We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Old Town Hotel

Save Saved
You added Meriton Old Town Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Meriton Old Town Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lai, 49, Tallinn 10133, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice location, nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Nice and clean. Breakfast was a bit above average too. The location is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    89
    55
    20
    10
See reviews for
15
93
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
EDINBURGH SCOTLAND
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

EDINBURGH 13.4.12
I have stayed four times at this hotel as the staff are very nice, breakfast is good and plentiful
my room each time was very clean, has mini bar, try the estonian chocolate called malev it is the best, a 10 min walk to the main town square, three times i have gone in january, which i love the snow, there are so many cosy cafes interesting shops, the history of Estonia take the walking tour from tourist office & is free, leaves at 12, i digress, finally the hotel had free internet via computer
which was very handy, and the cost to stay at this hotel is good value, ah yes you must visit the Russian cathedral

Room Tip: I think any room would be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

The location is good, inside the Old Town walls, a short stroll from the town square. Receptionist nice and friendly, speaking english well.

The public areas of the hotel were vey nice, while the rooms were furnished with more inexpensive and worn furniture and fittings. The room was small, and quite damp, as not real ventilation system existed. The main problem for me was that the wifi signal wasn't strong enough to reach my room, so my computer constantly fell out when I attempted to work.

I would return to the hotel, but probably request another room.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Meriton old town, which we really enjoyed. We got one of the "bella view" rooms, which was really quite nice. It's in one edge of old town, inside the walls, and the whole old town is pretty small so it's easy to walk from here to anywhere.

Particularly nice, however, is that you're also allowed to use the gym over at the other Meriton (perhaps a mile away), which was a really beautiful, nice, fully equipped gym. We went over there for like an hour and a half, and totally would have come back if we hadn't gotten a nice, long sleep. They were even kind enough to let us check out two hours late with no extra charge.

The wifi was a bit sketchy in the rooms, but strong and fast in the lobby.

Price was cheap, staff was friendly, and the (off-site) gym all made for quite a pleasant experience :)

Room Tip: The bella vista was a nice touch, probably worth the extra $10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

on arrival the receptionist spoke brilliant english very helpfull as i speak neither russian or estonian the rooms although small and crampt very clean my wifi connection was excellent and free so a big THUMBS UP for that the lift was very small for one person only but if you want to stay in the old town this hotel is for you

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Whether it is on business or St.Valentine's Day short trip to this small cozy country of Estonia, please consider this hotel for a several day stay. It will take you 9 stops from the Airport on bus and you will be staying quite close to the Old Town, specifically to its highest area, from which you get a perfect view over the whole Tallinn.
This is a clean and comfortable hotel more oriented on business due to having conferencing facilities. Although it is quite large, you get good atmosphere and every kind of service network hotels usually provide.
Perfect aqua centre with various saunas, ice in the dressing room, jacuzzi, swimming pool with excellent relaxation water streams. Many restaurants and bars inside the hotel. Good cleaning.
Drawbacks: no slippers, bathrobe and what is more significant - no water in the gym! :(

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed twice during our trip to Estonia and booth rooms were very good. Small but comfortable & clean. The location was great for exploring the city. The staff were friendly & helpful and breakfast was convenient & good. Excellent value!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meriton Old Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Old Town Hotel

Address: Lai, 49, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Meriton Old Town Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Meriton Old Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Old Town Tallinn
Hotel Meriton Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Old Town Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.