We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but some flaws at this hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of OldHouse Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added OldHouse Hostel to your Saves list
OldHouse Hostel
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Uus 26, Tallinn 10111, Estonia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 40 Tallinn B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location but some flaws at this hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

This is a business that has rooms in lots of different buildings. So the one where i stayed was a sweet little place, however the room I stayed in (although super cheap for a single!) had no proper curtains, so if you weren't careful people from the street could see in, plus at the height of summer the room was very light the whole night. Only one bathroom for the whole building meant invariable queues for toilet and shower. All in all, great location but maybe just for one night? And leave yourself plenty of time to shower!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    48
    20
    3
    6
See reviews for
9
18
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I visited Talinn several years ago, as a cruise ship stop. More recently, I only toured this hotel virtually, having seen it on TV, if this the same hotel investigated by the U.S. TV show Ghosthunters in "The Devil's Wedding" episode.

According to legend, the Devil was married in Apartment 6 of The Old House, where unsettling sounds and sights have been reported. Reassuringly, the paranormal investigators found most of the sounds had normal explanations. See http://www.syfy.com/ghosthuntersinternational/episodes/season/s02/episode/e217/the_devil_s_wedding

If you spook easily, though, you might not want to book Apartment 6 just in case. If you've always wanted to stay in a supposedly haunted hotel, any noises you hear through the walls might interest rather than bother you.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

For the price the hostel is very good. I visited in Feb 2012 when the night temp averaged around minus 20. The place was always war, and cosy.

The place is not a party hostel as their website describes which means it is perfect for those extended trips where you want to get some sleep. The reception is open 24 hours a day and manned but you might need to ring the door bell at night. But this just adds to the feel of security.

Simple short walk if you take the airport bus.

Beds OK but they if you like a really soft bed then this place is not for you. But they are cosy and do the job.

Breakfast can be bought in the morning if you wish but only of continental style.

Great Wifi access which is free. Perfect for smart phones.

Room Tip: Your room location just depends upon what type of room you pay for, i.e dorm, twin etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I traveled to Tallinn on a four day trip as part of a group of 11 (3 girls, 8 boys). We booked 3 private rooms, a three bed for us girls, and 2 four beds for the boys. The rooms themselves were fantastic, clean and cosy, and there was internet access right outside our door in a seating area which was handy considering what a large group we were.
The location was wonderful, the short walk into the centre was pretty and full of beautiful buildings and interesting graffiti to look at, and there was a supermarket (Rimi, which sold a variety of hot sandwiches, pastries etc) about 100 metres from the front door, making it easy to keep your food budget down.
The only down side of this hostel was the bathrooms. There were 2 windowless shower rooms with toilets between five 3-4 bed rooms which were full the whole time we were there, so as you can imagine they got very smelly and quite dirty. Having said this, they were obviously cleaned regularly, and without managing to magic up another few bathrooms from somewhere they are doing all they can. I am quite picky over bathrooms etc but I managed fine by wearing flipflops! There are 2 further bathrooms on the lower floor but there were even more rooms down there so always full.

For a trip like ours, OldHouse hostel was perfect, they were tolerant of us being a little noisy after a night out, and it was a perfectly comfortable place to rest our heads after a long day walking round the town. However, if you are looking for a romantic weekend away or you are not planning on going out most nights, the cost of OldHouse will probably attract people you would rather not share a floor with (eg, young groups) like us!

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from the seating area unless you want to hear every conversation going o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This hostel is located at the edge of the old town which makes it easy to reach the old town & the city. The 'oldhouse' quirky decor definitely adds to the appeal. So much amazing wallpaper! We had a private double which was spacious. The main down fall is that the Walls are thin so could hear the 2 rooms next door coming & going. There are 2 shared shower rooms & 2 toilets on our level plus more downstairs. Near a Supermarket which is great if doing self-catering. Good value & I'd recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

It's a very good and well sited budget hostel within easy reach of all old town attractions.
Staff are pleasant and very friendly and helped us by booking taxi and giving directions etc.
We never used cooking facilities as we ate out, everywhere is walkable from the hostel for eating/ drinking requirements. There was a range of different guest ages and nationalities when we were there, which was a nice change as we are 30 plus!
One small criticism is that they operate a 24 hr front door policy, and you don't get a key when you go out, we came back on a couple of occasions and our room door was unlocked despite us closing it when we went! Not good for security of your possessions and this resulted in carrying stuff with us which we didnt really want to! Overall, worth the money and well situated, also, very good staff as mentioned previously.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Old House is a cheap option in a good location, and seems pretty well kept. But you get what you pay for: this place is adequate, but no more. The biggest drawback is that the walls are paper thin; I could hear the person next door snoring as if they were in the room with me.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.7 mi away
Euphoria Hostel
Euphoria Hostel
#15 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#1 of 84 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 stars 771 reviews
0.4 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#28 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
PK Ilmarine Hotel
PK Ilmarine Hotel
#27 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#18 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OldHouse Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OldHouse Hostel

Address: Uus 26, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — OldHouse Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OldHouse hostel lies in Tallinn's Old Town and provides lodgings for very welcome visitors of all ages. The hostel suits travellers of all ages and people on business trips looking for economical lodgings. The hostel has a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable common-room with a TV, a computer room, parking and free wireless internet connection. The hostel has 12 rooms, which all together accommodate 35 people. The hostel has two floors and on both of them there are two shower rooms with separate entrances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your OldHouse Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldhouse Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OldHouse Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.