We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Viru

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Original Sokos Hotel Viru to your Saves list
Original Sokos Hotel Viru
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viru Valjak 4, Tallinn 10111, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
1 review
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed two nights with my wife and a group of 44 people in this excellent hotel. I was traveling with a group in organized trip so I'm not familiar to the prize we paid for this hotel so I can't compare the quality to the prize for the room.
The room we got was on the 13th floor with excellent view to the sea and to the old town.
The location is excellent, there where only few minutes walk to the very nice old town where there is lot to see and eat and drink. Don't miss out the Peppersack restorant, opposite to the famous Old Hansa restorant. Great food and drinks at the Peppersack, the best I got in a week trip to St. Petersburg and Tallin.
The breakfast at the hotel is one of the best I have got.
The only thing I missed in the room was a bathtub.

Room Tip: Better view on the northsite of the hotel and on higher floors (~10+)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    183
    102
    21
    4
See reviews for
63
110
28
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

To start with something positive i would say its a hotell close to the old city and central in that way. However the rooms are quite expensive compared to the standard you get. its outdated and needs desperatly to be renewed. The room i had was a non smoking business room on the top floor however it still smelled like alot of smoke. I had a sauna which was not even close to the experience promised. Friendly staff tho, but compard to other hotels in tallinn and the price it didnt reach up.

Room Tip: Non smoking, if that helps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokkedal, Denmark
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Nothing fancy about this hotel. It works, breakfast is ok and the rooms are clean. Not super clean, but clean enough. My room was quite old style and with aged furniture. Staff is very friendly and as the hotel is well-located near the old town, it is an ok choice.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Clean hotel, centrally located in the heart of Tallinn. Breakfast ok. Few in the front desk. Long line of finnish people all the time, that did drink heavily. Booking radisson next time! With more international guests, and some more staff it would be a ok 4 star hotel as they announce as. Tough, location is perfect, and do visit viru center and try the mexcican food at the first floor. :)

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Positive:

+ Great location in the centre of Tallinn's old town
+ Favorable pricing, taking location in consideration
+ Friendly staff

Improvement needed:

- Old fashioned decorated rooms
- Noisy building from conctrete floors, to wind outside.
- There was a scent of (cigaret) smoke leftovers in the room
- Bathroom sink could not take in all the water in a timely matter, leaving pools of water.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Hotel is well located. Rooms are renewed and very confortable. If you're lucky enough, you get a view to a sea which is excellent. Didn't experience dining facilities, but breakfoast was quite poor. We entered to breakfast room about 15 minutes closing and there were basically nothing left which I like. I understand that we were quite late, but breakfast ends when promised, not half an hour before that.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high as possible and a view to a sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel is an interesting combination of the small hotel chain's operating culture and the soviet era reminiscents in an excellent location. After dozens of visits to Tallinn this trip was my first with a stay in this classic hotel. At the time of arrival my mind was full of doubts, and when checking out I was ready to suggest the premises for family travellers as a good base to explore the city.

The building itself is a definitive landmark of the city. You just can't miss it. And the contrast with the nearby old town is remarkable. And the views from the upper floor rooms are fine. Especially if there any kind of fireworks show available during your stay.

The rooms are worn and tear, but quite clean. After lively clientele staying in, there might be some surprises available missed by the cleaning ladies. Like socks and toys hidden in surprinsingly different places in the room. Overall the cleanliness is in the same level as it normally is in this chain.

Checking in was a bit crowded and rush during the peak hours, so keep that in mind when checking out. The staff was nice and helpfull all the time, no matter how crowded the desk was.

The lobby wasn't so inviting as were not the bars at the ground level too. Dark interiors with clumsy furniture.

The rooms vary according the types/classification from a small basic one to a more spacious fitted with beds for the whole family. With a superior you got more equipped room with a wiev without any extra frills. Staying as a member of a larger group there was a possibility to check different types of guest room. Modern, simple, basic, and the extras of the superior class rooms were like bathrobes and slippers, water kettle with instant coffe and tea bags and upgraded pillow sweets (chocolate instead of the candy in the normal or family room).

Bed was ok, an extra pillow available and the curtains blakened the room, the A/C unit was quite noisy and wasn't adjustable.

At the breakfast there was a large selection available, food was ok, nothing impressive or particularly local. For kids it was easy to find what they wanted and the buffet tables weren't too high.

Overall a positive excperience after all the rumours and expectations connected to this soviet classic. In the future I would suggest it for groups and families with small children wanting to stay in the middle of everything. Not for those having a car with them (expensive and quite complicated parking system) or couples looking after a relaxing week-end (at least during the holiday season the amount of the children is remarkable.

And if staying in one of the lower floors, take a lift ride to the 22nd floor. There is a smoking balcony in the both ends of the hallway with a stunning view over the city.

Room Tip: Prefer an upper floor for the view. And ask for a room near the lifts (a noisy one) if you want to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Viru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Viru

Address: Viru Valjak 4, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#19 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#22 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Viru 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you haven’t been in the legendary Viru Hotel, you haven’t seen all of Tallinn. The first skyscraper and prominent landmark in Estonia offers breathtaking views of Tallinn Bay and Tallinn’s UNESCO protected medieval Old Town. The hotel has the widest range of room types, restaurants, entertainment facilities, relaxation services and the “must see” KGB museum all under the same roof. Original Sokos Hotel Viru provides direct access to the Viru Centre shopping mall and is close to theatres and popular cultural centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Viru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Viru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.