We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and very moving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estonian Museum of Occupations

Estonian Museum of Occupations
Toompea 8, Tallinn 10142, Estonia
372 66 80 250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 237 things to do in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum chronicles the years Estonia spent under Nazi and Soviet domination.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent and very moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Estonia is a great place to visit and this museum is a top attraction. I especially recommend it to North Americans who may not have as much knowledge about Estonia and the regional history as do many Europeans.

The displays and artifacts are well presented and all have English explanations. Estonia is located on a very strategic piece of land and has had many foreign occupiers over the centuries. Most recent have been the Russians and Germans.

To be fair, I noticed that most of those not liking this museum on Trip Advisor were Russians who claimed the information is biased. I can see how they could feel that way and suggest you read their negative reviews before going. It adds another perspective that is interesting and, to me, made the displays even more interesting.

I found the museum's staff to be helpful and very committed to telling the story. I suggest you ask them about their history if they are not overly busy.

Convenient to public transportation. Close to restaurants. Fairly convenient to center of Old Town but that is a significant uphill walk for those with limited walking abilities.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    81
    38
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A sobering experience but worth seeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Quite a small museum but from the concrete suitcases leading you to the entrance, the display of prison doors to the video recollections of Estonians to the horrors of both the Nazi and Soviet occupations this leaves you with a very clear view of what Estonia went through in the not too distant past.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Humbling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Well worth a visit! Whilst it wasn't an easy visit the displays and videos were very informative and told the story of the Estonians experience of both German and Russian occupations since 1900. The video films could have been louder or provision of headphones would have been helpful. The exhibits were very moving and I certainly understood more about the Estonian psyche.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Sobering aid to understanding Estonia.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This small museum is essential for any visitor wanting to understand the fierce drive for independence of most Estonians. We visited only a few days after Independence Day, so it all felt particularly poignant. The museum covers the occupations of the Nazis and the Soviets. There are explanation cards and booklets available so you can fully understand the artefacts displayed. The main focus of the exhibition is the films of witness available to watch on TV screens. There are folding chairs thoughtfully provided so that you can sit and watch as much as you wish. We found the testimonies very moving. It is rare to visit a museum that gives such an interesting and moving view of more recent history - it reveals aspects of modern European history which we are in danger of quickly forgetting about.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Museum that made me think”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The museum has very important story to tell. It shows the important aspects of the occupation and made me think about the difficulties people had.
There were things, video clips and writings about the time.
I spent several hours there and I didn’t cover everything, but I think it still didn’t cover the everyday life during the occupation. It had materials from the war and early days, but I’m not so sure it gives the understanding for people who have not lived it through how it was.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estonian Museum of Occupations also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Estonian Museum of Occupations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estonian Museum of Occupations, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.