We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn

Save Saved
You added Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Endla 23, Tallinn 10122, Estonia (Formerly Uniquestay Mihkli Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
Randers
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Nice, bright hotel. 10 minutes walk from old town. Nice airy room. Warm in the winther with free Glögg :-) 2 pillows to choose from.

Good service. We had Zen room, which was worth the extra money. Good breakfast, allthough it was the same every day for 5 days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    116
    69
    18
    6
See reviews for
35
138
32
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just got back from a new years trip to Tallinn. Had a lovely time at the Hotel Kreutzwald. I too booked the standard room which was small- I booked a single room, and thats exactly what I got. However I coulod not complain about the temperature- that was fine. The shower was superb. The wifi worked fine- I have been listening to BBC 4 extra over my laptop all trip. Breakfast was plentiful and for £50 a night including breakfast 2 stops on the bus from freedom square, what more could you ask?? And on New Years Eve, after we had failed to find a restaurant for our last meal, the receptionist got us in at Mix Fusion Restaurant, so cheers for all your help

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Kreutzwald for three nights. I was not expecting anything marvelous, but when we arrived at the hotel we were treated as in a 5 star hotel. The receptionist was very helpful and spent 15 minuetes to answer all our questions and help us get around in town. Breakfast was plentiful an also the zen room we stayed in was spacious and warm even though it was rather cold outside. On one evening we went to the hotels restaurant. The atmosphere was quite nice and the service swift. We ordered meat on a lava stone which was delicious and also a good experience for me. Overall I would love to stay there another time also.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked this hotel after visiting Talliinn two years ago and staying at the Hotel L'Hermitage. We expected since this is a 4-star hotel for it to be nicer than the previous one. We were wrong.
It was not a bad hotel but I was angry as soon as we reached our tiny room. We just booked a Standard room, so I don't know about the more expensive rooms, but our room was small, freezing cold, and had two beds shoved together as their "double bed." The one bed had springs that sunk pretty badly as well. The bathroom never got warmer and the rest of the room barely did with the -14 C weather outside and the teeny tiny heating system for the room. There was a space heater you could hook up.
The advertised wifi did not exist, though there was a computer in the room that did only the internet. The TV was old and small and had an odd assortment of channels.
The breakfast was really nice though one morning we were questioned about being there because we had our coats with us and were wearing jeans.
Overall, I would not stay here again. There are much nicer 3-star hotels in the area that are closer to the Old Town, like the Hotel L'Hermitage, and the room we stayed in was solidly 3-star quality. I found it very frustrating that apparently if you put a bottle of 17 Euro wine in a room you can call your self a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over last weekend with my gf. We spent the whole Saturday out in the old town and center shopping and just looking around. After coming back to hotel, I did feel a bit run out and thought I had got cold. We decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant, witch was really cosy and nice. We ordered meet on hot stone ( I think it was called lava stone). I had never had anything like it, but it was a nice surprise. Taste was good and it arrived very fast! As I wasn´t a very good company, my gf asked to get some spa treatments. She spent the sunday morning in the spa and was very satisfied. I also liked bath in the room. It was great after cold weather and being outside for a long time. Alltogether a great experience, despite my cold :).

Room Tip: Choose on with the bath, it was great!:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Staying at this hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of December was a pleasant experience, although it is located at some distance from the Old Town.
As it had been snowing over a period of several days and the pathways had not been cleared, it became a good 20 minute walk to he centre of town.
The hotel was very warm and the rooms cosy and spotlessly clean with extremely comfortable beds. As has been said in previous reviews, rooms at the front of the hotel are a little noisy due to the hotel being situated on a main road, so if this would bother you then ask for a room at the rear. A PC in the room was a nice touch.
Breakfast was plentiful and varied and there is something to cover all tastes.
Other than breakfast, I did not eat in the restaurant so cannot comment on the food served, but a Brazilian themed restaurant did seem a bit of a peculiarity in Estonia!
This would probably have been a good hotel to choose to stay at during the warmer months when noise at night in the Old Town would be an issue, but with hindsight I would have chosen a more centrally located hotel at this time of year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uniquehotels, Member of the Board at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
thanks for your review , I can confirm the paths in the city are now cleared! the heavy snow took everybody by suprise , and we are now less then a 10 minute walk from the old town again.

We have recently regulated all the windows on the street facing side , with the fitment of new rubber gaskets to the windows. They are much better now. The hotel is still much much quieter than the hotels near or in the busy old town , some of which issue rubber ear plugs to guests who cannot sleep, so there are benefits being a little bit away.
We are changing the concept of the Brazilian restaurant next year to a Nordic , Estonian restaurant, but it remains still a popular choice especially for the local Estonians and Scandinavians as the steaks are great quality and value.

regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rauma, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Staff was friendly, room otherwise clean but the dust on top of the wardrobe was clearly visible. We had a room with a jacuzzi, that was nice. We liked a lot that the room had a computer for guest use and free wifi.

A big minus for the room service lunch we ordered from the restaurant - it took a very very long time, had cooled by the time we got it and the bottom of the sandwich was almost black, burned. Yuck.

Location was fine, just a short walking distance from the Old Town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uniquehotels, Member of the Board at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Cara , many thanks for your review and your positive and not so positive experience.. Please can you let me know which room you stayed in and the dates? I was horrified to hear about the dust problem and the delay in the rooms service order and would like to find out more to resolve this issue.

could you send me a message to Paul@uniquestay.com?
thanks
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn

Address: Endla 23, Tallinn 10122, Estonia (Formerly Uniquestay Mihkli Hotel)
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#8 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#22 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a historical limestone building and was completed in 1953, the same period the State Library was named after Friedrich Reinhold Kreutzwald, an outstanding public figure of the National Awakening Period of Estonia in the 19th century and the author of the Estonian national epic poem, “Kalevipoeg“.The hotel recently completed a throughout renovation, which has retained the buildings’ historical authenticity and at the same time added a firm measurement of innovative design and modern comfort to the historical ambience.After the renovation the hotel now has a total of 75 comfortable and stylish rooms and suites: 51 standard rooms, 17 ZEN rooms, and 7 ZEN suites.You can enjoy our Unigue Breakfast at the remarkable Nipernaadi Restaurant, which is also open for all day fine dining, casual meals and drinks.You can indulge yourself at our newly opened ZEN SPA with private saunas, party room with Jacuzzi and experience a variety of different vitalizing and juvenating massages and body treatments.Or relax in the Kreutzwald Restaurant & Library Lounge with a delightful pot of tea and a good book from the library.And in the summer you can enjoy the atmosphere of the Summer Terrace – an exiting oasis in middle of the city.Your home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uniquestay Mihkli Tallinn
Hotel Uniquestay Mihkli

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.