We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barons Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barons Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Barons Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Suur-Karja 7 / Vaike-Karja 2, Tallinn 10140, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
MD
1 review
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

Hi - i normally don't write reviews because I have two small kids and I just don't have the time for this, but I just had to do it this time.
My family visited Estonia for the first time and we picked that hotel for it's location and the rooms seemed cool on pictures! In real life the whole place was even better than we had imagined. The rooms were so cute and we loved the fact they were not all the same looking but different. The people at the front desk were nice enough to give us a tour of the whole house, so we learned about the history of the place- felt kind of secure in the vault :) Plus they give away FREE muffins at the front desk - yamm!

One minus might be the noise that comes from the streets outside but this is definitely not the hotel's fault and the staff at front desk was so nice and helpful.

We got an upgrade to a room that was slightly bigger and there was a complimentary wine in the room and we got a FREE romantic dinner in the hotel's restaurant because they had just heard us talk about our wedding, that took place a week ago, so they wanted to congratulate us - how thoughtful!!! Anyway we recommend this place to all our friends for sure! Great location, romantic rooms and unbelievably friendly stuff!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    61
    24
    13
    4
See reviews for
17
69
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

We did ask for a quiet room, and that what we got. Room was also very roomy and the bathroom very clean and nice. Great location and great , friendly staff.
My mummy had orded a massage from the hotell, but it was canceld and as a compensation we recerved a big bottle of champagne to our room!
Only problem was with radiators, they were not on and and the room was guit cool.
But after a while we found out how the turn them on, the room got so warm and we had really pleasant stay there. Room was little bit dark, but i did not bother us.
Breakfast was with many choices and mangnifisent wiews from the diningroom windows to the alleys of the old town.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

We stayed two nights in May 2008 (sorry for taking so long in posting). Location was great, taxi had no trouble taking us there. No problem with noise, though this was midweek. Breakfast was good - and buffet. The idea of a buffet is you go and get your own stuff. It seems a previous reviewer did not understand that.

We had been staying in another hotel at a different location, and wanted to get somewhere more central for the final two days. Internet access was important to us. We did not have a computer. So we walked into both the hotels we had shortlisted and looked at them and asked about internet access. At the reception in Barons we were told there was intenet access, pointing to the back of the lobby. So we went away and booked Barons through the web, as the front desk could not match the price.

When we checked in, they said the internet - which I think was in a little booth at the back of the lobby - was broken. They did not hold out any hope of it being fixed any time - or day - soon. Obviously we complained. The bell boy ran around a bit, trying to borrow a computer from a friend, as I think the wi-fi was working. He did not manage to do so. In fact the hotel never provided us with any computer service, and we stayed two days.

We eventually ended up using an internet cafe. However I think this shows something about the hotel and management's attitude. Although the staff were very friendly, and tried to do what they could personally to help us, they never suggested escalating the problem. Presumably the management office has internet access and they could have let us check our email there. Or management could have provided a laptop computer for guests use in the lobby.

So what I would read in to this is that the hotel is fine, as long as you do not have any request out of the ordinary. The friendly staff obviously did not feel they had the support of management to try to solve our problem - but tried (and failed) to dio something personally. Th e computer access was something we checked on before making a booking, and was important to us at the time. We did get an internet cafe, but did not expect to have to spend the time (and minor expense) running around to find it when we were promised access.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not living up to promise on internet access
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiviaKurvits, Livia Kurvits Hotel Manager at Barons Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2008
Dear Donard!

Thank you for Your feedback, it is very important to us! As You mentioned in Your feedback, a lot of time has gone by and we have had many changes since then, starting with the new management from July 2008.

We are glad to inform, that we have now free internet access for the guests - a laptop in the lobby and WIFI connection in every room.

You are warmly welcome!

With best regards,

Livia Kurvits
Hotel Manager
Barons Hotels OÜ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

There were no problems waking up at this hotel as the bar across the road is one of the most famous in all Estonia and was so noisy that, having dozed off from the lack of sleep the night before, once I woke up at about 2 30 am, I was awake for the rest of the night. That the bed was so soft, the mattress may have been foam, didn’t help.

