We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Klaus

Cafe Klaus
Kalasadama 8, Tallinn 10415, Estonia
+37256919010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 547 Restaurants in Tallinn
Cuisines: European, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We visited Cafe Klaus a couple of times as it was near our hotel. Excellent choice of drinks, good service and lovely deserts. Free wifi too. On our final night we sat and watched the sunset with a cocktail, wrapped in our blankets. Great!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Food is always good and well seasoned. Staff is friendly and chatty. Hard to get a table on a nice day so book ahead.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Despite being situated outside of Tallinn's Old Town, this place however is well packed at almost any time of the day.
Nice interior design, affordable prices and great food makes this cafe a very attractive dining spot for locals and as well for tourists. Staff is polite and friendly, but not annoying which is a huge plus.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We wouldn't even know about it, if our Estonian friend didn't recommend it to us - it's behind the old walls of Tallinn Old town - but not far away, don't be scared:) I had a cream tomato-coriander soup, which was perfect for a cold rainy day, and absolutely fantastic oven baked goat cheese. The latter was so good, I couldn't forget the taste on the next morning... My mom had roast beef mushroom salad, and she enjoyed it very much. Our waiter was quite cold and restrained, but we enjoyed the food so much, it couldn't spoil the evening. I would pay more for such food!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Where was the spinach and ricotta in my tortellini?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stumbled across this restaurant by chance and saw from the sign on the window it was recommended by Trip Advisor. The atmosphere in the restaurant seemed lovely at first and we were seated by the waiter, Martin, whose attitude was a little cold but we were polite nonetheless. The service was indeed swift and we were promptly served our drinks. The food we could see all looked of excellent quality, however we were a little disappointed with ours. We ordered spinach and ricotta tortellini, and when it arrived although the presentation was good, we could tell it was not as described. As indicated by the photo, the filling was most definitely not ricotta and spinach, but more a dough like substance. When Martin the waiter came to do the standard check and ask if we were happy with our meals, I enquired what exactly the filling was. He informed us it was ricotta and spinach, when I pressed him further saying it neither looked nor tasted like that, he replied rudely and curtly 'but it is' and left without further comment. We were quite taken aback as our enquiry was made politely and without accusation. We then asked another waiter, whose response was even ruder and we were left feeling as though we were putting the waiters out by simply asking them a question. When the bill arrived we saw we had also been charged 2 euros for tap water, which I asked about, to which Martin responded 'do you think tap water is free'. Well yes, frankly I did. By this point, we were understandably affronted by the poor service and blatant rudeness of the waiters. We are not fussy eaters, and simply expected a better explanation of the food and an apology on behalf of the kitchen. I work in service myself and would never treat a customer the way we were treated. We would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Klaus also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Cafe Klaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Klaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.