We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Old Town Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Meriton Old Town Hotel to your Saves list
Meriton Old Town Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lai, 49, Tallinn 10133, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, was suprised at how reasonable the cost was and what you got for your money! The first room we were given was absolutley tiny and there was an odd smell (smelt a bit liked blocked drains) but the staff were very helpful - they let us look around another few rooms and basically choose which one we wanted. They also booked us taxis and gave us small maps. Breakfast was included, and there was a good choice available. The hotel was clean, and in a great location. Everything is walkable and the whole place feels safe. Considering what we paid, I was amazed! Really good, would definately recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, but don't be shy about asking to see other rooms. The staff were extremely acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    102
    58
    20
    13
See reviews for
20
113
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Travelling this time alone I had booked a single room in this hotel. The room I got was extra small (maybe about 7-8 sq. meters) and smelled like somebody had smoked in it. Also the window was facing the busy road behind the hotel. That did not bother me, but the minimum size and the smell did.

I went back to reception and with 20 euro more I got upgraded to a superior room 408. This room was double and maybe about 12 sq. meters big. It had coffee/tea making facilities and a comfortable bed (two singles pushed together). The view from the window was nice, facing the old town. However, this room also seemed a bit outdated and kind of old fashioned. The two chairs in the room were dirty. The pillows are an absolute joke with the size of a child's pillow.
Shower was nice with good water pressure, and there were some shower products available. Toilette was small but clean. There is a possibility to use the sister hotel's sauna and spa for free. I did not try that so I can't comment on that one.

This hotel was very quiet travelling this time a year and I would think it is that in the summer too, because no pubs/restaurants in the absolute nearby. You could find a pub maybe in 150-200 meters from the hotel.

The reception staff was very correct, not over friendly but not unfriendly either.
Did not have the breakfast so can't comment on that.

Would I stay in this hotel again? Being a frequent traveller to Tallinn, I prefer to try different hotels. This by far isn't my favorite one, but considering the price-value combination it is not a bad choice either. In the same price category hotel group I prefer Park Inn hotel over this one, but Metropol hotel below this one.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room and old town view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cirencester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

my girlfriend booked this hotel i was a bit nervious as i am a hotel manager of a hotel in jersey channel islands and am fusy but i was so happy with the choice.A very good welcome by a nice guy and the rooms were fine had one with a balcony great.One problem is the wi fi does not work in the rooms which was a problem for me as i need it for work even though on hoilday .I left my bag in a taxi which i never got back but the guy on reception helped as much as he could.we ate in the restaurant for kunch before we left great food and a very nuce girl serving all in all a great stay just wish it was longer will be back.Also make use of the spa at the other hotel very good

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Awesome location in the old town, clean rooms, good breakfast, the rooms are a bit small but definitely value for money.

Walking distance to everything you want to see in the old town/harbour. Close to train station and easy to find.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

First impressions do really count. As we opened the door to the hotel on arrival there was a pleasant receptionist but also a wonderful smell of traditional food. The two were very entising.
Thr room was small but clean and serviceable with en suite bathroom. One thing we did miss was coffee and tea facilities in the room but not the end of the world!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

A nice small hotel with the excelent location. Stuff were polite and helpful. Some issues in the room but nothing alarming. Possibility to use spa for free which belongs to same company, 15 min walk from the hotel. Also free wifi available.

Room Tip: Ask quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I booked on-line and arrived early, thinking that we would have to wait hours to get into the room. The staff were welcoming and surprisingly, we were able to occupy the room straight away, which left us free to get on with our business in the city. The room, as many have said, are small, clean and simply furnished. A vanity mirror on the wall above the dressing table would have been useful and some nice pictures would have added some atmosphere. The bathroom, too, was small with very basic in the way of toiletries. They badly need to update the TV's in the room and the number of channels available.

The location though is excellent, only a stone's throw from "Fat Margaret's" tower, "St Olaf's" church and the wonderful old city itself.

We were offered a good deal on the Russian buffet in the evening, but decided to eat at a restaurant that we have previously visited and enjoyed. Breakfast at the hotel was perfectly adequate and nicely presented. Our boat back to Helsinki wasn't leaving until the evening, so we were grateful to use the hotel's free luggage room during the day, which left us free to explore the excellent new Seaplane harbour museum nearby. There is a useful late-check out service available which is payable on a sliding scale, depending on how many hours you would like to keep the room after the normal 12pm check-out.
All in all a good experience in a fabulous location. The hotel just needs a little makeover to bring it up to date.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meriton Old Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Old Town Hotel

Address: Lai, 49, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Meriton Old Town Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Meriton Old Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Old Town Tallinn
Hotel Meriton Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Old Town Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.