We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PK Ilmarine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added PK Ilmarine Hotel to your Saves list
PK Ilmarine Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was the second time I've visited this hotel (the first being in December 2012) and once again I thought standards were very high.

Firstly, the hotel's location is brilliant. Just outside the old city and within walking distance of all the main attractions in Tallinn. Even the Telliskivi creative city (which is brilliant and definitely worth a visit) is walkable.

The hotel itself is modern, clean and welcoming. Staff are very polite and helpful. The rooms are a great size, very light and airy, with comfortable beds and very clean and large bathrooms.

The choice of food at breakfast was excellent. Pretty much everything you could hope for - it really filled us up for the day.

The hotel gym is quite good too. They've certainly managed to fit a lot of equipment into a small space!

My only very small criticism would be that the rooms do get a bit too hot sometimes in Winter but that's easily resolved: you can just turn the thermostat down!

Overall I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Tallinn.

Tallinn is a fantastic city with a great buzz. The city has so much to offer and I cannot praise it highly enough! I would like to come back maybe in the spring/summer next time!



  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    257
    70
    18
    13
See reviews for
62
212
44
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Skien, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Based on the good reviews for this hotel, we booked 3 nights in a standard double room in December.
Unfortunately, we were disappointed by the overall experience.
The main negative issue, was the fact that the rooms were not clean. We travel a lot and have never complained about cleanliness, but this time we asked for a new room after the first night.
The carpet was very dusty, especially between beds and at the edges. Light switch was dirty and we even found a pair of trousers from the last guest in a shelf....
This could all be bad luck, but the next room was not much better. When we moved the beds closer together, we found lot of dust on the carpet - and the most disgusting was a used, old sock under the bed.... Large stains in one of the chairs did not improve the impression.
The bathrooms were cleaned better, and were quite OK.
Breakfast was below average....
Good location, just a short walk from the old town and close to a 'Rimi' supermarket

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have returned from Tallinn this morning after spending a long weekend in this stunning capital. The hotel was truly superb and we where blown away with how beautiful the building and rooms where. We had a really cheap deal and did not expect the truly gorgeous hotel that we where given! I would recommend this hotel strongly as it is literally across the road from pikk street in the old town. Breakfast was more than filling with a great selection. Please visit in December as the hotel Christmas decorations where beautiful as was the rest of the town. Loved every minute of our Christmas trip!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik L, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Lowri221088,

Thank you for taking time to review PK Ilmarine Hotel.

We are over the moon to hear that you had a great time in Tallinn and PK Ilmarine.

We are glad that you managed to get yourself a great deal and that you found our Hotel suberb and gorgeous, with filling choice at breakfast.

Lastly, we are overjoyed that you liked the Christmas decorations in Tallinn and our Hotel.

We hope to see you again very soon!

Warm Regards,

Erik Laidma
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just back from Tallinn, a lovely compact little city. Stayed 3 nights at this hotel and i have no complaints at all. The room was clean and warm and the water hot, breakfast not to my taste but thats me not the hotel it was the usual stuff you find anywhere in Europe. The bonus is the location only 5 minutes walk from the old town. i would certainly recommend this hotel and i would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik_L_TLN, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Charlton4thecup,

Thank you for taking your time to review PK Ilmarine Hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that you found us well located, clean and warm.

In addition, we are over the moon to hear that you are happy to recommend us to your friends and family.

We wish you a warm and cosy winter and hope to see you back soon.

Regards,

Erik Laidma
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just spent four days at this hotel, it is clean and comfortable , nice lounge area and good breakfast, convenient for the port and town, staff friendly and helpful make sure that you book a double bed if required as difficult to obtain on arrival. There is only coffee/tea making facilities in the executive rooms , so if you like a drink before breakfast or during the day take something with you ,water heater /cup etc.Free Wi Fi was a bonus.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik_L_TLN, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Michael W,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent stay with PK Ilmarine.

We are over the moon to hear that you found us comfortable and clean, our staff friendly and helpful.

With regards to coffee & tea making facilities, we are looking into introducing these to all of our rooms, however for the time being, you can purchase the facilities at E3 per night, or alternatively upgrade to either business or executive class room, where these and many more facilities, such as free minibar are already included in the price.

