We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic clean hotel close to old town.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotell St. Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotell St. Barbara to your Saves list
Hotell St. Barbara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roosikrantsi 2a, Tallinn 10119, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“basic clean hotel close to old town.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

if you 'enjoy' 3 stars its perfectly for that. basic hotel. rooms are not worn out, the staff is polite. but the night reception had a 'estonian' attitude towards extra wishes like the extra blanket and pillow. can you imagine she called back and asked, 'do you really need them?' (should have ansered: no we're just boared and called you - of course we need them! Stupid question and wrong attitute.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    138
    44
    8
    4
See reviews for
74
116
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Friendly and clean hotel located very close to old town. Room was quiet and clean. Personell was helpfull and friendly. Big advantage for travelers with car is that hotel has free parking. Everything was perfect. Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristiinaVerner, Sales Manager at Hotell St. Barbara, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Milkmann_J,

Thank You for such a positive review! We are very happy to hear that You had a pleasant stay with us and hope to welcome You again in the near future!

With kind regards,
Kristiina Verner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Friendly hotel very near old town but aside from the nightlife if you want to sleep at night.The rooms we had was on 3 floor. Evrything was working fine. Hot water, lift and and a breakfast with porridge cornflakes,sausage and normal bread,coffe etc.no noice in nighttime at least not in our room 3 floor.windows facing parkingspace. We did not try the hotel restaurant so cant say about it. Busses and trams are running very near also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Clean, comfortable, functional, well-priced hotel in great location near Old Town. The family room was perfect for our family of four; the couch & trundle bed combo in the outer room worked well for our 7 & 3 year olds. Minor criticisms: for some reason they've put a small patio in the back courtyard, I'm assuming for smokers from the German pub in the basement of the hotel. It was just large enough to attract five or six loud, tipsy customers on one of the evenings we were there. To be fair, the noise ended around 11 or so, and it was only on one of the three nights we spent at the hotel so maybe it's not a common occurrence. But I'd recommend they get rid of this space -- I can't imagine it generates sufficient revenue to make up for the loss in good will they must suffer with hotel guests looking for quiet. Also, as is not infrequent in this part of the world, the main bedroom area in the family room had two twin beds rather than a queen. Not our ideal, but again not out of the norm here. Bottom line -- we had a good stay and would come back again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great location, clean, tidy, comfy beds and good value for money. The European breakfast was average and for the room rate, no real complaints. Great atmospheric German pub below the hotel where breakfast is taken. There can be a little noise at the front of the hotel but nothing to prevent sleep!! We would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Select a room at the back of the hotel. There can be a little noise at the front of the hotel but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Close to the center of Tallinn Old Town, with parking in the back yard. Spacious rooms (for European standard), clean and quiet. The breakfast was however better during our stay last summer. Can certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is close to the Old Town (approximately 1 min walk by feet) and to several shopping centers. Good breakfast is offered, rooms are nice and new.
Look for "smart offer" when booking - some dates are offered with discount. We booked with 20% off.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotell St. Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell St. Barbara

Address: Roosikrantsi 2a, Tallinn 10119, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotell St. Barbara 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St. Barbara is centrally located within the walking distance of Tallinn Old Town, sightseeings and of course shopping centres. Our massive historical limestone walls conceal 53 spacious and well lit guestrooms with high ceilings and beautiful large windows. There are special rooms for people with allergies as well as those who prefer to travel with their beloved pets. Families are accommodated in very spacious family rooms which fit both extra beds for older children and baby cots. There is a mini-bar in the room at your service and wireless internet covering the entire hotel. We also have a guest computer at the reception if needed.We welcome you to our German-style restaurant, where we also have two chambers for business after-hours or private gatherings. Hotel guests can enjoy complimentary wireless internet and parking in the hotel parking area. Hotel St. Barbara is also considered to be one of the most beautiful limestone buildings in Tallinn, designed by architect Bernhard and has a very interesting history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotell St. Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell St. Barbara Hotel Tallinn
Hotell St Barbara Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotell St. Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.