We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Located Hotel with all needs......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PK Ilmarine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added PK Ilmarine Hotel to your Saves list
PK Ilmarine Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Located Hotel with all needs......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Returning for the second time to Domina Inn Illmarine.

This Hotel is located just 5min walking from the old town. It is close to the sea and pleasant to have some walks and to discover also the outside less touristic part of tallin.
But if you want, you are near the shopping malls 10min. walking

The Hotel is offering a nice breakfast in the morning, but is also very pleasant to have a lunch or a diner. The Service is very friendly.
Also there are nice small restaurants located nearby where you can have lunch.

The hotel is close to the Tallink boat where you can go for a daytrip to Helsinki(Finland)
15min/20min walk or you can take a taxi.

The look of the hotel is having the combination of industrial and modern. And is having an authentique look.

In the Hotel you can take use of the private sauna and bubbelbath for a small fee. The hotel is also having a fitness that is private and you can use for free. In the hotel is a beautysalon located where you can have nice massages and facials.

The rooms look net and clean and with the cold in tallin you can put the heating to have a comfortable stay in your room. It is just right for what you need. furniture is net and the bathroom looks oke. The good thing is that in some of the rooms you have a small kitchen were you can prepare yourself something fast when you feel like and some of the rooms are having a double floor, which makes your stay even more comfortable.
especially when you are with a group.

Nice hotel to spend your time in tallin.
With your love ones or even with a group of friends.

The managment is very nice and makes your stay comfortable and pleasant.

I will definitly return to this hotel. :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Dear W0rldTraveller1983,

Thank you for the good comments on Domina Inn Ilmarine! Your feedback is essential to us in our work towards better service. We are glad you enjoyed the time in our restaurant, sauna, and the beauty salon, and had a wonderful day trip to Helsinki. Hopefully, we can expect you back here in the future :) More than welcome, benvenuti!

With warm greetings from Tallinn

Eve Peeterson
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    309
    90
    24
    18
See reviews for
78
272
52
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Stayed here with a group of friends. Hotel provided everything that we needed. Location is about 5-10 minutes walk from the old town attractions and nightlife. Found the hotel to be quiet and good value for money.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Dear skip007,

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Domina Inn Ilmarine, and that you found it to be good value for money. Your comments will help us offer even better service in the future. We are looking forward to welcoming you back here! Benvenuti!

With kindest regards

Eve Peeterson
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We went several times to this hotel, located in an ancient industrial building. This is really a good place to stay, whith great accomodation. The breakfast is excellent, the bar very good and the rooms very comfortable. And the price is really valuable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Dear ladydi94,

Thank you for your positive comments! We are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay and will warmly welcome you back to Domina Ilmarine :)

With kindest greetings from Tallinn,

Eve Peeterson
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Clean and basic but compared to other hotels we've stayed in in Estonia (we go there 3 times a year) this one wasn't any better than the 2 or 3 star ones. Temperature control didn't work in the first room we were given and it was very cold. After complaining they said they will send someone out to have a look at it and they never did. The next day after we complained again, the receptionist checked our room and said it must be us not turning it on properly. That didn't solve the problem because it was broken. So 2 days after staying in the cold room we demanded a new room, which was ok (however the aircon wasn't working in that room).
Breakfast wasn't too bad, but we've had better. We think they sometimes put yesterday's food out because the potatoes and sausages were dry and a bit burnt some days.
The location isn't far from the old town but not perfect, specially in winter because the paths close to the hotel were not cleared of snow properly.
We didn't use the private sauna because in a nearby 4 star hotel (Tallink Spa) there was an excellent spa with loads of good saunas and swimming pools which was actually cheaper!
We were expecting a bit of luxury but were really disappointed with the stay in this 4 star hotel. They should review their rating or do some maintenance work.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Dear Maria1985,

Thank you for your comments on Domina Inn Ilmarine! Your feedback is essential in doing the necessary improvements in the future.

