We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience in a fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PK Ilmarine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added PK Ilmarine Hotel to your Saves list
PK Ilmarine Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Blacklick, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience in a fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Unfortunately I only spent one night in the PK Ilmarine Hotel as I was only in Tallinn for business for one night. I wish my trip had been longer.

The hotel is beautiful. It is a very modern building that was built inside of an older building so it has a very cool blend of modern and old-world. The rooms are a good size, the bathrooms are very modern...it has a very high-end European or American feel to it.

The breakfast buffet is huge. Coming from an American perspective it felt just like something I would find in the US.

The location is beyond great. It is a quick 5 minute walk to the Old City...which is the definition of cool. It looks like this was built in the 1400's and is now used for shops, restaurants, hotels, etc. While it would be cool to sleep in one of these hotels I wouldn't recommend it. There is ZERO parking in the Old City and I have been told by my business colleagues that the hotels in the Old City are very small and not as modern. Staying in the PK Ilmarine and walking 5 minutes is totally worth it.

Lastly, the staff at the PK Ilmarine are fabulous. They all speak 100% fluent English, most with a minimal accent.

In summary, Tallinn is a hidden gem in the EU and the PK Ilmarine is a hidden gem within a hidden gem. Stay here, you won't regret it!

Nick

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Nick,

Thank you for choosing PK Ilmarine hotel!

We are really happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay! Glad to know that you found hotel beautiful, room good and our staff fabulous.

Looking forward to welcome you back in near future!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    289
    81
    20
    14
See reviews for
71
249
48
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The IlMarine could not have been more accommodating for a 3-man trip. From turning up late to needing to stay a little later some very helpful Ilmarine staff (in particular Marielle) made our trip exceptionally enjoyable and pain free. A clean well positioned hotel, very nice bar and dining area with an excellent breakfast. Many thanks again and if we return to Tallinn this would happily be our 1st choice again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Diamondsqueezer,

Thank you for staying in PK Ilmarine hotel!

We are really glad to know that you found our staff helpful! As well that you were satisfied with the location and the restaurant.

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Visited in August over the bank holiday weekend. The weather was lovely. The hotel was just on the outskirts of the centre, bout 15/20 stroll or just a few stop on the tram. The room was very clean and well appointed, not much of a view from out of the room but on most 'City Breaks' do you really want to sit and look out of the window ?
The small restaurant was adequate and the breakfast provision as expected,juices,cereals,bread and toast and a small offering of hot items in keeping with most of Europe. We did eat in the restaurant once for an evening meal and one luchtime and the food was really nice maybe a tad on the expensive side but everything cooked to perfection and it was sad to see the restaurant very empty despite the quality of food on offer.
The reception staff on the whole were pleasant some speaking better English than others, they offered maps and guidance where required. Before we left the UK I purchased on line a 'Tallinn Card' it was 3 day pass that got you entry into many many places either free or with a discount and we found it most worth it. It got you a 3 day pass on the hop on hop off bus too which we utilised to the full. We visited the zoo, the Tallinn TV tower and Botanical gardens , the seaplane museum was also very interesting. Kadriorgs palace and Peter the Greats cottage.
Wi-Fi was everywhere on the bus in the majority of bars and restaurants which was very handy to keep in touch with home. Whilst there. we took the ferry over to Helsinki, it was a 2 hour journey and cost about £56 for the 2 of us, again purchased in the UK before we left. We felt it rude not to visit as we were so close. Prices whilst out on the whole were quite reasonable, although the odd bar / restaurant or too were a bit dear. Just a matter of shopping around so to speak. All in all a great 3 day stay with good accommodation, food, drink and plenty of sights to be seen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear caz1801,

Thank You for staying in PK Ilmarine hotel!

It is very nice to know that You found the room clean, our reception staff pleasant, the restaurant nice and food quality good.

We are looking forward to welcome You back in future!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrozavodsk, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Thank you for comfortable hotel.Perfect location for 5 min walk from old town.Breakfast was great.The hotel is cozy and clean,in the room bed is so soft,after walked all day you could rest)The hotel did our holiday perfect!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear vasya-basil,

Warm greetings from PK Ilmarine hotel!

We are really happy to know that You were satisfied with Your stay in our hotel.

Looking forward to welcome You back!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Petersurg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in December. The location is great to explore old town and harbour. The room is cosy and quite. In-room leaflet stated that safe deposit box is free of charge. But upon checkout I was requested to pay 7 euros. Small but dissapointment...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Alanin,

Thank You for staying in PK Ilmarine hotel!

We are glad to hear that You found our location great, room cosy and quiet.
We are really sorry for the missunderstanding with the safety deposit key.

Looking forward to welcome You back in future!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Perfect location coming by ferry, just next to harbour ja the old town. Tram stop is also near so it's easy to visit Kumu (tran to Kadriorg and a nice walk across the Kadriorg park).

Service on ther hotel was wery friendly, room impeccably clean and a great breakfast. On the day we were leaving we left out luggage tothe lobby and pickedthem up on our way to harbour. Iwilldefenitely go there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Receptionist at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Daer Xahhaliisa,

Thank you for your feedback!
We are glad to know that you liked staying in our hotel and found location good, service friendly and breakfast great.

Looking forward to welcome you back in PK Ilmarine hotel!

With kind regards,
Mariana Tomel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Handy location just outside old town and walkable to seaplane museum. Spacious room but basic - no bath or kettle. Heating is a nightmare - have to open windows all night despite snow outside. Good breakfast though and for the money I can't complain.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Receptionist at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Connells,

Thank you for staying in PK Ilmarine hotel and for your feedback!

We are really sorry for the heating problems in your room. We are glad to know that you found our breakfast good.

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With kind regards,
Mariana Tomel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to PK Ilmarine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK Ilmarine Hotel

Address: Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
#19 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#23 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — PK Ilmarine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a brilliant hotel experience in the heart of Tallinn. PK Ilmarine Hotel is a charming 105 rooms hotel, conveniently located near the historical UNESCO Heritage Old Town, in the culturally versatile seaside region of Tallinn. All rooms are equipped with safety-deposit box, satellite TV and telephone, bathroom with a bath or shower, hair dryer and air conditioning. You will appreciate the top-quality service of its restaurant Wiegand. Hotel additional facilities such as the on-site gym, the beauty salon, the private parking and the full Wi-Fi coverage, will make Ilmarine everything you expect from a home away from home. No matter if you are travelling alone or with a group, on business or leisure, PK Ilmarine highly committed, friendly and attentive staff will grant you the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your PK Ilmarine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Ilmarine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PK Ilmarine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.