We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the city center but it needs some attention” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Maestro's

Save Saved
You added Old Town Maestro's to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Town Maestro's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Suur-Karja St, Tallinn 10140, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“In the city center but it needs some attention”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The entrance to the hotel was a narrow passage into a staircase and a small elevator. I took the elevator up to the second floor and the reception area. The area was quite busy when I arrived and there was only one woman behind the reception desk. I started by saying that I would cancel my 2nd night and that didn’t seem to go positive in her mind even though she charged me full for the night.

She was more than busy with her friend staying next to me at the counter but she finally took time to give me a key to my room that was located on the same floor as the reception. It was a funny way to reach the room, I was passing so many corners in getting there that I thought that I was walking in circles.

I finally reached my room and found it quite dull with its dark colors and view towards the backyard. The room had a double bed but the quality was not the best. The walls were cover with green-grey broad striped wallpaper that gave the room a gloomier look than classy that they probably had hoped for. The carpet was dark grey and looked quite dirty, but I am sure that it was a clean as it could get but time and loads of spilled drinks and dirty shoes had made its effort to destroy it. The bathroom was okay size but it was quite boring but functional enough.

I didn’t stay long before I left the hotel to find a parking space for my car and the hotel recommended that I parked at the public parking under the square that was located only 300 meters away.

I came back around 1 am and I hardly could enter the street because there was a street party going on from one of the neighboring bars. There were 10-15 people standing in the narrow doorway to the hotel but they all stepped apart when I was going for the entrance. I guess that some could feel intimidated by the shire fact that there were loads of drunken people in front of your hotel entrance but the youngsters behaved quite nicely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street - especially Friday and Saturday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    86
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
31
54
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Our experience was mainly positive.

Location is very good in the heart of the Old Town Tallinn. At least our room was very spacious, huge even, but the rooms are different to each other - its an old house turned in to a hotel.The room was non-smoking but at some point in history the smoking had been allowed and there was a dull stench of cigarettes long gone. The room was clean though, and the bathtube was big enough for too not-so-small people.

Even though the hotel was in the middle of the Old town, it was quiet at night. The noises from the bars on the street level did not botherus in the fifth floor, but I'm sure those in the first floor can easily be bothered by them.

The staff speaks english, even though there were some problems in communicating .

Hotel has a lift, but still it cannot not be recommended for those with difficulties getting around. In each floor there are still couple of stairs to climb. In addition, the lift is so small that e.g. a bigger baby buggy or rollator/walker cannot fit in to it. Breakfast room was small and there was no high chair available. The breakfast was avarage.

Room Tip: If you want to go to sleep early, ask for rooms in upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have nothing what so ever to compain about, Old Town Meastro's had everything I expected and more from a three star hotel: spacious clean nice rooms, friendly and helpful staff and a fantastic location right in Tallinn's old town and close to the opera house (where we saw "Swan Lake"). My partner and I were very impressed by the breakfast, given that it's only a three star hotel. Our room faced the inner courtyard and was thus spared from disturbing noises coming from the restaurants and bars on the street outside. We payed €52 for a double room (none refundable), which it think is fantastic value! I will, without a doubt, strongly consider staying here during my next visit to Tallinn!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard are quieter, for example room 303.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakskov, Denmark
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel is within walking distance of one of the airport bus stops (Vabaduse Sq). It is also right next to the city centre and the town hall square. The hotel is nice and clean and the staff friendly.
We had a charming room facing the courtyard, and it was fairly quiet. The hotel is surrounded by bars and nightclubs, so noise could probably be a problem in some of the rooms facing the street. We always returned to the hotel no later than 22.30 hrs. at which time the partying had not really started yet.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street - unless you are part of the party scene yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel is nice looking, room is huge and quite clean and the location is great, if you don't mind the disco noises. But the breakfast was fiasco. Everything run out and the staff was unwilling to refill the table. We had to ask for everything and when they brought something it run out immediately, for example juice was refilled few glasses per time. When warm dishes run out they were not refilled at all. We felt like we were not welcome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel is not the ritz, but it is great value for money right in the old town in Tallinn.
I would recommend the hotel for ashore break in Tallinn without hesitation.
We paid about £60 per night for bed and breakfast and were pleasantly surprised to find a clean and tidy hotel with caring staff.
The views from our room 405 was pretty poor as it looked onto the building behind but this is not unusual in and city centre type hotel. The room was pretty big with a nice bathroom so made a good place to get back to after pounding the cobbled streets of Tallinn for hours on end.
Would definitely recommend it at the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Just spent a few days at the Maestro, as others have said it's not a bad hotel the room was very large and clean . However the room was on the fifth floor at the front and it;s very noisy the giveaway were the earplugs on the bedside table, the breakfast was what you would expect but with not much choice, bread, cheese,cold meats and the hot choices were not hot.
Nevertheless for the price I would stay there again and it's location is great, but id definitely ask for a room at the back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Town Maestro's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Maestro's

Address: 10 Suur-Karja St, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Town Maestro's 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Boutique Hotel Old Town Maestro’s is housed in a 15th-century building right in the heart of Tallinn’s Old Town. It offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi and a seating area. All rooms at the Boutique Old Town are classically furnished and decorated with warm colurs. Each comes with satellite TV, a minibar and a safe. All have a bathroom with a hairdryer.A varied buffet breakfast is served every day in the dining room. Guests can relax with a drink at the 24-hour lobby bar.Front desk staff is available 24 hours a day and can assist with luggage storage and car rental service. For an additional price guests can relax in a large rooftop sauna.Boutique Hotel Old Town Maestro’s is situated 200 meters from Raekoja Plats and the City Hall. City’s main railway station, the Balti Jaam is just 750 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Orbitz, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Old Town Maestro's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Maestro`s Hotel Tallinn
Old Town Maestros Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town Maestro's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.