We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taanilinna Hotell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Taanilinna Hotell to your Saves list
Taanilinna Hotell
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uus 6 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel is clean and stylish. Bedrooms are a good size, comfortable and quiet. The location of the hotel on the edge of the old city by the old city wall is perfect. Lots of restaurants are within a few minutes walk as are the sights and shops.

I would stay again if I return to Tallinn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Jay,

Thank you very much for posting!

I am glad to see that you were pleased with your stay and I think that this gives us all the more reason to look forward to host you again!

Until the next time,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    109
    36
    7
    3
See reviews for
30
114
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
402 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

During our 5-day stay we felt very welcome in this hotel. The rooms are nicely furnished, quite big - especially the two largest ones you may ask for (one with a bath-tub) - the breakfast is good and the staff very helpful. The location is central, just entering the old town and, especially with the low-season-reduction, we had a great overall return for the rate we paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your post!
Surely this will be helpful for future visitors of Tallinn!

As you said yourself, you are welcome here at any time!

Kindly,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Taanilinna Hotel is clean, friendly staffed and with charming rooms (we have stayed twice, and thus we know both wings). Very near town centre.
Breakfast is OK, but there is room for improvements. WiFi works with android, iPhones and computer ...but no way you can get it to work on an iPad whatever browser you try.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Boelskov,

Thank you for your post!

I am sure your tips and suggestions will help Tripadvisor users to aknowledge our strenghts and shortcomings better. As for us, the recommentations are highly appreciated for improvement!

Welcome back!
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had a great stay here. The staff was extremely helpful (offering to call cabs or arrange an early breakfast without us having to ask).
The rooms are very pretty and the double bed is more than large enough for two people. Everything gives a clean feeling and there's no broken stuff in the rooms.
Breakfast is basic, but still, more than enough options :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Laura,
Thank you for your warm post!

These kind of letters are what motivate us here at Taanilinna Hotel to thrive for improvement.
I am eager to see you here again in the future to show you our gratitude with a warm welcome again.

Until the next time!
Sincerely,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

First of all the location and service is good.
But apart from that, I cannot recommend the hotel. I had ordered a superior room with bathtub, but got a small room with shower instead. No reduction in price or anything.
The walls were dirty and never got cleaned, three of the lamps didn't work, and the light in the hallway was broken so I stood on total darkness when locking myself into the room.
Breakfast was minimal, I got fed, but that was it.
Worst part is, for the same price I could have went to far better hotels in town, I just took this hotel because I wanted something new.

Overall, not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear xixit,
Thank you for your feedback!

Your positive notes as well as your suggestions will surely be helpful for our everyday job here at Taanilinna Hotel.

I am looking forward to have you here again so we can improve from the first impression you had here.

Greetings,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

we found this wonderfull hotel in the internet. easely booked, we were satisfied for the moment and looked forward how it would be: in fact it was one of the nicest hotels I've been. Friendly and helpful, small, but with a nice atmosphere and hospility. An excellent position in the center but also close to the public transport stations to visit some places a bit further away... just perfect for our week in Tallinn

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank very much for your post!

I am sure that this will be helpful for the other tripadvisor users as well.
Taanilinna Hotel is looking forward to host you in the future!

Until then I wish you all the best!
Sincerely,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were booked a superior room. There was not any vacant. We were asked to change to another hotel. Becuse we had alredy settled to the small room we had got and there also was a parking place for our car, we asked just to reduce the price. That was ok, and we steyd there.
Breakfast was wery basic and the standard room small, but the location was excellent.

Room Tip: Should book a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotell, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear tapsaM,

Thank you for your post!

I am sorry that we could not deliver you an experience that you were expecting. Nevertheless, I feel that we can improve for your next visit!

Until the next time,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Town Maestro's
Old Town Maestro's
#26 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#18 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
#39 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#17 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
0.6 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#22 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#33 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taanilinna Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taanilinna Hotell

Address: Uus 6 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Taanilinna Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taanilinna Hotel is a small, comfortable and stylish hotel which is located in the historical part of the Old Town not far from the city wall.* In Tallinn Old Town, close to Viru Gates* A petite and personal hotel with 20 rooms* Parking available in front of the building. The three-story hotel with stylish interior design has 20 rooms: 3 standard single rooms, 6 superior double/twin rooms (incl. 1 room with disable access), 9 economy twin rooms and 2 double deluxe rooms. The hotel has conference facilities, private parking and a terrace in the summer months. The medieval streets of the Old Town are on your door step for shopping, art galleries, museums, medieval churches and theatres as well as the best restaurants, clubs and bars. Principal Banks and Government buildings are easily accessible in the modern city centre. The hotel with its perfect location is a perfect choice for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Taanilinna Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taanilinna Hotell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.