The building is lovely and the situation is excellent. Public areas are nice but with canned music, not places to linger. Breakfast was good, but after getting offered one cup of coffee the staff never came back, you had to go and get your own. No one, either at breakfast or reception looked older than about 20, so lack of management may have been the issue..

In contrast, the room however was poorly decorated. It was small, felt tired and had - oddly - only one reading light. Other than a chair at the desk, there was no where to sit – the bed was too soft – so it was rather disappointing.

Overall, it certainly wasn’t dreadful but it was the worse night’s “sleep” I’ve had for a long time so I would have to recommend that one stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bedroom
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiviaKurvits, Hotel Manager Livia Kurvits at Barons Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2008
Dear HP14!

Thank you for your feedback, it is very important to us!
There may be several reasons why there is noise on the streets at night time in old town. We think, that the main reason is smoking on the streets. As You probably know EU laws forbid smoking in bars/pubs/restaurants etc. Even though there are special smoking rooms almost in every pub/bar/restaurant etc., some people still choose to smoke outside. Unfortunately, as it seems, they don't care that official night-time starts 11:00 pm. Due to that problem we started cooperation with Estonian Police. We have agreement with them that every time when at least one of our guests reports to the reception that he/she cannot sleep due to the noise, receptionist calls to the police and they will send immediately a patrol to check the situation and to take necessary action in their power. Additionally, we equipped every room with earplugs for the guests.

Concerning music, we have some plans for the future. Hopefully already from September we have live music in our restaurant in every Saturday evening. Everyone is welcome to enjoy our Mediterranean cuisine and professional musicians.

Our hotel is to us like living and breathing being and since she's in her dignified age, she need a bit facelift. Due to that we are improving the interior day by day at the same time trying to still be open to our guests and offering them a pleasant and memorable stay in Tallinn's old town.


Parimate koostöösoovidega,
With best regards,

Livia Kurvits
Hotellijuht
Hotel Manager
Barons Hotels OÜ
Tel +372 6999 722
Fax +372 6999 718
GSM +372 53269295
Livia.Kurvits@barons.ee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

For me, the hotel was OK.
There are very positive points: it is well situated and the hotel has charm. The rooms are quite nice, except that there is no light above the reading and working table...a bit annoying if you want to work or read. Luckily it remains light late in Tallinn.
The negative point is the noise at night (from outside). But this is of course out of any responsibility of the hotel itself.
Staff is OK, but not more than that. When I asked for a PC with internet connection, just to check in for a flight, I was told there was no PC, and this in E-stonia....

  • Disliked — street noise at night
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s,yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

i would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to tallinn,the hotel was just a 2 minutes walk into the old town where there are restaurants serving excellent food. The hotel was clean and the rooms comfortable the breakfast was really good with both hot and cold food served.The staff are very friendly and nothing seemed to much trouble. i would also like to thank karoline the manager who arranged a tour for us into the country to see stately homes and the small fishing villages with the houses made from wood ,Stopping of for lunch at mid day we then moved on to see the rivers where the beavers had built there dams, This might not be to everyone's taste but it was a chance to see how people live out side the towns.

  • Liked — clean warm friendly
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

We had booked a double room for 6-8.12.07 via bookings.com. We have been in Tallinn few times before but this time we wanted to stay in a better hotel in old town and that´s why we chose Barons. Unfortunately 2 days before we were suppose to arrive we got a call from hotel staff telling us that there had been accident and that they had to cancel our reservation and that they could offer us a room in the company's other hotel Hotel Euroopa. It is a brand new four star business hotel outside old town, totally different what we were looking for but we had to accept it because all the hotels were really crowded that weekend. They explained that there had been a water pipe accident and they weren't able to provide water for all the rooms. Of course it might be true but they also might had an "overbooking accident", who knows... By contacting people on such a short notice they dont really leave other options than taking the room they offer in the companys other hotels.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#17 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
0.0 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
#40 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baltic Hotel Imperial
Baltic Hotel Imperial
#24 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#7 of 84 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Town Maestro's
Old Town Maestro's
#26 of 84 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barons Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barons Boutique Hotel

Address: Suur-Karja 7 / Vaike-Karja 2, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barons Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Barons Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barons Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barons Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.