We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am very pleased with the hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Viru

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Original Sokos Hotel Viru to your Saves list
Original Sokos Hotel Viru
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viru Valjak 4, Tallinn 10111, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Poznan, Poland
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
170 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“I am very pleased with the hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

The hotel is very modern. The location is very good. In his spare time, you can walk to visit close by attractions. The most important include: Cathedral of Saint. Alexander Nevsky, Raekoja Plats, Church of Sts. Ofala and Toomkirik. The hotel has a lot of very nice amenities. I was most pleased with the spa's full-service (2 spa tubs), health club and indoor pool. A very big plus hotel you can order massage, which is executed in the room.

The staff is very nice. The room I had available to a very high-speed wireless Internet.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    183
    102
    21
    4
See reviews for
63
110
28
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hameenkuja 2 b 30
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Sokos Hotel Viru was for long the only "western" hotel during the soviet period. Today there are lots of new hotels in tallinna, but the old Viru has still maintained some of its old charm.
It is big and sometimes a bit noisy with youths from Scandinavia having a good time with cheap drinks, but the atmosphere is quite jovial. It is true that sometimes the lifts don´t all work, or the plastic key won´t open your door, but the help is near.The breakfast is quite good with bacon and eggs and all that with lots and lots to eat.
Estonian Opera is worth visiting, very high class singers.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are a bit better and they come reasonably cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Just as center as it could be. They have renovated their rooms this year, it looks nice and wow, what a view. Free wifi and no extra charge for the sea view. The biggest shopping center in the same building!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, magnificent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Arriving late one afternoon, I called in to the 5 star Swiss Hotel. Their prices were beyond what I could afford at the time but they recommended (and even booked!) this hotel for me despite having no connection with it. Whilst I have been in plusher 4 star hotels (I would rate this one as 3 and a half stars), it is only 5 minutes walk to the old town, close to the port, has a shopping mall underneath and internet facilities in the foyer. Breakfast for such an establishment is okay but busy, as with many hotels at peak times. Flooring in the rooms (I have used two) was polished wood rather than carpet - I am old fashioned and prefer warmer carpet and I would have liked to see coffee making facilities in the room. However, for the reasonable price they charge in the centre of a capital city, I certainly cannot complain. The excellent tram network passes the corner of the hotel making travel to outerlying parts of the city easy; because of this, however, I would recommend a higher floor should the traffic noise be a problem for you.
Tallinn has become one of my favourite cities. A beach resort about 3 miles to the east is well woth a visit - once an small olympic village. Music features strongly in the Estonian culture and there is an outdoor music venue used for festivals closeby the city. I even went to visit the zoo!
I shall definitely be visiting Tallinn again in the future and this hotel will be my home for the duration - it's so handy for the city centre and with the price pitched right, why go elsewhere?

Room Tip: The excellent tram network passes the corner of the hotel making travel to outerlying parts of the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Decent hotel in a very central location. The standard room had plenty of space and was clean. The hotel has several restaurants and bars, and apparently there's a KGB museum on the top floor! The hotel is attached to a shopping mall that has plenty of clothing stores, cafes and a decent bookstore.

We stayed during the weekend, so there were quite a lot drunk tourists around, but up on the 7th floor it was very peaceful and we had a good night of sleep. Can't say the same about some of the other Tallinn hotels I've stayed at. The breakfast buffet was very crowded, but the food was decent, with lots of different items to choose from.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

A former soviet building converted into an average hotel, nothing too great or too bad. But it's location just 2 minutes from the gate of the old city is just great!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I had a standard room and it was planty big enough, double bed, sofa and desk. The price was very good. I was offered an upgrade to a bigger room on arrival but reallly glad i didn't take it as there was no need. The hotel has a small pub, a bar and a nightclub. It also has a very nice Tex-Mex restraunt. If i was returning to Tallin i would be stopping here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Viru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Viru

Address: Viru Valjak 4, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#19 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#22 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Viru 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you haven’t been in the legendary Viru Hotel, you haven’t seen all of Tallinn. The first skyscraper and prominent landmark in Estonia offers breathtaking views of Tallinn Bay and Tallinn’s UNESCO protected medieval Old Town. The hotel has the widest range of room types, restaurants, entertainment facilities, relaxation services and the “must see” KGB museum all under the same roof. Original Sokos Hotel Viru provides direct access to the Viru Centre shopping mall and is close to theatres and popular cultural centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Viru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Viru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.