We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotell G9

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotell G9 to your Saves list
Hotell G9
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Gonsiori, Tallinn, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Monasterevin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I booked this before reading any of the reviews first, i was looking for a budget trip and the price for this property was great. After reading the reviews i was a little worried, as was i when i reached the outside of the building. I had no reason to be, the staff were very curteous and friendly, the room was huge, clean, and warm. The wetroom was outdated but had a very good strong shower. The bed was very comfortable and was made every day and fresh towels given every day too. Although there are no tea/coffee making facilities the 24hr receptionist will make for just 1 euro.

As this Hotel/hostil is based on the 3rd floor, i would not recommend to anyone with any mobility problems as there is no lift. Other than this, it is very central, only a 5 minute walk to the old town which is simply beautiful, and an overall pleasure to stay in.

I am unsure from some of the reviews what people expect for their money. All i can say is if you want more, pay for it

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    27
    9
    5
See reviews for
6
23
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel G9 for 5 nights and can happily recommend it, echoing some of the previous reviews on here it was nicely priced, paid 168 Euro's for a generous sized double room with en suite.
Fresh clean laundry and the bed was made 4 out of the 5 days we were there and it was a nice warm room as well because the heating was on pretty much all the time. The en suite was large enough but could have benefited from a spruce up,the shower was piping hot though. Just try not to drop the shower head onto the floor like I did because you'll soak the whole place!
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, don't know about the breakfast or the restaurant downstairs because we didn't sample any of it, however, there is a shopping mall a brisk 5 minute walk away towards the port so you can stock up from there.
The hotel is in a handy location especially if you're heading in from the airport,we got on the airport bus for 2 euro's and it travels along Gonsiori, stopping across the road from the hotel. And if you're after cheap alcohol to take home there's an off-licence a short walk from the bus stop on Gonsiori, much better than paying way over the odds for it in the old-town.

All in all if you're planning a trip to Tallinn you can't go far wrong if you choose to stop at the Hotel G9,it's mentioned favourably in the Rough Guide to Tallinn,and it's also highlighted on Google Earth!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011 via mobile

Awfull bathroom in the room.
Location ok. Near old town.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The G9 could be rated as a 2 out of 5 (poor) hotel in the grand scheme of all accommodations or it could be a 4 out of 5 (very good) if a person is on a budget in the not so cheap town of Tallinn. It depends on what you want and are looking for/ want. At 41 euros a night during the high season, it was a bargain in this city. Located near the Old Town, it was quiet, on the 3rd floor of a shared bldg. The city tram stops nearby. The breakfast offered, however, is mediocre at best, and the single cup of coffee is abysmal.

Room Tip: Don't expect too much, after all, you are paying the lowest rate available in Tallinn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I stayed with my wife at Hotel G9 for 3 nights in July 2011. I have to divide my review into 2 parts:
1.) Positives
First and foremost location. Walking distance from anything interesting in Tallin including Old Town and Passenger Terminal (if you want to go to Stockholm or Helsinki).
The room itself was really basic, but you can count on clean bed and bathroom. If you don't mind student hostel feeling, you'll be fine.
Front desk was generally helpful in finding a safe parking space (details below).
2.) Negatives
Parking space is free, but unsafe and unsecure (it's a quote from the warning that can be found at the front desk). What it means is that there are occasional car windows breaking. Anyway it didn't feel safe to leave a car there. We spent quite some time looking for a good parking space and to save you the same trouble we recommend underground parking at the Rotermanni Kvartali. It is 10 minutes away and it has good 24 hours rate.
One other negative is aesthetics. It is not a nice building and you will be disappointed if you can't make an effort to close your eyes to some ugliness around and in the building.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver,BC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

This hotel is cheap: dirty and smelly entrance, two long flights of stairs to negotiate with luggage, very basic room that could use some new paint on the walls, tyny bathroom where water splashes all over. If you need to open a window, ask for a room on the back because the trams in the front are really, really noisy.
The location is quite good at five minutes from the old town but that is the only plus with this place which is more a hostel with private bathroom than a hotel.
We have used self serve hotels in Finland for similar prices but much higher quality.
Don't bother paying for the room breakfast - sandwich of white mushy bread with lots of butter and mayionnaise, non-dairy yogurt like thing, pretty bad coffee but this is cheap at 2 euros per person. I would certainly never to back to this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

staed at this hotel for 5 nights close to old town and shopping centre /paid 30 euros per night for the two of us which was good value the room was large and clean// the staff were pleasant//could have been done with more coathangers and the stairwell could be done with a tidy up,but overall was quite pleased/// for a cheap meal try st patricks which do some cheap deals

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotell G9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell G9

Address: 9 Gonsiori, Tallinn, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotell G9 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotell G9 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell g9 Tallinn
Hotell g9 Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotell G9, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.