For future reference, we recommend booking directly through our website when requesting a double bed-room as this is on a first come first serve basis.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Tallinn very soon.

Warm Regards,

Erik Laidma
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just come back from four nights in this hotel. The location is great for the old town. Beautiful old factory building.
We upgraded to an executive room, as that was the only way we could get a double bed.
The breakfast was very good, something for everyone. The hotel bar was nice for a nightcap, with helpful and friendly staff.
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik_L_TLN, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Tine1980,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback from your recent visit to Tallinn and PK Ilmarine Hotel.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at one of our Executive class rooms, where as you know you get many extra benefits, with free minibar and extra living space being couple of perks.

I've passed on the comments of our restaurant and breakfast and am confident that the great feedback will find its way around all the staff.

We hope to see you back here soon and as a tip from our side - get in contact directly with us to make sure that you get the best available rate and your room preference.

Very warm regards from white Tallinn.

Erik Laidma
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hard to find genuine fault with this snug and cosy little hotel on the edge of the old town, to be honest. Bedrooms and public areas are smart and clean and also warm (it was minus six outside!). Breakfast is fine, usual selection of cereals, cheeses, hot and cold meat, eggs, salads, beverages etc. plus the chance to sample some more local foodstuffs (black bread, herring in sauce). Reception was cheerily efficient. You can buy a Tallinn card at reception and have it validated for discounts/free transport and attraction entrance. The hotel also provides a number of free facilities that a traveller is often accustomed to having to pay for elsewhere; bedroom safe key, wifi throughout the hotel, internet PC in public area. Only minor grumble is that the cosy bar offering a very decent range of drinks and snacks closes earlier than is reasonable; 10.30pm on two of our three nights, 10pm on our last night. This is reflected in a lower rating than I really wanted to give. Still, I don't feel too guilty about doing so, as it is a minor grumble that is easily rectifiable by the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel to my family and friends and would definitely stay there again.
Fantastic bar five minutes walk from the hotel going up main old town Pikk thoroughfare is called Hell Hunt. Great range of beers and bar meals. Nice laid-back vibe. Unless you manage to drag yourself away, you could easily stay there all day, especially after dark, which at this time of year equates to about half past three in the afternoon!
Transport tip: why risk taxi rip-off to/from airport? Local bus number 2 goes direct from airport every 20 minutes to its final stop at Terminal A at the ferry port. From there the hotel is no more than an easy ten minutes walk away. Bus costs 1.60 Euros for a single fare. Bargain!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik_L_TLN, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Ross,

Thank you for your thorough review of Tallinn and PK Ilmarine.

We are happy to hear that we share a common view that a hotel should be snug, warm and cosy and are glad that we nailed it on your recent visit.

During our breakfast, we try and serve as much local produce as possible and we hope you liked Estonian black bread and herring.

Whilst visiting Tallinn, we strongly recommend to purchase Tallinn Card as this is the most cost-effective way to get around and see as much as possible during your visit.

The helpful tip about getting the bus from the Airport is something what we will take on board and shall definitely mention going forward - when travelling, it is all about being cost-effective and making sure you get the most out of your £.

I have passed on the comments with regards to the opening hours of Wiegand and indeed, their regular closing time is 10PM, however, if you are enjoying a pint of beer or a cuppa with friends or family we don't rush you out - take your time and chill.

If you do wish to have a late night pint somewhere then like you said, Hell Hunt and many more places are just a stone throw away.

I trust your journey back to Brighton was great and really hope to see you back in Tallinn and PK Ilmarine very soon.

Warm Regards,

Erik Laidma
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PK Ilmarine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK Ilmarine Hotel

Address: Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#24 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — PK Ilmarine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PK Ilmarine Hotel is a charming hotel conveniently located just near the historical Old Town, in the culturally versatile seaside region of Tallinn. It is only a few minutes' walk from the ferry terminal, railway station, and the city business, entertainment and shopping districts. With its bar & restaurant Wiegand, beauty salon Angel's Rose, the gym, free WiFi, parking. PK Ilmarine will be everything you expect from a "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your PK Ilmarine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Ilmarine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PK Ilmarine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.