We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value + great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baltic Hotel Imperial

Save Saved
You added Baltic Hotel Imperial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baltic Hotel Imperial
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nunne 14, Tallinn 10133, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    88
    37
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
106
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel located next to the old town wall. We got very spacious room with views to small square. Only minus comes from the smell of sewer in our bathroom. Building is very old but nicely renovated and decorated.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Clean well appointed, warm rooms. Not large but comfortable. Excellent breakfast buffet. Quiet location on edge of old town. Plenty of restaurants/cafes within minutes walk. No need for any transport to explore old town. Friendly helpful staff. Only complaint - mild drain smell in bathrooms (seems common throughout Tallinn); reception will provide air freshener. Overall very good value and would happily return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed here with 8 friends for a long weekend stay in Tallinn and we stayed in this hotel for a total of 3 nights in December 2012. The location is within 4 minutes walk of the Town Hall Square and all the attractions and 10 minutes walk to Toompea (Castle Hill) where there are terrific views of Tallinn. The hotel is situated in the Old Town and really close to lots of great attractions, bars and restaurants and what is really nice about this hotel is that part of the city's medieval wall runs straight through it and in the rooms the bricks have been exposed to compliment the integrity of the beautiful surroundings. We stayed in room 313 which was so nice and the view from the window was the city wall and some towers which was a fantastic sight whenever we drew the curtains..

The room was really clean and cosy as the temperature in December was so cold (-7) but we were so warm at night. The staff were really so helpful - they lent us some adaptors to charge phones and booked us taxis along with tickets for the hop on hop off bus and nothing was too much trouble.

In the hotel was a lovely little pub/bar which had a very relaxed atmosphere and the breakfasts which were included in the cost f the room were lovely with so much choice for us.

This hotel is a 4 star and it represented terrific value for money. There is a sauna here but sadly we never got to try it as we were too busy exploring the beautiful sights of Tallinn and the Christmas markets.

I would definitely recommend this lovely hotel and hope to come back here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Excellent location 250 m. from Town Hall Square in the middle of the charming old town. Breakfast is okay. Nice and okay size lobby/common area in english pub style. The rooms are pretty small but bath & toilet are fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Firstly if you see this hotel advertised as five star it is wrong, they are officially four star and from my experience struggle to even reach that standard. The location is incredible and few hotels can boast better, very near the Old Town Square and all the tourist sights. However the downside is that this is a very old building and the standard and size of rooms is very inconsistent. Some are very nice but a good number are small and dark and many have one or even two interconnecting doors to other rooms which does not make for a quiet nights sleep. The room standards are so hit and miss that really this can not be considered to be consistently four star. The breakfast is very good with a great selection for a small hotel but there are only about five tables most of which sit around six people so expect the share, which again is not what you expect from a four star hotel. Overall if location is your priority you will struggle to find much better, but if your priority is a luxury hotel then look elsewhere as you may well be very disappointed. The staff are very abrupt and after a weeks stay we were not even asked if we can enjoyed it on checking out, which spoke volumes.

Room Tip: Insist on a room on the second floor (never the third) and for a view over Nunne (the road) as this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My college-aged son and I stayed at this hotel during November 2012. It is located in the Old Town -- within convenient walking distance to the entire Old Town and the neighborhoods around it. It is clean and tidy. We stayed in a room with two comfortable twin beds, a small bathroom with a shower (blow dryer, shampoo and shower gel -- no conditioner... so bring your own), a desk, a flat screen TV, a small closet, outlets and free WiFi (adapters for U.S. visitors are free at the front desk). If you're looking for 5 star luxury, this isn't it -- but it is a lovely boutique hotel with great character -- located away from the party end of the Old Town. Each morning's breakfast (included in the cost) is lovely with a variety of local breads, muesli, yogurt, jams, sausages and smoked salmon, fresh juices and more.
At night, the hotel's pub serves hot coffee drinks and local beers amid a very medieval backdrop of old stone walls and leather-benched booths.
Just a note on the Tallinn card - we did purchase a 24-hour one and used it for the Hop On and Hop Off around the Music Festival, TV Tower and Kadriorg Park / KUMU area and for the free public transit in between. We figured we broke even. It's worth it if you plan to visit a few museums and take a few buses over a day or two.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baltic Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltic Hotel Imperial

Address: Nunne 14, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#17 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Baltic Hotel Imperial 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Baltic Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltic Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baltic Hotel Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.