We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 day stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taanilinna Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Taanilinna Hotel to your Saves list
Taanilinna Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uus 6 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“5 day stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

stopped in this hotel last september 2011 with my wife and friends, lovely friendly hotel , breakfast very basic , your normal continentel .. cheese ham toast ! very clean and tidy , beds very small if you are over 6ft ask for a larger bed , location right on the edge of the old town ,10min walk to centre if that... worth a look , also great rates !

Room Tip: check on bed size if you are tall
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Nick,

Thank you for the comments!

I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel as much that you decided to visit us one more time. It means a great deal and I am very grateful of your support on tripadvisor also.

I hope that your second turns into third when you decide to visit Tallinn again.
Until then I wish you all the best!

Terje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    92
    27
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
90
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nagasaki, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Location ideal for site seeing, and also close to Ferry Terminal. Warm welcome from friendly staff for mid winter business trip. Room decor suits Old Town location. Bathroom modern and clean. Room Internet access easy to log on. Coffee making facilities in room a plus. Room heating was comfortable even though outside temperature was minus. Breakfast was simple continental style, though I miss not having a cappuccino. Great value and would definitely return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Eros,

Thank you for your pleasant commentary!

It is great to see that you found Taanilinna Hotell a fine place to visit. This means a lot to me as well as our staff.

I hope to see you in the future and leave you with my sincerest greetings until we meet again!

Kind regards,
Terje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in December and were quite pleased. The location is convenient to both Old Town and to areas outside (it's near one of the gates). The staff is very friendly an helpful and we were greeted with warm cider at the door. Breakfast was simple, but good and the coffee was excellent. You'll fin more luxurious places, but there's really no reason to spend more. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear SCalCanz,

Thank you very much for your feedback!

I am very pleased that you found our hotel satisfactory and you are always welcome back here at Taanilinna Hotel.


With best regards,
Terje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We booked an off-season package holiday with Baltic Holidays and were allocated this hotel, and were really pleasantly surprised! The staff are friendly, the rooms spacious and excellently kept, and while the breakfasts were quite simple, they were a fine start to each day.
About the only complaint I had was that in a double-room the duvets were two singles laid together, which needed some rearrangement if you wanted to be cosy with your partner. That said, the place was so well heated that you hardly needed the blankets anyway, even in mid-November.
The location is indeed excellent, the old town isn't exactly sprawling but it was still nice to have an easy, downhill walk home from a night out. And still in a secluded enough place to get a good night's sleep.

Would recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Magnus,

Thank you very much for this early christmas present!
I cannot tell you how much it meens to receive this kind of utterly positive comments!

All I can say now is that you are more than welcome to be back here that we could properly thank you for your kindness!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is that it's actually quite nice for three stars. It's obviously decorated with quality and the location is absolutely perfect. It's right in the old town yet off from the busy&noisy streets. The breakfast was very basic continental but had plenty of everything and the coffee was quite good. The staff is nice and they'll keep your luggage after check-out.

We stayed two nights in the Double Deluxe room. The room was very big, nicely decorated and very clean! It had four big windows bringing in natural light. There was a bathtub in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable but the blanket a little thin and the bed creaked on the right side. The hotel is quite small and quiet. There's no view from the room but that's the case with most of Old Town hotels, I guess.

All in all, a good hotel and good value for money. Probably great for a longer stay, too!

Room Tip: Double Deluxe room was very good! Huge, nicely decorated, large closet for clothes, desk, fridge, lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Kristiina,

Thank you very much!
It is a pleasure to read these kind of comments. A perfect way to start the day in a hotel!
I hope this positive energy will get to continue the next time you visit us!

Until then - happy Christmas!

Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Because of the reasonable prices compared with other places we have stayed we booked the double delux room and found the room beautiful, spacious and clean. The majority of the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The only negative we could find would be the bed, which was uncomfortable and creaked with every turn. All in all a great holiday and would definitely return to Tallinn and this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Colin,

Thank you for posting a comment here about us!
It is good to read an honest but still positive post.
I hope we can be an even better host to you the next time you are here in Tallinn.

Kind regards,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Tannilinna Hotel is very good hotel, with small-ish but very comfortable, clean rooms including a very clean bathroom/toilet. The hotel had free wifi and the breakfast was more than adequate.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the hotel is in a quiet location with no disturbances or noise at night. The main square is very close by.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Taanilinna Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Southofnorth,

Thank you for the feedback!
It is nice to see that you were happy with your choice of hotel being Taanilinna.
We are very greatful of your helpful comments!

Greetings to Portsmouth,
Terje Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taanilinna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taanilinna Hotel

Address: Uus 6 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Taanilinna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taanilinna Hotel is a small, comfortable and stylish hotel which is located in the historical part of the Old Town not far from the city wall.* In Tallinn Old Town, close to Viru Gates* A petite and personal hotel with 20 rooms* Parking available in font of the building. The three-story hotel with stylish interior design has 20 rooms: 3 standard single rooms, 5 superior double/twin rooms, 9 economy twin rooms and 3 double deluxe rooms. We have also 1 disabled room and separate allergy rooms. Also there are conference room, private parking and a terrace in the summer months. The medieval streets of the Old Town are on your door step for shopping, art galleries, museums, medieval churches and theatres as well as the best restaurants, clubs and bars. Principal Banks and Government buildings are all easily accessible in the modern city centre. The hotel with its perfect location is a perfect choice for leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Taanilinna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taanilinna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.