We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old building in the heart of Tallinn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taanilinna Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Taanilinna Hotel to your Saves list
Taanilinna Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uus 6 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“old building in the heart of Tallinn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel is located on Uus street in an old building in the heart of Tallinn - Old Town. Near Viru Square, Dominican Monastery, the oldest in the city of St. Catherine Lane, parallel to the street Uus - the ancient city walls and towers.
Rooms and common areas are decorated simply, in a traditional style with elements of medieval life. From the windows of our room we could see the courtyard and beautiful tiled roofs. Bathroom in our room was combined - shower and WC. There is free internet. There is small private car park.
Pleasant, friendly staff, good attitude to the guests. We left at 6 am and we are at this hour covered breakfast in the dining room.
In general, a cozy, comfortable, clean, quiet and in the heart of old town. Good place for families with children and without.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear vkovr,

Thank you!
Your description is precise and surely valuable for the other visitors of Tallinn.
I appreciate your kindness and you are always welcome back to Taanilinna Hotell!

With regards,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    97
    29
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
97
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Rates were good compared to the services at hotel: superior room was spacious but the beds were all too narrow. The breakfast is very basic and can be described more continental than buffet. Otherwise location was ideal; next to old city and all restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback!
Although I am concerned that you were not a hundred percent satisfied with your stay here in Taanilinna Hotell I still want to say that your comments are not only always welcome but also very helpful for our staff.

I assure you that we are working on our quality daily so that your next visit here could be more than you would expect.

Until then I wish you all the best!
With kind regards,

Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great location! Hotel is located close to the gates of the Old Town which provides equal proximity historical sights of medieval Tallinn and large supermarkets and shopping centers of the modern city. Spacious rooms, very good services and very friendly reception

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear imakarova,

Thank you for posting your comments and rating our Hotel Taanilinna!
I hope you have been a good help to others who are looking for a quality place to stay in Tallinn.

All the best and until the next time!

Kind regards,
Terje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

stopped in this hotel last september 2011 with my wife and friends, lovely friendly hotel , breakfast very basic , your normal continentel .. cheese ham toast ! very clean and tidy , beds very small if you are over 6ft ask for a larger bed , location right on the edge of the old town ,10min walk to centre if that... worth a look , also great rates !

Room Tip: check on bed size if you are tall
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Nick,

Thank you for the comments!

I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel as much that you decided to visit us one more time. It means a great deal and I am very grateful of your support on tripadvisor also.

I hope that your second turns into third when you decide to visit Tallinn again.
Until then I wish you all the best!

Terje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagasaki, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Location ideal for site seeing, and also close to Ferry Terminal. Warm welcome from friendly staff for mid winter business trip. Room decor suits Old Town location. Bathroom modern and clean. Room Internet access easy to log on. Coffee making facilities in room a plus. Room heating was comfortable even though outside temperature was minus. Breakfast was simple continental style, though I miss not having a cappuccino. Great value and would definitely return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Eros,

Thank you for your pleasant commentary!

It is great to see that you found Taanilinna Hotell a fine place to visit. This means a lot to me as well as our staff.

I hope to see you in the future and leave you with my sincerest greetings until we meet again!

Kind regards,
Terje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in December and were quite pleased. The location is convenient to both Old Town and to areas outside (it's near one of the gates). The staff is very friendly an helpful and we were greeted with warm cider at the door. Breakfast was simple, but good and the coffee was excellent. You'll fin more luxurious places, but there's really no reason to spend more. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear SCalCanz,

Thank you very much for your feedback!

I am very pleased that you found our hotel satisfactory and you are always welcome back here at Taanilinna Hotel.


With best regards,
Terje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We booked an off-season package holiday with Baltic Holidays and were allocated this hotel, and were really pleasantly surprised! The staff are friendly, the rooms spacious and excellently kept, and while the breakfasts were quite simple, they were a fine start to each day.
About the only complaint I had was that in a double-room the duvets were two singles laid together, which needed some rearrangement if you wanted to be cosy with your partner. That said, the place was so well heated that you hardly needed the blankets anyway, even in mid-November.
The location is indeed excellent, the old town isn't exactly sprawling but it was still nice to have an easy, downhill walk home from a night out. And still in a secluded enough place to get a good night's sleep.

Would recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Magnus,

Thank you very much for this early christmas present!
I cannot tell you how much it meens to receive this kind of utterly positive comments!

All I can say now is that you are more than welcome to be back here that we could properly thank you for your kindness!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taanilinna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taanilinna Hotel

Address: Uus 6 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Taanilinna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taanilinna Hotel is a small, comfortable and stylish hotel which is located in the historical part of the Old Town not far from the city wall.* In Tallinn Old Town, close to Viru Gates* A petite and personal hotel with 20 rooms* Parking available in font of the building. The three-story hotel with stylish interior design has 20 rooms: 3 standard single rooms, 5 superior double/twin rooms, 9 economy twin rooms and 3 double deluxe rooms. We have also 1 disabled room and separate allergy rooms. Also there are conference room, private parking and a terrace in the summer months. The medieval streets of the Old Town are on your door step for shopping, art galleries, museums, medieval churches and theatres as well as the best restaurants, clubs and bars. Principal Banks and Government buildings are all easily accessible in the modern city centre. The hotel with its perfect location is a perfect choice for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Taanilinna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taanilinna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.