We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay while in tallinn for 2 days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Maestro's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Old Town Maestro's to your Saves list
Old Town Maestro's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Suur-Karja St, Tallinn 10140, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great stay while in tallinn for 2 days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

stayed here for 2 nights and it was everything i needed.
the room i was given at the back(always ask for the rooms at the back!) was a big double with a nice big bathroom and big-ish comfy bed.
breakfast was decent enough , although they had no butter (!?) and the hot food was lukewarm at best.
the staff were very friendly and helpful with suggestions for places to go.
a nice stay in a nice hotel in a lovely city. I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back. the front has a strip club underneath, which must be a nightmare at week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    100
    32
    6
    2
See reviews for
33
66
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Arrived thurs night during a very hot spell. rear room very good. Large room, bed and bathroom, big bath. Had to have the windows open as no a/c. That in it'self was not a problem. Night clubs next door and across the street have late night clients "living it up" until 5/6 in the morning.The one next door has a smoking area out the back. No one speaks any more, shouting is the norm. Result --- not a lot of sleep, on any of the 4 nights we were there. Earplugs are a must.
Breakfast was very good lots of choice. Staff ok. Hotel is 50 yards from main square.

Room Tip: Try for an a/c room. But take earpugs anyway because the noise is very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Giorgio Ionico
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I had to go to Tallin for a business trip and my partner suggested me this hotel as a "good value, even if not luxury, accommodation".
The Old Town Maestro Hotel is in a XVI century building in the heart of Tallin's old town, UNESCO world heritage.
Bars, restaurants, bakerys and, of course, the most important cultural attractions are just steps away from the hotel.
The reception is at the 2nd floor and the clerks were always VERY helpful, available and friendly.
They gave me and my wife a room at the 5th floor: very spacious, as the restroom, but the floor and the furnitures need to be "refreshed".
Unfortunately Tallinn's weather during my stay was very hot and the A/C was off for the entrire duration. I asked the clerks why and they replied that it is a municipal rule.
Enough the breakfast quality, but a little bit poor the choice.
Useful complimentary gadget: ear corks to avoid to be awaken by the noisy night people... :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

This hotel is perfectly situated a couple of hundred yards from the main town hall square. The rooms are large and we heard no external noise at all. TV reception (on an antiquated set) was poor, and there were no in-room tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast is varied and plentiful, though the "hot" items could benefit from a couple more nightlights under them. All staf were friendly and helpful. All in all an excellent city break choice with just a few minor niggles.

Room Tip: To avoid noise ask for a high room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

This was my husband's Christmas present to me. I've been to Tallin before, but never been able to stay in the Old Town. This hotel is just round the corner from the Town Square. Fab. Well, no, it was not. We arrived on Friday 3rd Dec at 21.30. We were met with te glib statement that there was no room for us. They were "vey sorry, had a large party in" So we had no room. They moved us to a hotel outside the Old Town area, They said 10 minutes walk. It wasn't it took 25 minutes and involved crossing several main roads. The next day we went back to Old Maestro to see if a room had become available. The receptionist said 'no' and openly told us that there were six more rooms that were 'double booked' on that day too. Management was unavailable. They didn't seem to care. We wonder if this is a scam that they are running! The City Hotel where we were sent was awful, it has never been reviewd on Trip Advisor - yet! Rooms shabby, no drawers or wardrobe. Bathroom like a cupboard, Room not serviced, we cleaned it & made the beds ourselves. There were some 'strange' types hanging around the lobby??? And the place had an unpleasant smell. Needless to say, breakfast was poor.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Husband's birthday celebrated in Tallinn. Lived in the hotel Old Town Maestro's. Lived in a room on the fourth floor. Booked a room on the fourth floor on purpose, as they were with the child. Worried that would interfere with recreation located nearby strip bar. Pleased with the hotel location in the heart of Old Town. The hotel itself is located in a historic building. The rooms are spacious, in addition to two standard beds, there was a sofa bed. Is very clean, the bathroom has everything you need: hair dryer, soap, shower gel. Particularly pleased with breakfasts, hearty, delicious meals, the staff did not have time to serve, had to wait for the coffee. Good budget hotel, I recommend it to a stop on the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford OR
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We had a problem with our reservation at another hotel and had no place to stay. We were booked into the Old Town Maestro for three nights. We saw from the reviews that there was noise from the bars surrounding it, but thought we could tolerate it. The rooms are large, bathrooms with tubs, and the staff are great. The bars around the hotel were very loud, they had earplugs in the rooms, however that was not the problem, it was a smoking room. My wife has allergies and she could not stay there. The next morning we went to the desk and told them we had to check out. The person at the desk said that we would have to pay for the night we stayed and the bank would return the three nights we had paid for as a credit. We though that was a little scary. We paid and checked out. They were super nice and understanding. The money was credited as promised. If you like music and don't mind the smoke, I reccomend this hotel. It is in the middle of old town and accessible to some great restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Town Maestro's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Maestro's

Address: 10 Suur-Karja St, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Town Maestro's 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Boutique Hotel Old Town Maestro’s is housed in a 15th-century building right in the heart of Tallinn’s Old Town. It offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi and a seating area. All rooms at the Boutique Old Town are classically furnished and decorated with warm colurs. Each comes with satellite TV, a minibar and a safe. All have a bathroom with a hairdryer.A varied buffet breakfast is served every day in the dining room. Guests can relax with a drink at the 24-hour lobby bar.Front desk staff is available 24 hours a day and can assist with luggage storage and car rental service. For an additional price guests can relax in a large rooftop sauna.Boutique Hotel Old Town Maestro’s is situated 200 meters from Raekoja Plats and the City Hall. City’s main railway station, the Balti Jaam is just 750 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your Old Town Maestro's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Maestro`s Hotel Tallinn
Old Town Maestros Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town Maestro's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.