We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this hostel ist different!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kohver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kohver to your Saves list
Kohver
Sauna 1, Tallinn 10140, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
“this hostel ist different!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed there in february for a few days. Most of all we were impressed by the beautiful antique furniture and the gorgeous view from the balcony on Tallinns old town, together with the original atmosphere of the hostel. The rooms were tidy. The nice staff (locals) really helped us a lot with all the questions we had about where to go, prices, public transport and so on. They also savely locked some belongings we had. The showers were seperate from the toilets - both clean. Breakfast included musli with milk, bread and jam, and we also made ourselves some coffee (they have a nice electric coffee mill, coffee and thea there). There was a microwave, stove and everything we needed to make ourselves some food. The hostel is not a party hostel. It was a bit quieter than most hostels I have been to. Most of the other guests were quite nice, from all sorts of countries, and interesting to talk to. For the real cheap price we got great value.

Room Tip: The flat to the right is closer to the showers, the flat to the left is closer to the common room, k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
4
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Τούρκου, Φινλανδία
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Very good location, in the heart of nightlife in Tallinn.
The biulding was very old, but the room and the bed linens were clean.
The room was very cheap including breakfast.
Is the perfect choice if you are travelling with friends!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is a Hostel located in a fabulous location in the heart of the old town. It is on the top 3rd floor of the building with no elevator. The rooms are cheap for the location but basic and there is free breakfast and a basic kitchen where you can prepare your own meals.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Great location near main attractions and cheap bars.
ALOT of stairs to reach hostel (top level), poor lighting at night making it somewhat difficult with large luggage.
Spacious dorm room (no lockers).
Basic kitchen with cereal for breakfast.
Free but slow wifi in common room.
We found the other guests to be more alternative (if this is your thing, you will probably really enjoy atmosphere), not mainstream backpacker, almost felt like we were staying in someone else's apartment.
Very little privacy in bathroom - showers and toilets are separate and unisex (both quite far from our room). Shower is a good 60-70cm step from the ground.
Reception staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kohver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohver

Address: Sauna 1, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer comfortable dorm rooms for 10, 6 and 4 persons and a couple of twin private rooms. Each room has its individual original design and is equipped with new comfortable beds, free lockers and stylish vintage furniture. There is a spacious social sector in Kohver–a big common room with free WiFi, a cozy bar, an outdoor terrace and a balcony with a perfect view on the roofs of the Old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Kohver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kohver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.