We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, cold at night, noisy until 23h” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Baltic Hotel Imperial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Baltic Hotel Imperial to your Saves list
Baltic Hotel Imperial
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nunne 14, Tallinn 10133, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Barcelona, Catalonia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Expensive, cold at night, noisy until 23h”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This beautiful and centrical small hotel has two main problems: one is the "beer garden" situated just in front, offering live rock concerts every day from 19h to 23h. The second is the the low temperature inside the room during the night (when outside is already yet 9ºC). The rooms are small, and the breakfast sufficient but not what you expect after paying 85 euros every night.
The boys at the reception where nice to offer me a radiator but the damage was already done: i've got a cold.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the shade and in front of the beer garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    100
    45
    7
    4
See reviews for
40
132
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I just returned from my third business trip to Tallinn in the past year, and I have stayed at Baltic Hotel Imperial each time (once in May, once in January and once in August). I have found all of the staff to be at the very least gracious, and some of the staff are super friendly. My first time in town, I spent several hours late a night chatting with the night clerk about his life. Jevgenia (the first staff person I encountered on my first trip to Tallinn) was so friendly that I missed her this summer as her vacation coincided with my stay. I have always been able to count on the staff for making dinner reservations, wake-up calls and general information about how to get around town. I find them less knowledgeable about suggestions for tourist activities, on the other hand, I had little time for tourism as these trips are business trips. The hotel is built into the wall of the city and it has tons of character. Each room is different -- some are on the small size, but the front desk has always been accommodating about changing to a different room, if I have a problem with what is first offered. Internet access was sometimes an issue on my first visit, but I have had no problems on subsequent visits, other than occasionally needing to sign off and on again. Moreover, the first year when I did not have my own laptop, the staff arranged for a hotel lap-top to be available for my exclusive use from 9:00 p.m. to 9:00 a.m. (precisely the hours that I needed). I was impressed with their going the extra mile. The breakfast buffet is wonderful. There are so many options, from cheeses to meats to salads to breads to sweets to smoked salmon and many other types of fish. You can easily fill up at breakfast and skip lunch. Although breakfast is supposed to end by 10:00, I arrived late one weekend morning when I slept in. The staff was quietly eating their own breakfast at that point, but let me fill up a huge plate as they hadn't yet cleared the tables. When I had to leave at 5:00 a.m. for an early plane, the front desk offered to prepare a breakfast doggie bag for me, and when I turned that down, they insisted on making coffee for me. The location of the hotel is ideal -- just at the edge of the old town, so that I can get everywhere I need to be, without the tourist hubbub. The location is generally extremely peaceful. This summer, however, the school across the street from the hotel got permission to allow a band to play each evening for two weeks in August from 8:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. This was not a problem for me (even though I was on the side of the street by the school) because I don't go to bed early. If this would be an issue with you, I would make sure that if you go during the first two weeks in August that you book a room that opens on to the courtyard. I can't speak to the quality of the air conditioning because the weather was quite cool in both May and August and we did not need air conditioning at all. Heating was ample in both January and May (and I needed it in May). I have not stayed elsewhere in Tallinn so I can't compare how the Baltic Imperial ranks against other accommodations, but for me, Baltic Imperial will always be my Tallinn home away from home.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard are quieter than on the street sides, especially in August. Rooms vary by si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrentham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is superbly positioned for reaching the top town and is central to the lower town.Our room was tiny but adequate. The windows were cheap and opening them was very dangerous as you had to kneel on the bed! The staff were fine, friendly smiley and open.

Room Tip: There are only 32 bedrooms and the bigger ones had baths in the room itself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nr Inverness
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The man who checked us in was efficient and business like, but not particularly welcoming. The man at the reception desk the following morning was the rudest person I have ever met and very contemptuous, not just in the hospital business but anywhere, in ordinary life, business...

It was so hot in our room we had to have the window open. And then it was noisy outside until quite early in the morning with youths

Weekend breakfast didn't have nearly as much variety of fish, meat, cheese and even breads as the weekday. If I had only had breakfast Saturday and Sunday I would not have been disappointed though, it is only let down by comparison the weekday breakfast

.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

If it was for only the Hotel position and the good quality breakfast, I would have given this Hotel a maximum grading of 'excellent'. The Hotel is within a 5 minute walk of the Old Town Square and right opposite Toompea. However the Hotel does not do what it says on the tin- air conditioning? What air conditioning? True that the public rooms and corridors felt cooler but this did not extend to my room on the second floor. I had to have the windows open all the time which was not too bad on a cool July evening in Tallinn but what that meant was that all sorts of animals with wings and fangs could come in and take a bite out of me and they did!!

Reception staff were hit and miss. The young man who checked me in at 1am was excellent but during the day, the staff were not so good. I had cause to complain that the wi-fi in my room was not working. The chap on reception took a look at his mobile phone and told me that it was working. I later complained again that it might well be working at reception but certainly not on floor 2. The receptionist then said that he would re-boot the router on the second floor and all was well thereafter.

I eat and drank in the Imperial bar on the first night and this was well appointed. However, I was the only person in the bar and there was one server who seemed to be covering the outside terrace, the bar and the restaurant and so service was slow- Maybe this was the reason that I was the only customer?

If I ever go back to Tallinn, I will look for a different Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

A 3 night stay in July. Good points - location, right on edge of Old Town and centre les than 10 minute walk. Room was a decent size & not badly decorated and clean. Receptionists helpful and friendly. Poor points - smell of sewage in bathroom, breakfast - poor quality, some odd things (carrot and cauliflower next to bacon and sausages). Lack of air. It does not have air con apart from a central vent that did not seem to be blowing out anything meaningful. Noise, having to have window open meant noise from street and pub garden with live music other side of side road meant it was noisy. This is now a tired hotel that needs updating and needs to improve the quality in some areas. If I was going to tallin again, would look for somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My parents and I stayed at this Hotel in July 2012 and, regrettably, we did not leave a review on Trip Advisor. Our stay, at this time, was nothing short of 'perfect' and when planning another trip to Tallinn our rooms were booked at the Imperial before our flights!

Yes, my expectations were high but we found the staff, service and amenities even better than last year! Our numbers increased to 8 this year (3 rooms) and between us nothing could be faulted. Comments from our group included 'Friendly staff', 'Great food', 'Perfect location' and 'We will be back!'

I did witness another quest complaining about the early morning street noise, but the staff handled the complaint in a very professional manner. On the matter of street noise, this may be compounded by the need to sleep with the windows open on warmer nights in order to offset the limited room ventilation from time to time.

Yes, we will be back!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baltic Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltic Hotel Imperial

Address: Nunne 14, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#19 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Baltic Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Baltic Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltic Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baltic Hotel Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.