We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, bad bathroom” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn to your Saves list
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Endla 23, Tallinn 10122, Estonia (Formerly Uniquestay Mihkli Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BOTTLE OF WINE
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Spokane wa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good hotel, bad bathroom”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Nice property about 15 minutes walk from the old town. The good: Very nice lobby, outstanding breakfast, great staff. My wife was treated to a massage and facial at their spa and said it was outstanding. I had the standard room, fairly small but good size for a couple. Very comfortable, large pillow topped bed with 4 good pillows. The room comes with a computer and free internet access. The computer is small and runs a shareware operating system so internet is the only use.

The bad:; computer take up most of the desk and almost all the plugs. If you travel with your own computer, you must move the desk to plug it in. Same for anything else you are trying to plug in. I asked for an iron and board on the first day. Given an iron but told no boards were available forcing me to iron on the crowded desk.

The ugly: The bathroom is very, very small. The toilet is literally wedged between the sink and the wall, next to the heated towel rack. If you sit on it, you have to turn slightly sideways just to fit and avoid the hot towel rack. The shower (no tub) is in the corner on the other side of the sink. No base, no glass, just a wrap around shower curtain, allowing water to escape from the bottom and soak the floor. They do provide two bath mats to soak up the water, but it is a really poor design.

Overall, fine hotel but I would not stay in a standard room again. Consider the cost of an upgraded room or the suites when comparing price.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    198
    89
    22
    9
See reviews for
58
216
43
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

just stayed at this hotel and i have to say it was fabulous. zen room was perfect with everything we needed to have a romantic getaway. the area was quiet but perfectly located, just 10min walk from main square. staff was also friendly and helpful. aitah!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I was staying only 1 night at the Kreutzwald but it was really an excellent stay! VERY friendly personnel, clean room, all commodities like (free) wireless internet, excellent restaurant, what else do you want? I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good deal in Tallinn

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The location is outside the old town (a short 5 minute walk away). This is not really much to complain about but once you walked back to the hotel there was nothing nearby (bars, restaurants etc) which means it felt more isolated than it really was.

The prices in the minibar and the hotel bar were expensive compared to the rest of Tallinn so the isolation was noticeable if you wanted a nightcap. Also the restaurant/bar was hardly charming but rather boring (and in the mornings rather noisy even if there were few people there). The breakfast was unoriginal - but you didnt have to go hungry.

My room was large (a double) but the bathroom really needed to be updated.

This is a very boring review, but then again it was a really boring hotel. If I hadn't been there for work I would have gone somewhere else.

Free wifi was nice and worked, actually Tallinn was surprisingly wifi friendly with lots of free/open hotspots.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Member of the Board at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Hello,
thanks for your review , i am sorry we did not live up to your expectations. Yes we are 5 mins away from the town but if you had walked 500 metres in the other direction there is the new Kristiina centre which is the largest city centre shopping mall with plentiful restaurants , bars shops, nightclubs etc etc, so I am sorry you did not find this or ask for any advice.

Our room prices reflect our location is not in the old town (which is unbelievably noisy!)

anyway thanks for the comments , we will try and think of a better way to promote the centre next door
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We were greeted at his hotel by a young girl who immediately told us first thing "I don't think the rooms are ready yet" whithout even checking what type of rooms we had ordered (of course they were not ready (it was 11a.m.)). When we came back at 3pm we asked for a zen room in the back as a previous review mentioned it was better. The same girl that greeted us earlier gave us a 07 room but she did not know on which side it was !! (I checked odd numbers in front, even in the back: so diificult to learn!). As i insisted for a room in the back we were of course told: "we are fully booked" and we got that awful room on the second floor without the amenities of the other floors and the noise from the street. So, with that kind of service and quality of hotel, I regret to say that there are far better choices closer to the old city in Tallinn.

