We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PK Ilmarine Hotel

Save Saved
You added PK Ilmarine Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
PK Ilmarine Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

After reading the good reviews, I decided to give this hotel a try and I was glad I did. The hotel is just a walking distance across the road from the Fat Margaret Tower entrance to the Old Town. The room is spacious with a nice powerful shower. Checking in was smooth, and the receptionist was responsive to my request for a room facing the courtyard as I found the room facing the road a little noisy. Breakfast was good with a lot of choices. Overall, it was a comfortable stay and I had a great time exploring the Old Town.

Room Tip: If you prefer quiet rooms, request for rooms facing the courtyard as rooms facing the road can be qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear travellerstory12 ,

Warm greetings from PK Ilmarine hotel!

I would like to thank you for your feedback! We are pleased to hear that your stay here was enjoyable!

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

Sincerely Yours,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    248
    73
    16
    14
See reviews for
51
187
43
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

The PK Ilmarine Hotel is exceptional value for money. The hotel is modern, clean and in a great location just a couple of minutes walk from Tallinn's old town. Free decent speed internet is available throughout the hotel.

As per previous reviews we asked the hotel for some additional pillows, and they were provided promptly.

The only down sides of the hotel were.... No tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, and the limited selection of food at breakfast. However when putting into context the room price, these down sides aren't that much of a concern.

The hotel does have a restraunt and bar, as well as a gym - however we didn't venture into these.

The hotel booked a taxi back to the airport which cost €10 - pickin up a taxi at a taxi rank is far more expensive!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear tripreview11,

Thank you for staying in PK Ilmarine Hotel and for your comment!

We are really glad to hear that you found our hotel good value for money. As well that you were satisfied with your stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back in future!

Best regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Glam South Wales
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Checked in very easily, young lady spoke perfect English and explained the hotels breakfast times etc to us no problem.
Room a nice size, while I had requested a double bed we were given a 3rd floor room overlooking the downstairs lounge area, which had twin beds. We weren't as bothered as a previous reviewer was, we just pushed them together and the chambermaid made them up as a double from then on.
Room very warm, underfloor heating in bathroom so hot one day we had to stand on the bath mat for comfort. However as it was so cold outside the warmth of the hotel was very welcome.
No tea/coffee making facilities unfortunately, but hairdryer provided in bathroom, as were toiletries. Towels a little on the thin side but did the job.
Very comfortable bed and second pillows delivered within half hour of requesting them at reception. Bedding, room and bathroom clean but shower curtain and toilet brush need replacing.
I have read reviews complaining about the breakfast choices but it amazes me what people want. No veggie sausages? If that's all then no probs. On offer were croissants or sweet cakes, bread, toast making facility, cereals, fresh fruit, tea/coffee/orange and apple juices, yogurts, cold meats and cheeses and boiled eggs. On the hot plate you could have porridge, scrambled eggs, sausages or meatballs, baked beans, potatoes and a veg mix.
If you can't find something to eat from that then I suppose you'd have to go into town and pay at a cafe.
On check out I asked at reception to order us a taxi back to airport, which they did and it cost 9 euros, I would suggest you try to contact the hotel to arrange for when you arrive as the one we took outside the arrivals charged us 15 euros. However as I had read that taxis tend to rip off tourists I thought that wasn't too bad.
Excellent location, within easy walking distance to old and new town, ferry port, culture walk and sea plane museum. Bar comfortable and staff pleasant and polite, prices on a par with town.
Lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the 'quiet' side, no road noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PK Hotels T, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear BluebirdFACup08,

Thank you very much for the review!

We are pleased to hear that you stay was enjoyable! As well that you were satisfied with the room and the breakfast choice.

Looking forward to welcome you back in PK Ilmarine Hotel!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The only fault we could find was that there was no bath, but this was put into perspective with a great power shower and heated bathroom floor. The staff were friendly and even allowed for a late check out without any dramas.
Plenty of choice for breakfast.
I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear petec1966,

Thank You for staying in PK Ilmarine Hotel!

We are really glad that You enjoyed Your stay and we are looking forward to welcome You back in future!

Kindest regrads,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esbo, Finland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked one night at this hotel as it was 41 euros for a double room including breakfast. The only downsize was that they gave us a twin room. My wife and I really don't like sleeping in separate beds during a holiday. Of course, this is not a big problem for any decent hotel - just give the suite instead.

