We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PK Ilmarine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added PK Ilmarine Hotel to your Saves list
PK Ilmarine Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My boyfriend took me for a surprise birthday present. It's a lovely hotel and the reception were very helpful. Our room was super, very large with flat screen tv, free soft drinks and snacks, t & coffee and a double window outlook. We ate in the restaurant on my birthday the meal was superb but sadly there was only us eating! What a waste of a fantastic chef, as its some of the best food I have ever tasted. Excellent. Great location beautiful old town, def worth a visit. Also cocktails at the top of the raddisson blu hotel on the roof terrace overlooking the old town and harbour is a must. Thank you to my lovely boyfriend :)) x

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the car park are quieter has the opposite side is on a busy main road. An executi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear sadie201034,

Warm greetings from PK Ilmarine Hotel!
Thank you very much for your positive feedback! We are very glad to hear that you found our reception helpful, room super and chef fantastic!

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    257
    70
    17
    13
See reviews for
61
211
44
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had bought a super deal for half price and honestly I expected a little more. Our room was on the ground floor with view to the parking area. The room was clean, beds quite comfortable and bathroom spacious. Fortunately it wasn't noisy at night. The breakfast was ordinary, nothing special. The staff at the reception was friendly. There is a luggage room, but it's not locked, so I hesitated a bit leaving the luggage there. Everything went ok though.
Location of the hotel was good, it's only one kilometer from the harbor and 500 m to the outskirts of the Old town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear miumiu_1800,

Thank you for staying in PK Ilmarine hotel and for your feedback!
Im glad to hear that you found our reception staff friendly and the location good.

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With best regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lempäälä, Western Finland, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was ok and clean. Shower was warm room was warm and clean. Bedding had seen better days there were holes in the sheets. Tv didnt work at all, and we had no time to get it fixed. We didnt have safety box key at all. And closest elevator was broken.
Staff was frendly and they had luggage room. Even i had some doubts when the room door was always open there were strorage room stuff all ower and no lights on. And our bags were not really in very safe keeping there. For traveling vegans breakfast was ok. There were fruits and bread and some green stuf to eat. I had own oatmilk with me so also serials were an option. Good coffee!!
Location is super, and thats the reason why we went here. Could choose this hotel again even it was bit overprised and i dont think it was four star worth...ok hotel for few nights stay. They have also beauty salong services we had no time check out.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Susie Q,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! We truely value the opinions of our customers.
I apologize that we didn´t met you expectations in all circumstances, although Im happy that you found the location super and breakfast good.

Hope to see you in PK Ilmarine hotel in the future and if you will have any requests do not hesitate to ask our staff to assist you!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just come back from 5 nights at this hotel and I can honestly say it was just as fantastic as last time, staff were so helpful, bar staff so friendly and the food was excellent. Breakfast was warm and fresh every morning and the evening meal in the restaurant was beautiful. I took my boyfriend here for the first time and he was very impressed. Thank you :) x

Room Tip: Upgrade to executive suite and you get some lovely robes! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear SamiK284,

Warm greetings from PK Ilmarine Hotel!
Thank you very much for your positive feedback, it is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

Looking forward to welcome you back!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 2 days in the room on the 1 floor with 2 beds ( preferences was qweensize but they didnt have free rooms).
Almost nothing positive about this hotel, only : warm floor in the bathroom, not noisy and clean room.
What we didnt like: cold room, bathroom was not clean, very old towels. breakfast was poor and some of the food didnt look fresh ( for ex. vegetable salat).
We thought it was good that hotel has free parking place. But the next day it become clear that we were wrong. We found our car with broken window. Frustrating was the fact that we didnt get any help, participation, even information from hotel. Thanks that at least they called police.We had to find ourselves where to go and where to call with our problem.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Ju L,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We value the opinions of our costomers and we apologize that we did not met your expecttations.
I`m really sorry that we were not able to provide you a room with double bed due to the fact that hotel was fully booked . And I`m sincerely sorry for the broken window of your car and I truely apologize all the inconveniencies it may have caused you.

Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you in future.

Sincerely Yours,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice staff, good restaurant, plumbing and heating that works, a comfortable bed and free wi-fi. The room and bathroom were bright and clean. All in all, an excellent hotel at a very fair price.
Recommended

Room Tip: Tram 192 passes outside the hotel giving you instant access to public transport
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear CaptainBobsBoat,

Thank you for your feedback.We are glad that your stay at our hotel was enjoyable.

Looking forward to welcome you in future.

Sincerely Yours,

Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton, UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Just a short walk from the old town, this hotel was ok. The room was clean and bright, though a bit warm for us (although it was absolutely freezing outside so it was nice at first to be warm!). The receptionist spoke good English and was friendly. Check in was straightforward. Disappointing not to have tea and coffee making facilities in the standard room. Free car parking, though it was hard to find the hotel entrance from the direction we arrived.

We ate both nights in the hotel restaurant. The first night we wanted the set menu (€18) as it looked really good value and appetising, but it wasn't available so we had to go a la carte. This was not such good value and the lamb portion was small. The second night we were not so hungry so we didn't have the set menu which was then available, but had just one course from the main menu. Waitress was friendly and helpful. There was a good choice at breakfast. Don't know why anyone would complain!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear anniefs,

Thank you for your wonderful review which I have shared with our staff.Good advice is always welcome.We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon in PK Ilmarine Hotel.

Sincerely Yours,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PK Ilmarine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK Ilmarine Hotel

Address: Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#24 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — PK Ilmarine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PK Ilmarine Hotel is a charming hotel conveniently located just near the historical Old Town, in the culturally versatile seaside region of Tallinn. It is only a few minutes' walk from the ferry terminal, railway station, and the city business, entertainment and shopping districts. With its bar & restaurant Wiegand, beauty salon Angel's Rose, the gym, free WiFi, parking. PK Ilmarine will be everything you expect from a "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your PK Ilmarine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Ilmarine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PK Ilmarine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.