hotel Meriton Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Old Town Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.