As to the temperature control, it should be possible to turn it up and down manually from the room, but in case you had problems, it would be very helpful if could state the room number you stayed in so we can take another look at it and also talk with the maintenance as to why they could not fix it.
I am sorry there was no one there to help you as soon as necessary. I know that on the dates you stayed in the hotel, we were fully booked, so there were probably limited options for room change. We will see all the rooms with our maintenance to make sure the heaters are OK in all of them.
After having a word with the restaurant manager, I have confirmation that there is always fresh food displayed every morning, but it can happen that towards the end of breakfast some of the items can look a bit dry in the heaters. They will anyway do their best to improve the quality in the future to avoid such experiences.
Private saunas tend to be more expensive per hour in general than common ones, and I am glad you found the solution that suited you best.

In hopes of improving your memory of our hotel, I would gladly send you a bottle of premium champagne to compensate for the inconveniences caused. In this case I would ask you to send the recipient address to the e-mail eve@dominahotels.ee

Looking forward to your reply
With warmest greetings from Tallinn,

Eve Peeterson
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

I stayed at the hotel from 07/12/2010 - 10/12/2010 on a city break and found the hotel to be very nice buit especially the staff who were frkiendly and very helpful. We has a few problems with the weather (heavy snow) resulting in the checking of the departure flight which the receiptionist was more than happy to assist us with by ring the airport and checking on flight information.

The room was great, very warm and had everything that you would want in the for of a mini bar, safe, very deep bath, plentyful towels and toiletries. The breakfast had a choice of hot and cold buffet and the restaurant meals were well presented, affordable and very tasty. The hotel is situated to the north of the old town wall but is only about a 10 minute walk away from the main square. Overall we enjoyed our experience and the accommodation and would recommend the hotel as a base for a city break.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Dear ray050,

Thank you for your positive comments! We are glad we were able to offer a memorable experience, and all guest feedback is essential to us in order to keep improving our service. You are always warmly welcome back to Domina Inn Ilmarine, benvenuti!

With kindest regards,

Eve Peeterson
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

This hotel was a nightmare.

Upon arrival, there was a huge group of tourists (about 50 or 60 people) trying to check in. We joined the end of the line to wait patiently, however the hotel had only one member of staff on duty to process this enormous bunch of people. We spent our first 30-45 minutes in Tallin waiting to check in.

We had booked their deluxe 'suite' as we were a group of three adults. These rooms are two storeys with a kitchenette, two twin beds (or one queen) and a double pull out style sofa. When we got to our room, we spent another 5 minutes trying to open the door (the suites still have not had their doors upgraded and are still using large bulky metal keys that are very fiddly. I dont think the locks have been oiled since the hotel opened). We also found the shower fixture to be broken.

When we got into our room, we found that the air-conditioning unit remote was missing and could not be turned on. The control nob to the wall unit heaters had been snapped off, and were stuck on the hottest temperature. The room was uncomfortably hot. I went to ask reception if anything could be done to redress this. They said no one was available to help today, and that we would have to wait until tomorrow.

We tried opening the windows to let some cold air in, but our room was practically on top of the main road with trucks, busses, trams and cars flying past. It was impossible to sleep with the window open.

The next day I went back to the reception desk to remedy the heating problem, again, no one was available to fix the problem until the next day. I suggested we be given a new room. The receptionist suggested that the room would not be available until later in the afternoon, and that we come back in a few hours. A few hours later I returned to pick up the keys to the new room, this new room was a downgrade from the suite we had booked and paid for, fitting three adults and luggage into this room was near impossible and would have required great flexibility! The room had one queen bed and a tiny rollaway cot, more suitable for a young child, and no kitchenette. I returned to reception to suggest that this downgrade was unacceptable and we could like a new suite.

The very rude receptionist told me that there were no other suites available, that it was the new downgraded room or our old room. I suggested this was really very poor for a "4 star" hotel, and that they could provide two (if possible) adjoining small rooms. After speaking to the manager, the rude receptionist managed to find a replacement suite available (which contradicted her statements just 10 minutes before that none were available). The room she allocated us again was also right on top of the highway (an issue we specified against in our request for relocation), she then miraculously found a second available suite! Quite a contradiction to her rude insistence earlier about the lack of availability.

