We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and rather close” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PK Ilmarine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added PK Ilmarine Hotel to your Saves list
PK Ilmarine Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fresh and rather close”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

This is a recently constructed, fresh hotel lying West of the old town outside the harbour gate. It is a two minutes walk to the westernmost gate of the old town, at the tram stop Linnahall, where also the airport bus stops. This makes it rather close to the Ferry Temrinals as well.

The modern building is built inside the walls of an century old factory called Ilmarine, hence the name. Large rooms with well made bathrooms. A working air condition and no disturbing sounds.

The service and the building emanates a cold effectivity. There is a bar open evening that looked quite nice though. The breakfast room is well staffed and everything runs smoothly. a traditionally over loaded breakfast buffet with something for everyone.

The hotel is on the rim of the neighbourhood Kala maja and can feel a bit dark in the night. The way to and from the city is just a short bit a long a lit trafficed way and oftenly frequented by other people, so that not a problem.

Room Tip: Rooms northward faces a calm new residential area without any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Hackspett,

Thank you very much for your kind review! It´s pleasure to know that you liked the building and the rooms. And glad to hear that you were satisfied with the location and the breakfast.
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Domina Inn Ilmarine!

With best regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    257
    70
    18
    13
See reviews for
62
212
44
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I picked this hotel from the good reviews from Trip advisor. It's really close to the airport, about 10 minutes and cost us 7 euros by taxi. All the staff we dealt with at the hotel were so helpful. The room was a good size with a nice view and a beautiful bathroom. Everything was very clean too. We ate at the restaurant one lunchtime and it was very tasty. The breakfast was the only thing that I wasn't keen on (meatballs, potatoes and peppers & scrambled eggs with bacon) my boyfriends loved it though :-) The hotel is with walked distance to the old town, about 10 minutes and there's a harbour about a 5 minute walk away where the fishing boats are makes for nice photos.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify which room you'd like ie double or twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Twiggy_loves_NYC,

Thank you so much for your really positive comments! It´s nice to hear that everything satisfied your expectations, including the location and the staff. Also glad to know that you liked the room and the restaurant. We are doing our best to offer good service and it´s pleasure to hear that you enjoyed it.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in Domina Inn Ilmarine.

Wishing you all the best,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Spent a week in a twin room at the Domina Inn. Moved immediatley from first room (with no hastle) as the wash hand basin was blocked. Second room very clean, got extra pillows on request. The hot breakfast was first class and the evening meals well priced and well presented. Staff friendly and professional. Rooms facing the main road suffer from traffic noise. Hotel within five minute walk of old town and lots of bars and restaurants, but far enough away from groups out partying. Hired a car from advert in hotel, Toyota Corolla four door for 25 Euro per day including inclusive insurance and unlimited mileage. Would strongly recommend this hotel, but watch out for the rooms facing the busy road.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear WhiteheadRoy,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback! I am really glad to hear that you were satisfied with the room, our apologies for the room move and inconveniences it may have caused! Also pleasant to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and were satisfied with the location and our staff. We would be very happy to welcome you back in Domina Inn Ilmarine!

With best regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

My boyfriend and I came for a week trip to Tallinn in June 2011. This was a very special holiday as we got engaged in the gardens of Kadriorg Palace. The Domina Inn was a nice stay for us. It is a fairly simple hotel, yet our stay was very pleasant and good value. The room was spacious, nicely decorated and very clean, the bathroom was a good size, modern and again, very clean. We got breakfast included, which was very tasty. We were very intrigued by some of the unusual things being served, but there was something for everyone and the food was good. We had dinner at the hotel one evening which we really enjoyed. We both had the burger, which was delicious and I would highly recommend to anyone staying and thinking of dining at the hotel. The evening waiter was very friendly, along with the reception staff, who helped us on a few occasions with any queries, particularly directions.
The location of this hotel is fantastic, just a short walk away from the beautiful centre of Tallin. We also had an evening walk down to the harbour and discovered the heliport and Tallinn's Linnahall, an abandoned event hall. This unusual building gives you great views of Tallinn and seems to be a popular place for people to visit and photograph. There is also a supermarket minutes from the hotel, which was great for us for getting drinks and snacks. The tram lines just outside are handy, we got on one to go to Kadriorg Palace. I would recommend buying tickets before getting on the tram as they are cheaper and we found it a bit difficult to understand how it worked especially as the driver spoke no english.
As we are new to this part of the world, we were a little concerned about the language barrier and how we would cope with the complex language, but we soon realised after arriving that majority of Tallinn speak English so there was no problem whatsoever.
The only problem we had during our stay was at the beginning. My boyfriend had emailed the hotel and arranged one of their taxis to come and pick us up at the airport. When we arrived at Tallinn airport, we waited half an hour and the taxi did not turn up. It wasn't the ideal way to start the holiday and although the receptionist was very nice to us, it was not properly investigated and even though he enquired on a few occasions what had happened, we got no response. There had clearly been a communication problem and we got left at the airport. In the end we got in a taxi at the aiport arrivals. This actually cost half of what the hotel were going to charge us for the use of their taxi. We, therefore got reception to book one of these for our journey back to the aiport. We would recommend Tallink taxis if you are on a budget.
This was not a great first impression of the hotel, but the rest of the week was fine and we had a very relaxing holiday in a pleasant, friendly environment.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Revenue Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear ElvenPrincess_x,

