We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two-star experience in a four-star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Viru

Save Saved
You added Original Sokos Hotel Viru to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Viru
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viru Valjak 4, Tallinn 10111, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Two-star experience in a four-star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

First of all, this review is about the hotel, not the KGB museum (which is outstanding, by the way).

We stayed for 2 nights in a room on the 19th floor. Check-in took about 20-30 minutes even though there were at least 4 or 5 members of staff at the counter. The hotel was advertised as a non-smoking hotel, and we were surprised to find that the room smelled like cigarettes. Later we found out that there was a smoking balcony right outside our room, but we had already settled in the room and didn't bother to change rooms. Even though the room was high above the street level we could hear the noise from the streets all night long (bring ear plugs!). The room was a little dated and tiles in the bathroom were falling off. This is not what I expect from a four-star hotel. The view was great, though, that earns the third star.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms near the smoking balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    177
    90
    20
    3
See reviews for
58
99
27
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

been here many times over the years,great hotel and staff(always helpful)location is the best in tallinn either you are on holiday or business.old town is very beautiful place and walking distance from the hotel.summer time is the best in tallinn,hundreds of terraces everywhere,lots of different kind of happenings and if you want to party you find amazing bars and clubs.

Room Tip: take basic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel as we were staying in the Old Town, but we went on the KGB Museum tour to the mysterious "23rd Floor" (cue mysterious music :) )....

The tour lasts for about 1 hour and you head up in the lift to the 22nd floor where the guide gives a fascinating introduction, before sending you through a door marked "No Entry" in Estonian and Russian, up a flight of concrete stairs to the 23rd floor, where the KGB listening room is.

Our wonderful guide Margaritte (I hope that's how her name is spelt) engaged us with fascinating and jaw dropping stories about life in the hotel from 1974 until 1991, when the KGB, as she put it, left in rather a hurry after the Estonian people had risen up to rid themselves of their Soviet dictatorship. Having looked at the Managers office and been told about how staff were remunerated and rewarded, we were finally taken to the KGB listening room, which still has some of the listening equipment intact.

I would definitely recommend is tour to anyone visiting Tallinn as it gives a flavour of life behind the Iron Curtain, a very recent history. What it also made us think about is what propaganda was and is - we are amazed by the propaganda of that era, but do we quests the subtle and pervasive propaganda that we still face today.......?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel is very old, but nice and comfortable. Rooms are not luxury, but has all necessary. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Location is just in the heart of Tallinn.
Breakfast is very good; no complaints. Also there is a lot of restaurants in the nearest area. I can especially recommend you Lido - buffet-style restaurant in the Solaris mall (approx. 200 m from hotel -> ask somebody how to get it). It not super 5-star restaurant, but food very versatile, testy and cheap. Me & my wife likes it very much and go there every time, when visit Tallinn.

If you like sushi, Silu sushi bar is fantastic. Address is Kullassepa 4, Tallinn. It is in 10 min walk from hotel. Dinner for two is 50€, with japanese tea and great sushi food.

So, Tallinn is beautiful city with a lot of things to do and places for visiting. If you go there you don't regret! :)

If you have something questions, pls contact me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in February 2013. At check-in I upgraded to a superior room. The room was quite big and nice. The Tv had some englishspeaking channels as: BBC World and Euronews. Check-in and check-out was fast and Nadja in reception was very serviceminded. But a little sad that I couldn¨t register these nights at my Nordic Choice cardas I've booked the trip through Expedial
The breakfast was very good and had a lot of choiches.
I also tried the Ilu salon at the hotel and the pedikur for men was good.
So all in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I was on that hotel 3 night, including new years eave. It was amazing experience as the hotel had everyhting - sauna, beauty salong, great service, good breakfast. Especially we loved the new years show at the hotel. The good plus was that I could go from hotel to the big shopping centre without going out. It was great as it was winter and very cold outside. The hotel was only 5 minutes away from old town, so we also visited famous Estonian Christmas market.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We came for a group convention so the hotel occupancy was high (we also had members across the street at the Nordic). Upon check in we were greeted by a friendly front desk person who explained where everything was in the hotel and given a room. We went to the room and it smelled so much like smoke our noses burned - it was supposed to be a "non-smoking" room. We called from the room to inform them and were told if we came back down they would give us another room. I went back down and asked more room questions and requested that we stay close to our original room because we friends were also assigned to the same floor in an upgraded room. We asked for an upgrade room as well and were told none were available. They brought keys up and showed us two rooms to choose from - one was in a corner and has sharp corners that made the room a strange shape and not that functional. The 3rd room we tried was very small but we just took it and started rolling our bags into the room.
We were on site for a 5 night stay. There was NO closet space - no where to hang a single item of clothings, also meaning there was no where to store the suitcases. There were a few drawers and we managed. The television was very small so if you plan to spend time in your room be prepared it's about a 18 inch version with very few cable channels. Again we didn't fly to Tallinn to stay in the room so it was fine for us.
During July when we went it was light about 20 hrs a day so in order to try and sleep the curtains had to stay closed. They were older drapes wth no black out options and they were not really wide enough to cover the entire window.
The bathroom was compact but had heated floors if you were to go in winter. The air conditioner ran but it never got cool in the room. We called for maintenance twice because it was so hot it was difficult to sleep but they were unable to do anything to make it better. The beds are okay but I wouldn't say comfy like other chain hotels typically have...
Again we were part of the group so several of our meals were in a large group setting. We had breakfast included in the buffett as part of our room - which I believe is standard. They were two different buffett areas which did help with the large amount of people that were there all around the same time. The selection was okay - there are all sort of pastries, bread, cereals, a couple of types of eggs, potatoes, etc. The bacon was not the American type - so it did not appear cooked to us and we chose not to have it.
We used the laundry services due to the large duration of our trip across several countries / cities. I will say it was the most reasonable in cost of any country we visited. They did a great job and there was a quick turn around time.
We had a drink at the bar in the back of the hotel behind the elevators and it was good - service was a little slow.
Again it's not a Ritz, a Hilton, a Marriott, etc but we weren't paying for that either we had a $99 a night rate. So if you go with the correct expectations you will be prepared and not disappointed.

Room Tip: I would ask for an upgraded / larger room that faces the old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Viru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Viru

Address: Viru Valjak 4, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#17 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Viru 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you haven’t been in the legendary Viru Hotel, you haven’t seen all of Tallinn. The first skyscraper and prominent landmark in Estonia offers breathtaking views of Tallinn Bay and Tallinn’s UNESCO protected medieval Old Town. The hotel has the widest range of room types, restaurants, entertainment facilities, relaxation services and the “must see” KGB museum all under the same roof. Original Sokos Hotel Viru provides direct access to the Viru Centre shopping mall and is close to theatres and popular cultural centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Viru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Viru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.