Upon checking into our new suite, the fold out double bed for our third guest did not have any linens or blankets. On our way to dinner we decided to stop by the reception desk to ask if someone could make up the beds for when we return. The receptionist replied that there were no housekeeping staff in residence and that she could give me the blankets and pillows to make on my own. I dont think my expectations were astronomical in thinking in a "4 star" hotel would have to make our own beds. After questioning the ability of any of the staff to make a bed, she begrudgingly consented to having our bed made.

After moving in to the new suite, we also discovered that the room guides, restaurant menus and kitchen supplies had been missing from our original room. While the new room was a vast improvement, the shower screen door was shattered.

This hotel also charges their guests to use the sauna and gym, a little stingy for a "4 star hotel i think".

The breakfast assortment was however quite reasonable, and the location is a reasonable proximity to old town and the more modern central shopping district.

This was probably the worst hotel experience i have had, mostly because the company was misleading about the quality of the service and facilities they provide. The staff were rude and unhelpful, we really had to come up with our own solutions and instruct the staff on what to do.

The hotel should revise their rating - two and a half stars, possibly three. We were not the only people unhappy with the service, it was not uncommon to see patrons at the front desk quite unhappy.

I will never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
Dear DanielleSahra,

It is a shame to hear you were disappointed in your stay at Ilmarine, considering we usually get quite positive feedback to the service and value-for-money offered. Your comments will help us see our weak spots and address them duly.

It is true that it can get busy at the desk at times, but since we are a rather small hotel, we have found our current staffing levels sufficient so far. We will try to improve our efficiency at check-in in the future.

As to the locks, we have kept them old-fashioned in the historical part of the hotel on purpose to keep a flavour of the Wiegand machine factory that used to be in its place a century ago. The locks work as all other Abloy locks of the same type.

Temperature in rooms can be turned up and down manually - if you experienced difficulties, it would be good to know the room number you stayed at so we could send the maintenance team in and check it to avoid this in the future.

I am sorry to learn you did not get the necessary support from our staff, especially since we have received positive feedback on our reception team from our clients so far. We are keen on offering good client service and we will take this matter up to see ways of improvement.

The fitness centre is available free of charge to our clients. We do charge extra for sauna, since it is for private use, and it is a common practice in all the hotels in Tallinn.

Thank you again for your thorough comments - we will make most of it to make sure our clients have a positively memorable stay with us in the future.

If there is anything else I can do for you or any other issues to address, please feel free to contact me directly at eve@dominahotels.ee

With kindest regards from Tallinn

Eve Peeterson
Revenue Manager
Domina Inn Ilmarine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankt Petersburg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

I was very surprised by this hotel, it wasn't far from the old town and easy to get to by tram and bus from the airport. The rooms were clean and airy and very comfortable. The buffet breakfast was lovely and had a huge variety of things to choose from. Service was impeccable. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2010
Dear Client,

Thank you for your positive comments! We are grateful for all the feedback, as we are keen on improving the service and hotel facilities. You are always warmly welcome back here!

Yours,
Eve Peeterson
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#14 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
0.5 mi away
GoHotel Shnelli
GoHotel Shnelli
#29 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#28 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#18 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 854 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meriton Old Town Hotel
Meriton Old Town Hotel
#40 of 84 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#22 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PK Ilmarine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK Ilmarine Hotel

Address: Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#22 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — PK Ilmarine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a brilliant hotel experience in the heart of Tallinn. PK Ilmarine Hotel is a charming 105 rooms hotel, conveniently located near the historical UNESCO Heritage Old Town, in the culturally versatile seaside region of Tallinn. All rooms are equipped with safety-deposit box, satellite TV and telephone, bathroom with a bath or shower, hair dryer and air conditioning. You will appreciate the top-quality service of its restaurant Wiegand. Hotel additional facilities such as the on-site gym, the beauty salon, the private parking and the full Wi-Fi coverage, will make Ilmarine everything you expect from a home away from home. No matter if you are travelling alone or with a group, on business or leisure, PK Ilmarine highly committed, friendly and attentive staff will grant you the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your PK Ilmarine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Ilmarine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PK Ilmarine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.