We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, nasty smell...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baltic Hotel Imperial

Save Saved
You added Baltic Hotel Imperial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baltic Hotel Imperial
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nunne 14, Tallinn 10133, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
Koh Chang
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, nasty smell...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Best location in old town, calm and beutiful. But the hotel did smell mold, everywhere... Breakfast was allright but coffee looked more like tea. Close to airport and nice hipster neigbourhood Kalamaja. Fine for a weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    82
    37
    7
    3
See reviews for
33
108
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yamba NSW Aust
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is not the cheapest hotel in Tallinn, but is still good value as it sits right at one of the main entrances to the 'Old Town'. There is an excellent breakfast and free wifi and the reception staff are all really helpful and knowledgeable. With the Old Town right on the doorstep it's a really convenient place from which to explore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

There are some minors flaws to this hotel, but overall it is very nice, perfectly located in the old town of Tallinn. The rooms could be more sound proof, and the slight smell of sewage is annoying, but the main impression is positive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for two nights. The personnel very very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and cozy. The breakfast is good with several kinds of cold fish (salmon, herring etc.), normal cheese, sausage, ham, and so on. It also contains good selection of warm food. Special thanks to good variety of sweet cakes. The only thing I was missing ware fruits and vegetables but altogether the breakfast was much better than I have experienced in hotels in the same price category.

The only thing that annoyed us were the ringing sound from the helical stairs leading from the restaurant to third floor. The sound could easily been heard during evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far as possible from the stairs from restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend in April and it was an enjoyable stay. The staff were very nice and extremely helpful. Clean room with a great view of one of the towers of Tallinn. Fantastic location of the hotel. Great value for money!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We turned up to Tallinn on a very cold December day. It was snowing and there was a brisk wind blowing. So as we walked into the Baltic hotel, the warmth we were met with was awesome. Not just from the heating mind you, but the reception staff too. We had arrived too early to be checked in but they took care of our bags and gave us a warm drink and then encouraged us to go for a walk to Christmas markets and have lunch (made recommendations) and everything would be sorted when we got back. And it was.

The rooms were small but it was to be expected in the old part of town but everything was in working order. The location was great, right across the street from the ferry terminal to Helsinki.

Overall I really enjoyed it and would definitely stay here again.

We also had dinner at the Cheese restaurant in the hotel. Awesome. Different review.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just a quick review. I experienced the same problems that others mentioned. There is a drain in the bathroom which overflows when the bath is used and the resulting smell is of rotten egg and sewage. Very unpleasant but slept with door closed. Breakfast is poor and I found it odd that potatoes and vegetables were in a heater next to fried eggs and under cooked bacon. There were no tea or coffee facilities (no kettle) in the room and the mini bar was quite expensive. 1 can of lager was 4 Euro for a brand that retails in Rimi for 67 cents. On a positive note, the female staff member who works the front desk is friendly and helpful. This was nice as the other staff did not break a smile even when a hello or morning was passed their way. The trainee chap who works the front desk sighed on checking me out, tried to overcharge me for the minibar and stared perplexed at my credit card as if I had tried to pay with a slice of cheese. He again did not break a smile, made me feel like I was hassling him to check me out and was generally miserable.

This was only a short cheap break. But I expect to be made to feel welcome and at least have a smile thrown my way at least once during a 5 day stay.

Just remembered as well that they charged for use of the sauna!! I have visited 8 countries this year and none of the hotels have charged extra for this type of service. Pretty poor show really.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baltic Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltic Hotel Imperial

Address: Nunne 14, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#17 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Baltic Hotel Imperial 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Baltic Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltic Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baltic Hotel Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.