Room Tip: High floor in the back only!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uniquehotels, Member of the board at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
hello, thanks for your review. I must clarify some things. The receptionist would have know your room was not ready as house keeping update the system when rooms are finished, it was 11 am, so i do not think she was guessing. check in time is 2.pm which is advised at the time of booking ,as with most hotels , and the hotel was full the previous night. You tried to change the room after you had checked in to a zen room but as we were full we could not allocate a room, there is absolutley nothing that we can do about that , and I recommend to pre book a specific room ie our popular zen rooms if you would like one especially in tis busy summer season. You mention nothing else really about the hotel so I hope as other reviewers you had a nice time.
I am sorry the receptionist did not know which side the room was , she has just started and we are all human, she is not rude I believe and is very friendly and merely trying to inform you of the situation. I understand you did not raise this issue during your stay and allowed us to explain the situation. We always try to do our best but this time unfortunately our hands were tied on this occasion. I have sent you a private message so I can discuss this with you further. W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester Uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The hotel room has everything you need even had a PC in the room which i did ues and a bubble bathtub.
The staff is helpful and polite..I cant say nothing negative to say about this hotel or its staff.
The hotel is max 15 min stroll away from the old town. if you cannot walk that you can always get a taxi or a trolly bus i just strolled it. The airport bus is about a 700 yards away so no needed to get there taxi as at the time we stayed 4 June 2012 it was 20 euro for the taxi but the bus only 2 euro
The bar in the hotel closed at 11 pm

Room Tip: Ues the Airport buss tell the driver where you staying he dropted us on the corner saving a 200 yard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in ZEN-room, mole in bathroom, otherwise ok, staff ok, brekafast not so good. The Brasilian restaurant is awful, uneatable food, if you want to eat go to Chinese restaurant next to the hotel. Hotel is highly over prized.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uniquehotels, Member of the Board at Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Hello, I am really sorry to hear what you experienced, I have messaged you for more details , please respond.
The hotel has only been refurbished recently , and we have very good comments generally about the cleanliness of the hotel ,so i am surprised you found some mold in the bathroom! I really need to check this and I would like the room number please.
Re the breakfast , we have cold cuts, herrings and salmon, vegetables ,cheese(a selection) fresh warm bread, pastries , sausages , bacon, potatoes , cereals, fruits egg, scrambled and boiled, porridge , Jams , the list goes on..... what exactly were you missing, please let me know.
The Casa do Brazil has also been completely renovated and we have a fresh new menu which we have recieved since the relaunch in March only fantastic reviews, I am eager to find out what happened of course, and why we failed to deliver on this occasion. We have just been awarded a certificate of excellence from Tripadvisor so we take this feedback very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#22 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
0.4 mi away
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#18 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
#40 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.9 mi away
Taanilinna Hotell
Taanilinna Hotell
#25 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.6 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn

Address: Endla 23, Tallinn 10122, Estonia (Formerly Uniquestay Mihkli Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a historical limestone building and was completed in 1953, the same period the State Library was named after Friedrich Reinhold Kreutzwald, an outstanding public figure of the National Awakening Period of Estonia in the 19th century and the author of the Estonian national epic poem, “Kalevipoeg“.The hotel recently completed a throughout renovation, which has retained the buildings’ historical authenticity and at the same time added a firm measurement of innovative design and modern comfort to the historical ambience.After the renovation the hotel now has a total of 75 comfortable and stylish rooms and suites: 51 standard rooms, 17 ZEN rooms, and 7 ZEN suites.You can enjoy our Unigue Breakfast at the remarkable Nipernaadi Restaurant, which is also open for all day fine dining, casual meals and drinks.You can indulge yourself at our newly opened ZEN SPA with private saunas, party room with Jacuzzi and experience a variety of different vitalizing and juvenating massages and body treatments.Or relax in the Kreutzwald Restaurant & Library Lounge with a delightful pot of tea and a good book from the library.And in the summer you can enjoy the atmosphere of the Summer Terrace – an exiting oasis in middle of the city.Your home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uniquestay Mihkli Tallinn
Hotel Uniquestay Mihkli

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.