We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tallink Express Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tallink Express Hotel to your Saves list
Tallink Express Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sadama 9, Tallinn 10111, Estonia (Formerly Reval Inn Tallinn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location and price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great location for visiting the old town. The hotel check-in was efficient, the lady was very polite and courteous. Room was just what you paid for, clean ensuite shower room, plenty of room in the bedroom, with BBC world service, what more can you ask from a budget hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink Express Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Hannu K,
Thank you for choosing Tallink Express Hotel for your stay in Tallinn!
Nice to know, that everything was just as expected.

Best Regards,
Siim Ojaver
FOM
Tallink Express hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    109
    59
    18
    5
See reviews for
38
67
36
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TALLINN
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Good location normal qualitity with reasonable price! Just for me. The hotel is not very personal. So it is to fullfill basic needs for travellers. I come back!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Tallink Express is a very nice basic hotel near the port. The rooms are nice, the desk clerks were helpful, and the breakfast was good. The "Fat Margaret" entrance to old town is an easy 15 minute walk. When walking to old town you'll also cross tram and bus stops, so transportation options are very close.


Right next door is the Aqua Spa, an upscale Tallink hotel. It is worth visiting the spa and you can inexpensively use the many pools and saunas for a couple of hours. There are also many modern restaurants, clubs, and stores near the hotel, so you can purchase most anything you'd need.


Another "plus" is that the old Soviet designed and built concert hall is next to the Tallink Express hotel. That monstrosity is really worth a look!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Booked a one night trip. This hotel was what i expected it to be, just ok. Ok room, ok breakfast. Location is ok to the ferry but long walk to the old town. Reception was very slow as only one person was serving all the guests and we waited a long time for our turn.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

was nice, but there was no air-conditioning, and it was very hot. Breakfast was ok, there was not many options but for this price hotel it was ok.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I was visiting this hotel with my mother for a short 3 day vacation, it was a hotel package from Tallink, the same company that owns this hotel, price was reasonable and the hotel room was everything we expected for the price, nothing more nothing less.

According to Tallink this was a 3-star hotel, even though tripadvisor states it as a 2 star hotel.

Experience we had was fairly good, when we arrived in the reception we were well welcomed and guided to our room. We got 2 keycards that we needed to get to our room which was in the third floor. A keycard was also required to get to the elevator, which was the only way to move between different floors, as the stairways was sealed. So we felt quite safe, eventhough when hotel guests leaved the elevator uninvited guests could still just jump right in it.

Hotel was well situated near the docks, so we had the time to see more tallinn then never before even though i have being there many times, this was the first time i get to see it wery well, we travelled by walking and as the weather was perfect we had a splendid time.

Hotel rooms were clean, yes they were a bit outdated and worn but it was good enough for the money we paid. I think it was fine enough for just 2 nights stay. Personally i wouldn't consider this accommodation if i was staying there for one week or longer, this is because the beds were litle uncomfortable, we even met a maid in the elevator who was carrying a broken bed frame. There was also birds singing outside, so it was a bit disturbing, other guests were also complaining about this at the breakfast table.

Breakfast was modest and even though it was served till 10am, i would recommend for you to get up extra early or you end up eating scraps, the dining room was always full and it seemed that there was not enough room or food for all the hotel guests, at the last morning we stayed there, they ran out of cake, but since i got the last piece of it ! It was no worries for me. Still considering that breakfest was included in the price, i think it was fairly good.

They had a storage room for bags, which was nice since check out time was 12:00 and our boat leaved 19:30, that way we could stroll out on the streets without worrying about our luggages, although we were surprised that they didn't check any id's when we retrieved our luggage, we sure had the receipt with us and we knew where our luggages were, but it was still strange, they just said: "it is ok".

I would definitely recommend this hotel as a cheap accommodation for a short trip, 2-3 days, but for any longer and more comfortable stay, i would recommend Tallink's own Spa or City hotel.

Room Tip: Get up extra early for the breakfast or you end up eating scraps
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We went to the hotel to find out that it was overbooked in the middle of the night after a long bus ride from Riga. But they have given us taxi vouchers, and sent us to Tallink City Hotel which is abetter one and upgraded our rooms to suites. I think they have done all they can under the circumstances. Tallink city hotel was very nice with good location, but the breakfast was very crowded.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tallink Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallink Express Hotel

Address: Sadama 9, Tallinn 10111, Estonia (Formerly Reval Inn Tallinn)
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tallink Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel in the center of the city, ideal base for exploring the Old Town; convenient for business and leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tallink Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tallink Express
Tallink Express Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tallink Express Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.