We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotell St. Barbara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotell St. Barbara to your Saves list
Hotell St. Barbara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roosikrantsi 2a, Tallinn 10119, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Location is good, just outside the Old Town and next to public transport. Rooms are clean and medium sized with decent beds. Breakfast is more than adequate. Service is friendly and quick. All and all a good choice and a efficient hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StBarbaraManager, General Manager at Hotell St. Barbara, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear arne68! Thank you for your appreciation of our hotel and staff. It is a honor for us since you visited quite a lot of Tallinn hotels and could compare! You are always welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    133
    41
    8
    4
See reviews for
68
108
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Just finished a very pleasant stay here. The location adjacent to old town couldn't be beat, the staff were friendly, and the attached restaurant was fantastic. What more can be said about this charming boutique hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StBarbaraManager, General Manager at Hotell St. Barbara, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear minion1! Your review is a great honour for us! Thank you very much! Day by day we are improving our our hotel! You are always welcome again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very clean, spacious room. Nice bathroom and great shower with glass sliding door. Room 410. Small desk handy. Great position. Close to Freedom Square and public transport. Walk 5-10 mins to shopping centre. Beds and pillows comfy. Staff at reception desk extremely helpful and speak perfect English. Breakfast fairly run of the mill. No lift for your suitcases, so you either bump them up the main staircase to reception, or put them on a metal ramp and drag up that. Good luck doing that, twisting your back at the same time! Would stay here again though.

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking roofs and part of a courtyard - nothing inspiring, but it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StBarbaraManager, General Manager at Hotell St. Barbara, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear AussieGeni! On behalf of our reception staff I would like to thank you for "perfect English" =)
And thank you for your review in general! You are always welcome again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have just come back from Tallinn and stayed at the hotel st barbara, before we booked we were a bit concerned about some of the reviews well here is ours.
The hotel was spotless with a continental breakfast that was more then adequate, the rooms are clean and beds and pillows comfortable. the showers are big and roomy.
we have seen the complaints about rudeness but i believe this is down to "the estonian way"
the other thing people is it only cost £45 per night for a double room what a bargain we would stay there again without a doubt with the added bonus that its only a 5-10 minute walk to the old town. you will struggle to find a hotel of this value anywhere

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

we have just arrived back in the uk after staying 7 nights at the st barbara hotel it was a very basic hotel the breakfast was very limited not even a english breakfast tea bag until the last day we used the bar in the evening as weather not too good but found the bar staff not very friendly but I must say that Kristina on reception was very friendly it would have been nice if we had tea/coffee making in the room i think that the rooms or room that we stayed in 109 needs a bit of an update

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StBarbaraManager, General Manager at Hotell St. Barbara, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Chris t! Thank you for your review!
Actually we are updating our rooms but it will take some time. Indeed it takes about 1 week to get 1 room to a new decoration. Probably you just stayed in "old" room. For now almost half of our rooms are already renewed. We hope to finish with new decoratin untill summer 2013.

As for "restaurant staff not very friendly" - I admit that some of our restaurant staff do not meet highest standarts we want to see. That's why in the middle of January 2013 we've just changed our Food and Beverage Manager i and new Manager will fix this situation soon.

We have coffee and tee facilities at Superior class rooms.

And I will definitely will say to Kristiina about your appreciation of her efforts!
Anyway - we will fix our small mistakes - and welcome you back to inspect us again! =))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have just returned from a four night stay in Tallinn at the St. Barbara. The hotels exterior was pleasant and its' location was terrific, just over the road from Freedom Square - which is reached by an underpass around 25 meters from the hotel door. The old town of Tallinn is quite small so we found staying at the St Barbara an excellent choice for reaching all the sights and those further afield from the old town. My husband, my friends and I all found the service both efficient and courteous. Staff were happy to look up information for us and made us feel welcome.
The breakfast was lovely, lots of choice and all the food was really fresh. There was an exciting choice of bread and again this was beautifully fresh.
The rooms were small and basic but were clean and fine as just a place to lay our heads.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Ok the location is excellent for sightseeing, the rooms are fine although a bit basic and the breakfast is good.

But...

On my last morning I found an unconscious man lying in the corridor outside my room.
I immediately went to reception to report this.
The young man said he hadn't noticed him because he couldn't see the CCTV screens from his desk!
It could have been me lying there.
He then said he'd check it out when he had finished the paperwork he was on.
Added to that there was the guest who used his key to walk into my room while I was resting.
Safety not a concern :-(

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StBarbaraManager, General Manager at Hotell St. Barbara, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Donnieitaly. Thank you for your concern.
The man on the floor was very drunk, as well as the next day and day before. And our receptionist knew it since he helped him to go upstairs earlier this morning. That's why our administrator was not in hurry. But I agree with you HE SHOULD BE ANYWAY! Even if he had another guests paying with credit card and checking out at this moment. Those guests also was in a hurry to get to their flight.

According to video (which I sent to you) you just didn't close the door of you room with door lock and another guest twice opened it in 20 seconds. We have labels in english on room doors advising our guest to close door since it do not happened automatically.

But any way thank you for your concern once more. I've talked to our receptionist and told him that the human safety and health is No. 1 priority. I'm sorry we make you feel unsafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotell St. Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell St. Barbara

Address: Roosikrantsi 2a, Tallinn 10119, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotell St. Barbara 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St. Barbara is centrally located within the walking distance of Tallinn Old Town, sightseeings and of course shopping centres. Our massive historical limestone walls conceal 53 spacious and well lit guestrooms with high ceilings and beautiful large windows. There are special rooms for people with allergies as well as those who prefer to travel with their beloved pets. Families are accommodated in very spacious family rooms which fit both extra beds for older children and baby cots. There is a mini-bar in the room at your service and wireless internet covering the entire hotel. We also have a guest computer at the reception if needed.We welcome you to our German-style restaurant, where we also have two chambers for business after-hours or private gatherings. Hotel guests can enjoy complimentary wireless internet and parking in the hotel parking area. Hotel St. Barbara is also considered to be one of the most beautiful limestone buildings in Tallinn, designed by architect Bernhard and has a very interesting history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hotell St. Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell St. Barbara Hotel Tallinn
Hotell St Barbara Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotell St. Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.