We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taanilinna Hotel

Save Saved
You added Taanilinna Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taanilinna Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uus 6 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Jyvaskyla, Finland
1 review
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice and small hotel in old town. Location is very good, almost everything is in walking distance.

Room was ok, quiet, bed was comfortably and huge. Nice and friendly staff in reception and room cleaning.

Breakfast was ok also, altought there was no bacon or eggs available.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear eepee11,

Thank you for keeping us in your memories after the visit!

We appreciate your kind words and are looking forward to see you again on your next visit to Tallinn.

Kind regards,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    90
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
89
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Four of us visted Tallinn in November 2012 and stayed a few nights at this hotel. The location was central and the rooms spacious and warm. We had a room overlooking the front of the hotel and each night we were awoken by late night revellers shouting in the street. Maybe this was because we had the windows open as the room was too warm. Bed was lovely as was the bathroom. Breakfast was more than adequate. There was a small supermarket a couple of hundred yards on the left, and many cafes, restaurants and shops within five or ten minutes stroll.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments!

I am sure that your insights will be very helpful for some other tripadvisor users as well.
It makes me glad to hear that you were pleased overall with our hotel and hopefully we can provide you with even more the next time you decide to visit Taanilinna hotell.

With best regards,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lappeenranta, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our 2-night stay in Taanilinna was perfect. The location was perfect, barely a 5-min walk from Viru gate but in a quiet lane that had no vehicle or people noise. A supermarket and pharmacy are located round the block, and there's a nice little deli+bakery nearby. Took us about 20 min to walk to the ferry terminal in the early morning on iced-up roads.
The room was charming, with heavy wood furniture, but big enough to let it be old-worldly rather than oppressive. The bed was super-comfortable; we unintentionally took a 2-hour nap right after checking in, instead of the 10-min one we had planned! The modern bathroom was sparkling clean, good shower, with the usual plastic tiny toiletries. The reception staff was charming and very very helpful. Lots of pamphlets and maps on the reception counter for the first-time visitor to Tallinn. Our room was cleaned on day 2 of our stay, with fresh towels and new tea bags. There was a nice big flat-screen TV, but we didn't use it.
Breakfast was slightly limited (no hot foods, though a toaster was available), but varied and tasty. Lots of fresh fruit juice, fresh fruits, good coffee, some nice ham, and lovely black rye bread made it perfect for me. My husband is a vegetarian and had muesli, yogurt, breads, jams, and raejuusto; we ate at 9am and it kept us going till 2pm!
Two tiny downsides: (1) wooden flooring meant that if people in the neighbouring room decide to stomp around, it can get noisy. We heard a little noise when people were checking in abt 3pm-ish, but it did not disturb us much. (2) the lack of a plug-point near the bed - there was one on each side but it was behind a solid table/chest of drawers and had the table lamp plugged in. But there were 2 other other accessible plug-points in the room, so unless you have a lot of gadgets that need charging, it shouldn't be a problem!
Overall, fantastic stay for the price. Would definitely stay again on our next trip :)

Room Tip: We stayed in a Superior Deluxe room overlooking the courtyard. Quiet enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for a lovely read! It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Taanilinna hotell so much and you are absolutely magnificent when it comes to giving a compliment to people about their hard work!

I cannot stress enough how great you made us feel when we read this feedback and you are definately always welcomed back with a smile on our faces.

Until the next time!

Sincerely,
Terje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights.
PROS:
The hotel is basic in terms of amenities (it has a good shower, toilet etc.) but the best parts about it was the feel of the place- old and rustic but not dingy and gross, adding to the overall time warp experience we had in Tallinn, and the location (right on the edge of old town so you could access everything in old town on foot, and the other side was the main city centre with the shops)
It was interesting to see the difference between old and "new" Tallinn.
The service was pretty good- the lady who served us the second night was so helpful and accommodating, she was willing to personally get breakfast ready for us by 6 am because of our early flight!

CONS:
The breakfast though was very limited, but fair enough considering the small size of the hotel. (The muesli is amazing- granola clusters with chocolate bits!! Made up for the lack of choice for the whole breakfast)
Other downside was the lack of an elevator, but we knew that and didnt mind carrying out bags up the stairs (the hotel only has 3 floors). Good that we chose the highest floor because noise was definitely an issue. It echoes up the stairwell, and though there weren't many guests, the first morning/night we could hear people talking down at the reception and in the halls.

So there are plus and minuses. Can't say the stay was brilliant but it was certainly a good experience too.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor (quieter), but be mindful of the fact that they do not have elevators/lifts!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Genhoho,

Thank you for your distinguished feedback!
It shows that you care about the other visitors also and want to help them as you can.
I am grateful of your compliments as well as your critique and I promise you we are thriving for the next step in quality day and night.

Sincerely,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel is located on Uus street in an old building in the heart of Tallinn - Old Town. Near Viru Square, Dominican Monastery, the oldest in the city of St. Catherine Lane, parallel to the street Uus - the ancient city walls and towers.
Rooms and common areas are decorated simply, in a traditional style with elements of medieval life. From the windows of our room we could see the courtyard and beautiful tiled roofs. Bathroom in our room was combined - shower and WC. There is free internet. There is small private car park.
Pleasant, friendly staff, good attitude to the guests. We left at 6 am and we are at this hour covered breakfast in the dining room.
In general, a cozy, comfortable, clean, quiet and in the heart of old town. Good place for families with children and without.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear vkovr,

Thank you!
Your description is precise and surely valuable for the other visitors of Tallinn.
I appreciate your kindness and you are always welcome back to Taanilinna Hotell!

With regards,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Rates were good compared to the services at hotel: superior room was spacious but the beds were all too narrow. The breakfast is very basic and can be described more continental than buffet. Otherwise location was ideal; next to old city and all restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback!
Although I am concerned that you were not a hundred percent satisfied with your stay here in Taanilinna Hotell I still want to say that your comments are not only always welcome but also very helpful for our staff.

I assure you that we are working on our quality daily so that your next visit here could be more than you would expect.

Until then I wish you all the best!
With kind regards,

Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great location! Hotel is located close to the gates of the Old Town which provides equal proximity historical sights of medieval Tallinn and large supermarkets and shopping centers of the modern city. Spacious rooms, very good services and very friendly reception

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear imakarova,

Thank you for posting your comments and rating our Hotel Taanilinna!
I hope you have been a good help to others who are looking for a quality place to stay in Tallinn.

All the best and until the next time!

Kind regards,
Terje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taanilinna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taanilinna Hotel

Address: Uus 6 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Taanilinna Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taanilinna Hotel is a small, comfortable and stylish hotel which is located in the historical part of the Old Town not far from the city wall.* In Tallinn Old Town, close to Viru Gates* A petite and personal hotel with 20 rooms* Parking available in font of the building. The three-story hotel with stylish interior design has 20 rooms: 3 standard single rooms, 5 superior double/twin rooms, 9 economy twin rooms and 3 double deluxe rooms. We have also 1 disabled room and separate allergy rooms. Also there are conference room, private parking and a terrace in the summer months. The medieval streets of the Old Town are on your door step for shopping, art galleries, museums, medieval churches and theatres as well as the best restaurants, clubs and bars. Principal Banks and Government buildings are all easily accessible in the modern city centre. The hotel with its perfect location is a perfect choice for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Taanilinna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taanilinna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.