We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is both positive and negative” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baltic Hotel Imperial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Baltic Hotel Imperial to your Saves list
Baltic Hotel Imperial
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nunne 14, Tallinn 10133, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Thetford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Location is both positive and negative”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Firstly if you see this hotel advertised as five star it is wrong, they are officially four star and from my experience struggle to even reach that standard. The location is incredible and few hotels can boast better, very near the Old Town Square and all the tourist sights. However the downside is that this is a very old building and the standard and size of rooms is very inconsistent. Some are very nice but a good number are small and dark and many have one or even two interconnecting doors to other rooms which does not make for a quiet nights sleep. The room standards are so hit and miss that really this can not be considered to be consistently four star. The breakfast is very good with a great selection for a small hotel but there are only about five tables most of which sit around six people so expect the share, which again is not what you expect from a four star hotel. Overall if location is your priority you will struggle to find much better, but if your priority is a luxury hotel then look elsewhere as you may well be very disappointed. The staff are very abrupt and after a weeks stay we were not even asked if we can enjoyed it on checking out, which spoke volumes.

Room Tip: Insist on a room on the second floor (never the third) and for a view over Nunne (the road) as this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    91
    42
    7
    3
See reviews for
36
118
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My college-aged son and I stayed at this hotel during November 2012. It is located in the Old Town -- within convenient walking distance to the entire Old Town and the neighborhoods around it. It is clean and tidy. We stayed in a room with two comfortable twin beds, a small bathroom with a shower (blow dryer, shampoo and shower gel -- no conditioner... so bring your own), a desk, a flat screen TV, a small closet, outlets and free WiFi (adapters for U.S. visitors are free at the front desk). If you're looking for 5 star luxury, this isn't it -- but it is a lovely boutique hotel with great character -- located away from the party end of the Old Town. Each morning's breakfast (included in the cost) is lovely with a variety of local breads, muesli, yogurt, jams, sausages and smoked salmon, fresh juices and more.
At night, the hotel's pub serves hot coffee drinks and local beers amid a very medieval backdrop of old stone walls and leather-benched booths.
Just a note on the Tallinn card - we did purchase a 24-hour one and used it for the Hop On and Hop Off around the Music Festival, TV Tower and Kadriorg Park / KUMU area and for the free public transit in between. We figured we broke even. It's worth it if you plan to visit a few museums and take a few buses over a day or two.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were there october 20-21-22 2012 On arrival, we complained that the room had no heating; we were told that municipal heating by hot water was not turned on because outside temperature was above 5 degrees celsius. We were given a small electric heater that took 12 hours to heat our room. On the third floor there was a definite smell of sewers also reported on Trip advisor. On our second day, we got an additional heater but the need was less problematic as 24 hour nonstop heating had the room heated already.

Other than that, location was perfect to walk in the old town.

Overall, this hotel seems a good choice BUT depending on outside temperature and the mayor's willingness to spend money on heating.

Room Tip: Room 308 was large and wi-fi working well. We think that noise from other rooms may be a problem in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at the Baltic Imperial Hotel for 3 nights last week and found it to be very comfortable hotel. The staff very very efficient and helpful.It was well located near the old town hall and to the railway station.There did not appear to be many people staying in the hotel during my visit and on the third night i was awoken by loud music coming from another room.
The breakfast was a good variety and in a nice room past the bar (which seemed always empty). All in all it was good value although i would probably stay elsewhere if i returned to Tallin.

Room Tip: There are two good cafe's right across the street from the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here and the value for money was great. The breakfast was very good with a varied selection and replenished regularly. You got fresh and dried fruit, cereal, ham, salami, cheese, cake, bread, boiled, fried and scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage and some local delicacies, like the porridge, fishcakes and meatballs. The bar and restaurant were cosy. I wish we had tried the cheese restaurant but it was empty the night we planned to go so we would have felt a bit lonely! Service was good and the room was always cleaned and tidied. However on the third floor there was a definite smell of sewers and you could smell it in our room. There was no attempt to cover this for instance with candles (probably against h&s) or those plug-in things (but sometimes they kind of smell worse anyway, I guess). As it was so warm in the room, we opened the window and after a while you couldn't smell it (it wasn't overwhelming). But if it was colder, which it does get in Tallinn, it might be unpleasant. Hair dryer like someone blowing on your hair so bring your own. Fridge in minibar didn't work so we just drank red wine ;-) . No tea /coffee maing facilities. Decent soap/showergel but from dispensers on the walls. Bed extremely comfy but it was 2 singles pushed together. Overall, a bargain. And the location is excellent. There are only a handful of hotels with better and they are all far more expensive.

Room Tip: Maybe stay on the second floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Comfortable, antique-looking hotel conveniently located in the old town. The included breakfast was excellent. We also had dinner at the on-site restaurant, good selection and food. They offer a Jacuzzi/massage service in the basement, pricey but enjoyable and relaxing. They did a good job in trying to create a romantic setting. There was wi-fi in the room, but so slow that it was unusable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Had a nice weekend trip to Tallinn with my wife and stayed at Imperial for the second time. Hotel is nice & cozy and has character. Service was also friendly.

Breakfast at juustu restoran (cheese restaurant) was nice.

Location is perfect almost at the heart of old town Tallinn, just 5 minutes walk from the city square, but still away from the main tourist / noisy areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baltic Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltic Hotel Imperial

Address: Nunne 14, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#19 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Baltic Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Baltic Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltic Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baltic Hotel Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.