Thank you for your comments! We highly appreciate your thoughts about the hotel in order to be able to make it better. I am happy to see you were satisfied with the location, cleanliness, and service at the hotel. I will forward your compliments regarding the food to our chef - he has certainly made an effort to offer high quality cuisine for an affordable price! I do apologise for the miscommunication about the transfer service, we will do our best to avoid this kind of issues in the future.

Hoping to see you back here in the future and wishing you all the best,
Eve Peeterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We had booked a twin room but, perhaps because we were staying 4 nights and/or because the hotel was quiet, we were given a suite with the 'bedroom' on a mezzanine floor and a sitting room and kitchen area downstairs. There was a kettle and full sized fridge, but no cooking equipment or cutlery, though we could have asked. The section of the hotel the suites are in was spookily quiet most of the time we were there, and structurally the shared former-factory areas (not the room itself) reminded us of a prison! But the whole place was light and clean and bright, and the extra room space was lovely and made the price we'd paid seem excellent value.

The location is good - just outside the old town, near a tram stop and close to a Rimi supermarket. (Turn right along the busy road outside the hotel -and walk 100 yards or so). Breakfast was good, with lots of choice, unless you want something hot and are vegetarian as even the scrambled eggs had bacon in! We found the staff throughout the hotel to be efficient and pleasant.

The hotel seemed to mainly cater for coach parties and business, and it's not the place to stay if you are after somewhere cosy with local character. But otherwise I think it's a good choice, particularly if looking for a good value place to stay near the old town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Revenue Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear AlisonJW,

Thank you for your positive feedback! I am really glad to hear that you found the room spacious and our staff efficient, and the location of the hotel convenient. We will take a note of your remark about the breakfast and try to make it more vegan, thank you for pointing it out! Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you back here in the future :)

With kindest regards,
Eve Peeterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

The hotel is excellent value for money. We had a room facing the inner courtyard and it was very quiet. Great location, it's only a few minutes walk to the old town. Staff were extremely friendly. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Revenue Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Dear Madame,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback! I am glad to learn you were happy with the room you stayed in as well as the location of the hotel. It is a real pleasure to know our staff is friendly and that you would recommend Domina Inn Ilmarine to your friends. We are looking forward to welcoming you back here!

With kindest regards,
Eve Peeterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ain, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid August and we found the hotel to be great value for money, We travelled with my parents and our 3 year old and took 2 rooms. The rooms were more like small appartments with a mezzanine bedroom and a kitchenette downstairs. We only paid £45 pounds per room per night with breakfast and for that price I cannot fault it all (booked through expedia). It is not right in the old town but you just go over the road and in 5 mins you are there. If you are in a car this hotel is great as you don not have to negotiate the cobbled streets and hoards of sightseers in the old town. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was very good - hot and cold choices. We ate in the restaurant one night and had the €15 3 course set menu and were blown away by how good it was as often hotel restaurants are not great. We highly recommend this place if you want space and the possibility to cook up some pasta or simple dish to save money on always eating out. It's not posh but I would rate it 4 stars and it's certainly better than some 4 star hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domina_Manager, Revenue Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear TimmyTam,

Thank you for your positive comments! I am glad to know you were happy with the location of the hotel, and the room and services we offer. We have worked hard for quality customer care and high standards in catering, so your feedback is really rewarding. I hope to welcome you back here in the future!

With kindest regards,
Eve Peeterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PK Ilmarine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK Ilmarine Hotel

Address: Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#24 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — PK Ilmarine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PK Ilmarine Hotel is a charming hotel conveniently located just near the historical Old Town, in the culturally versatile seaside region of Tallinn. It is only a few minutes' walk from the ferry terminal, railway station, and the city business, entertainment and shopping districts. With its bar & restaurant Wiegand, beauty salon Angel's Rose, the gym, free WiFi, parking. PK Ilmarine will be everything you expect from a "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your PK Ilmarine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Ilmarine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PK Ilmarine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.