It was free but they refused to give us a double room. They also refused to give any compensation - a cup of coffee would have done it but no. Overall, the hotel is ok for the price but the location was a bit off, the breakfast dull, no water pressure in the shower and the rooms uninspiring. The employee attitude however, was appalling. It seemed it wasn't their fault though and their manager was to blame.

All I expect from a hotel is to get what I pay for, and this hotel didn't even try to deliver a "double room with breakfast". Never again.

Room Tip: Book a room with a different hotel - this is the easiest way to get what you paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Trankkis,

Thank You for staying in PK Ilmarine Hotel!

We are sincerely sorry for any inconveniences caused due to the fact that we not able to provide You a room with a double bed! Unfortunately we were almost fully booked and no double rooms were not available at this period.

We really do hope that You still enjoyed Your stay in hotel and in Tallinn!

With kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Good location just outside the walled city, you have to cross a main road to get to Fat Margaret tower, but there are traffic lights just down the road and we weren't disturbed by any road noise. Watch your step just outside the hotel when it is wet/icy though, there's a sloping & cobbled road for a bit. Convenient if you want to get a ferry e.g. to Helsinki too: ~10-15 min walk from the ferry terminal (though get your ticket in plenty of time if you do - reception tried to help with booking one but we gave up on the ferry website and decided despite windy weather to go to the terminal to get one, which was absolutely heaving & we gave up there too - do not leave this till the last minute if you want to take the ferry! Though also be mindful that any pre-booked ferry trip could be affected by weather - in that stormy spell we spoke to someone whose brother was on the ferry to St Petersburg, unable to dock for >8 hours). Hotel breakfast choice was ok though could have been better; but dining options sounded nice though we never got round to trying them. Did have a cake/drink in the bar which was nice but it could have stayed open later - then closed at 22:00. (Stayed New Year 2012 when it was 'Domina Inn Ilmarine'; possibly some changes have been made now it's 'PK'). Would be ok to stay here again - just inside the town walls would be nicer but probably add far more cost for the sake of a 5 min walk.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear SavetheKrill,

Thank You for Your feedback and staying in PK Ilmarine Hotel!

We really hope that You enjoyed Your stay at our hotel. About breakfast – thank You for the observation .The ideas and suggestions are always welcome.

We looking forward welcoming You back here!

Kindest regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

There was a group of 15 of us, we stayed for a long weekend.

Before I start with my complaints and criticisms. I have to say, the blonde girl on the front desk was absolutely amazing! She couldn't do enough for us. Any question we asked she helped us with and did it all with a smile and was always happy and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. She is a REAL GENUINE asset to your hotel and without her smile and happy attitude we wouldn't have stayed again because quite frankly, everyone else wasn't very nice or helpful.

The wifi didn't work in the room and had no connectivity whilst we were there, the food in the restaurant and breakfast was limited. My 3 friends were vegetarians and there was only egg for them, there was no mushrooms, baked beans, hash browns and no vegetarian sausages or choices for them. The food wasn't very hot and when we asked for more boiled eggs the lady said they had finished and walked off. Charming !!!!

The food choices need improving - adding vegetarian options because most of my friends don't eat meat and they had no options on the menu for dinner and only egg at Breakfast, which is TERRIBLE!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
Charming, City...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#25 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.5 mi away
GoHotel Shnelli
GoHotel Shnelli
#22 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#12 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Hotell St. Barbara
Hotell St. Barbara
#16 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
City Center, Mi...
Show More
0.9 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#21 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Quiet, Free Bre...
Show More
0.6 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#10 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PK Ilmarine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK Ilmarine Hotel

Address: Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — PK Ilmarine Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PK Ilmarine Hotel is a charming hotel conveniently located just near the historical Old Town, in the culturally versatile seaside region of Tallinn. It is only a few minutes' walk from the ferry terminal, railway station, and the city business, entertainment and shopping districts. With its bar & restaurant Wiegand, beauty salon Angel's Rose, the gym, free WiFi, parking. PK Ilmarine will be everything you expect from a "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your PK Ilmarine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Ilmarine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PK Ilmarine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.