We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small City Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taanilinna Hotell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Taanilinna Hotell to your Saves list
Taanilinna Hotell
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uus 6 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Small City Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a small city hotel just outside the city walls within walking distance of the old town.
We had a compact room that was clean and had everything we needed and was quiet.
Breakfast buffet was good. Staff were pleasant and helpful. If you travel by car a Satnav would be helpful to find the place, because Tallinn´s streets are not so well marked for foreigners. The hotel has a very small car park in the yard for about 4 cars. It is essential to prebook this, and would recommend using this facility because other parking nearby is more expensive. Make sure that the parking is booked for the length of stay.

Room Tip: superior room have a kettle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    109
    36
    7
    3
See reviews for
30
114
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for two nights and were pleasantly surprised. We booked the deluxe double room and it was lovely! Very homely, felt very traditional and is in a great location in the beautiful old town. The receptionist when we arrived wasn't very inviting which started to put us off but all the other staff were lovely. The beer in the bar is made locally and we loved it. Such lovely service and nice, quiet location right beside all the action. We would definitely return!

Room Tip: Double deluxe!- plenty of room, quiet and lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

This hotel has got a very good location in the old town within a walking distance from the harbour and a shopping centre. There are also several restaurants, cafes and bars nearby. The hotel is in an old building, and it's pretty nicely decorated, although out superior room wasn't very "superior", but somewhat outdated instead. And unfortunately the bathroom was even more outdated, and didn't feel 100% fresh. The room wasn't soundproof, so we could hear noise from other rooms and from the corridor, but luckily not outside.

Many have commented on the breakfast, and we didn't have very high expectations. As this is a pretty small hotel, you can't expect a huge selection, and I'd say that both the selection and the quality were OK, although some of the items did run out quite quickly.

The staff at the reception were generally friendly and helpful, although we felt that our early arrival wasn't a good thing even though we didn't expect our room to be ready. Anyhow, would consider staying here again mostly because of the location, but only if the price was more reasonable. (The superior room wasn't worth 109 €.)

Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurmala, Latvia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Stayed there for two nights and left very satisfied.
Of course it is not 5star hotel, it is without fancy gadgets, very little staff, no air conditioning, rooms are not very large, but...
Its very cosy, its clean, its perfectly located in old town. Its in a quite corner, still everything is reachable by walking.
And for the price I paid for two nights, I couldnt afford a single night in a top level hotel.
Recomended if you are in Tallinn for a short stay, want to explore old town without spending much.

Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Situated in the Old town one step away from noicy main street. Room and bath were very clean, cosy and comfortable. The staff in reception was helpful. On the breakfast scrambled eggs were overfried, juices vatery and coffee instant. Quality of the breakfast wasnt at the same level as quality of the room.

Stayed June 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

Very friendly and helpful staff. Free wifi, with very strong signal. Rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. It is a lovely old building, and ideally situated in downtown. I recommend it strongly. The breakfast (which other reviewers mentioned) was adequate. The coffee was not wonderful, but otherwise there was the standard fare one would expect.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

Situated in the old town of Tallinn and within walking distance of many fantastic restaurants, bars and landmarks. Hotel Taanilinna is a clean and very charming place to stay. Our room was massive, with a huge bed, lounge and desk. The decor was not modern but was in a beautiful, traditional style. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful when needing maps or booking taxis. The breakfast wasn't amazing but good enough to start the day off. Tallinn itself is a stunning old city, however does seem to have an active nightlife after 9/10pm including strip clubs and big groups of guys holidaying. This wasn't a problem for us but for families, could be an issue.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Town Maestro's
Old Town Maestro's
#26 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#18 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
#40 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#33 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#15 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
0.6 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#22 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taanilinna Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taanilinna Hotell

Address: Uus 6 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Taanilinna Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taanilinna Hotel is a small, comfortable and stylish hotel which is located in the historical part of the Old Town not far from the city wall.* In Tallinn Old Town, close to Viru Gates* A petite and personal hotel with 20 rooms* Parking available in front of the building. The three-story hotel with stylish interior design has 20 rooms: 3 standard single rooms, 6 superior double/twin rooms (incl. 1 room with disable access), 9 economy twin rooms and 2 double deluxe rooms. The hotel has conference facilities, private parking and a terrace in the summer months. The medieval streets of the Old Town are on your door step for shopping, art galleries, museums, medieval churches and theatres as well as the best restaurants, clubs and bars. Principal Banks and Government buildings are easily accessible in the modern city centre. The hotel with its perfect location is a perfect choice for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Taanilinna Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taanilinna Hotell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.