We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel for short stay / cruise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Viru

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Original Sokos Hotel Viru to your Saves list
Original Sokos Hotel Viru
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viru Valjak 4, Tallinn 10111, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Hotel for short stay / cruise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

A big hotel, conveniently situated, good standard, just enough for a short stop in Tallinn between the sailing in and out. Gives good access to the old town, various restaurants and near by shopping facilities in the town. We stayed there for one night on our cruise from Helsinki with our Danish friends.

The rooms we booked as part of the Viking Line cruise were small but who wants to spend hours in the room when there is just limited time available for something else. However, the reception nicely offered us bigger rooms of almost double the size at the the additional 20 euro/room but we did not considered it applicable.

At the ground level, there was direct access to the Viru Shopping Mall. Amarillos restaurant and bar was also nice for quick bite during the day and night cap at the end of the day. Breakfast hall was sooner a hall than restaurant by nature. Obviously en-heritage from the old CCCR times when planned and built. Breakfast itself was good with plenty of choice and varieties. Service in the hotel as part of a Finnish hotel group was to the expectations, fluent and of good standard. There was nothing luxurious but adequate as for our need for the hotel in this case was.

Room Tip: In case you desire to have the view to the Old Town require for it. The higher you are the more you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    181
    97
    21
    4
See reviews for
61
106
27
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I was in Tallin for work and then checked in here for a couple of days to myself exploring the city. It's proximity to the Old Town is fantastic so it's a great base to come back to after a hard afternoons shopping, sightseeing and sampling of local beer.

I checked in early and had a lovely warm welcome in English. I was put in one of their newly refurbished rooms (20th floor) which wasn't huge but was finished nicely. The bed was comfortable, the view over the port / sea was brilliant, and the room was kept nice and warm.

I made use of the therapy centre with a back / shoulder massage with easily booked, reasonably priced and very effective.

The only downside to this being a huge hotel was the manic nature of breakfast and the difficultly of finding a sea during peak times.

Overall a nice stay at the hotel which helped towards a relaxing weekend in Tallin.

Room Tip: Floor 20 has been refurbished, and make sure you get a front facing room that looks out to the port...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel is nice but a bit below our expectations. The room and breakfast were OK... the big downside was the lounge which was always extremely busy!

The highlight for this hotel is the KGB Museum. A visit is really worth and informative... however make sure you book in advance as they don't have many groups per day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The location of this big hotel is the best. It is connected to a large shopping mall, so if you like shopping you don't have to go outside. It's also right next to the old town. We were in a superior double room on the 12th floor. This room had clearly been renewed and created from two separate rooms, it even had two bathrooms. In some of these rooms the other bathroom is a sauna, but we didn't upgrade for that (cost was around twenty euros). The room was exceptionally spacious, we liked it very much. Good TV channels too. The hotel is oldish an has that soviet feel to it, that we found charming (now that it's gone). Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A big chain restaurant in the middle of city centre. Location is excelent.

This soviet era hotel from 70s in nowadays run by Finnish Sokos hotel chain and they have converted it to their tasteless and odorless basic concept. Nothing fancy, nothing really worth mentioning. Everything is about average. Rooms are normal. Of course being one of the most used hotels in town, some rooms show that.

There are plenty of private saunas to rent, which is a plus.

Tallinn has plenty of better restaurants so need to stay in hotel for dinner. I have normally skipped using restaurants here, only occasioonal beer in the lobby.

Good for shoppers as contacted to one of the biggest malls in town.

Average place but pretty unimaginative. Be also prepared for drunk Finnish

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lohja, Finland
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were a group of 15 people staying 2 nights in the hotel and most of us didn´t prefer this hotel to a nearby hotel, where we stayed in May. There is nothing special to put your finger on, but the overall impression was not perfect and we didn´t like the atmosphere in the breakfast buffet as it being a little too impersonal.

The access to shopping mall without going out is fine and the Old Town is near the hotel and only a short walk and you are there. The beds were alright, even though some of us got douple beds instead of separate beds and these rooms were quite small.
No safe-deposit box in Standard rooms and you couldn´t open the windows. Rooms were clean and towels changed even though they were hanging in the hook and not on the floor.

There are beauty salons both in 2. floor and 3. floor. I made 2 bookings on the 3. floor salon, one facial treatment and one body treatment, but they are quite expensive if you compare them to other nearby beauty salons and their website doesn´t explain the treatments sufficiently enough and the salon in 2. floor website I didn´t find beforehand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I totally agree with previous posts that Sokos Hotel Viru is not bad at all, and deco, noise from outside all is OK as its really located centrally to everything.
I staid there with my friend and for a short trip it was good, its literally connected with big shopping center and its very popular with Scandinavian people.
Nothing really much to mention apart if you don't like massive tourist hotels what have sometimes pretty drunken clients in lobby or you facing the alco smell in elivator early morning then its def not for you but if you want good location and you can look away those few little points i mentioned before then its OK hotel to stay.
I think it reflects in price and you get what you pay for.
Good points-

You can take bus,tram anywhere from outside of hotel & there's bus connection to airport outdoor hotel
For extra food you can go downstairs to Kaubamaja shopping centre and they have pretty large food shop in basement floor.
Ticket office & tourist office is located again in dowstairs shopping centre.
Short walk to old town and sometimes good room views over Tallinn city/old town
Near cinema,etc..

Not good points
Can be very busy looking hotel
Sometimes loud & drunk Finnish, Swedish people who staying in hotel...
Make sure your room isnt near elivator as you can hear people and its all night around..lol

Room Tip: avoid to be near elivator, higher better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Viru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Viru

Address: Viru Valjak 4, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#22 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Viru 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you haven’t been in the legendary Viru Hotel, you haven’t seen all of Tallinn. The first skyscraper and prominent landmark in Estonia offers breathtaking views of Tallinn Bay and Tallinn’s UNESCO protected medieval Old Town. The hotel has the widest range of room types, restaurants, entertainment facilities, relaxation services and the “must see” KGB museum all under the same roof. Original Sokos Hotel Viru provides direct access to the Viru Centre shopping mall and is close to theatres and popular cultural centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Viru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Viru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.