We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PK Ilmarine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added PK Ilmarine Hotel to your Saves list
PK Ilmarine Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Sliema, Malta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel for 3 days and foundt that it is a perfect place to stay if you do want a bit more quiet place with no night club in the basement.
The service is good, and the rooms are clean.

It is a short distance from the Hotel to the old town, and only a few hundred meters to the city-tour buses, so you can say that the location is very good.

I had my own car parked at the hotel parking the whole time, and even if its free parking, I didn't fear for the safty of it. there are cameras in the parkinglot and quite a safe place to park.

The Hotel is built in a old factory builing of some sort, and there are glass walls inside so you don't see the interial walls from the inside the Hotel.

Room Tip: I stayd in a standard room and it was very nice. But I miss cnn og bbc news on the TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    257
    70
    17
    13
See reviews for
61
210
44
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel was basic clean but little pit boring all and all. Location was ok. Not too far from city. But tramticket for 24h or 48h would be necessary. Hotel service was very polite. TV in room was very small and picture was grainy. The wlan worked very well. Breakfast was good and plentiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kontiolahti, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went on June on 2013 Thu to Saturday and choose this hotel because prices were low. Breakfast little then usually i have met on scandinavic hotels. Some key problems occured us. I have to recode my key two times in same day. Also other customer did have same problem. But usually it won't mind because you get two keys. Hotell staff was very friendly and helped anyway they can. Our room was in first floor in courtyardside. It was quiet to sleep and beds were ok.

Only negative side was very small tv but if you need bigger tv then you pay more same hotel

Room Tip: Take courtyearside if need silence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Kanitus,

Thank you for staying in PK Ilmarine hotel and for your comment!
We are really sorry for the inconveniences caused by key system errors. Although we are glad to hear that you found our staff very friendly and helpful, as well location great and room quiet to sleep.

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Top location for the Old Town and for the Ferry to Helsinki. Great staff, room nice and clean, all you could expect.

Breakfast was better than most "continental" breakfasts. Nice variety.

We walked to the ferry terminal and to the old town without any issues. Staff helpful and the map they gave us made navigation easy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear jkls9,

Warm greetings from PK Ilmarine hotel!
Thank you very much for your positive comments.

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. We arrived from the airport by city bus as we are budget travelers. So, when we walked up to the hotel, we were at the back side of the hotel and it gave us that old communist block warehouse impression. But, once we got our bearings and went to the other side of the hotel where the front entrance is located, things improved a great deal and the front desk staff was very welcoming and helpful. The great thing about this hotel is that it's very close to the Old Town but far enough to avoid the loudness that comes with staying directly in the touristy Old Town area. The room was kind of small but everything looked recently renovated. The complimentary breakfast was great and they have a hotel bar and restaurant on site. The city tram stop is very close so you can hop on and get to all points. I'd stay with them again if ever in Tallinn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
• Dear JGBucky,

Thank you for staying in PK Ilmarine hotel and for your feedback!
We are really glad to hear that you found our staff very welcoming and helpful. As well location good and breakfast great.

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel name is PK Ilmarine Hotel Tallinn (former Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel) located in city center near the Tallinn's old town and the sea, near the Ferry terminal. Last time we visited Tallinn we stayed in this hotel as well. But the room and hotel itself was better!!!
This hotel is located on old Friedrich Wiegand Engineering Factory place. Years ago it was recalled as Ilmarine, that's why hotel name nowadays is Ilmarine too. It was renovated and opened in 1999. The rooms all are similar, but very convenient.
TV in the room is small and old.. I think it is there since hotel were opened! In business or executive rooms TV's are new. And our TV's remote control had no batteries in it, thank you previous guests!!! But we were not seating in the room and not watched TV, not a big disadvantage.
The view from the room is on the elite living complex of Tallinn. I don't think it is very convenient. That's why my room's window always was with closed curtains.
The bathroom is good enough. But the hair dryer was so old! At least it worked and was not screwed to tables shelve, as it was in one UK's hotel..
The restaurant is really good.The prices are as in all hotels a bit pricey.. But the dishes are so good and yummy.
There is a Wifi in the hotel, it worked good, had no problem with that.
Hotel announces they have a parking place.. So they have 100 rooms in hotel, but only about 10 parking place..So it can happen you will not be able to park in there.
And this time we were not able to use fridge.. It was like minibar and was closed.. So all of we bought stayed and freezed in the car.
And as a gift for staying we've got a bottle of champagne, the warm one...

Overall, I think this is a good hotel to stay, but they need to do some repairs in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Lubova K,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! We truely value the opinions of our customers.
We are happy to hear you found the room and hotel better, as well we are currently changing TV´s and hair dryers in our rooms. We are sorry to hear about no batteries in TV´s remote control and closed minibar, which we could have fixed immediately during your stay.
We have 25 free of charge parking places to our guests upon availability and usually you can find the place. Glad to know that you liked our restaurant and that you were satisfied overall with your stay!

Looking forward to welcome you back in PK Ilmarine Hotel!

With best regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porvoo, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

That hotel is so poor. They promise in their advertisement that this hotel is like your second home.... If you have at home broken air conditioning, broken minibar, broken chair, broken hairdryer, broken lamp, really old and uncomfortable bed and so... Then you can feel that you are staying in 4 stars hotel.
Maby Estonian people have that, but i havent ever seen so poor room anywhere before for 4 stars. That hotel is MAX 1 star!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear lasertravell,

We value the opinions of our costomers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We regret you had to suffer the inconveniences and that we were not given the opportunity to move you to another room

Although I hope you enjoyed your stay in Tallinn!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PK Ilmarine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK Ilmarine Hotel

Address: Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#24 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — PK Ilmarine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PK Ilmarine Hotel is a charming hotel conveniently located just near the historical Old Town, in the culturally versatile seaside region of Tallinn. It is only a few minutes' walk from the ferry terminal, railway station, and the city business, entertainment and shopping districts. With its bar & restaurant Wiegand, beauty salon Angel's Rose, the gym, free WiFi, parking. PK Ilmarine will be everything you expect from a "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your PK Ilmarine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Ilmarine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PK Ilmarine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.