We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, noisy and smelly” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Barons Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Barons Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Barons Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Suur-Karja 7 / Vaike-Karja 2, Tallinn 10140, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Old, noisy and smelly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Don't stay here if you want some peace and quiet. The people outside yelling is bad enough, but the fellow guests walking around creates just as much noise. The old floor is a nightmare and when you have to listen to the street noise, the floor, slamming doors, next rooms television and the man in the next room snoring keeping you awake, it is not a good place for serenity. There are also four bars next to the hotel which previous reviewers have said is horrendous, I would believe them as it was bad enough in January. The foyer stinks like open sewerage and the clunky lift barely fits two people. The Barons should be a museum NOT a hotel. Oh and yes there are complimentary ear plugs in the bathroom...does this warn you? Also the rooms are tiny. Just enought room to walk around the bed. One last thing THERE IS NO COFFEE FACILITIES IN YOUR ROOM......that is just plain rude! Stay at your own peril.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    54
    20
    12
    3
See reviews for
14
62
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The building was beautiful and they had kept all the old elements there which was nice.
We had a basic double room. The room was neat and tidy except the bathroom. There was this green stuff in the shower handle and my husband didn't want to use the ashower at all. Our room (and espesially the bathroom) was really small. I didn't like the room very much because it was dark and dreary.
The evening meal was ok, basic home cooked meal, not anything special. We had breaded fish steaks and chickens tots of minced chicken meat. Breakfast was better. It was almost great.

The worst thing about this hotel is the noise. The floors squeak and the doors are banging. The walls are paper thin. You can hear everything from the streets and even from the other rooms next to you and even from the other floors. We couldn't sleep at all.

Room Tip: I don't if the suites are more comfortable than the basic rooms? If I had to come back to this h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haapsalu, Estonia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is a good looking property. It is very much in the center of Tallinn old town. Pubs are all around. Everything is in walking distance. It may be little noisy outside.
Service is good and breakfast was good too. I can suggest this hotel!

Room Tip: On upper floors you can see the roofs of old town. If you prefere more quiet, ask the room on the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had one night romantic package in this hotel. Our room was quite small but very high. We got a bottle of sparkling wine and plate of fruits with fresh rose leaves. Everything seemed to be fine untill I opened bathroom door. There was really bad smell of drain. Unfortunately the hotel was full so we could not change the room. TV was not working because of the remote controll. Very nice bellboy went to buy new batteries but he put them backwards in the remote control. We noticed that just before we left.

We booked sauna and jacuzzi for an hour. They were nice and there was lot of space at least for two persons. One hour was maybe too little time to enjoy those facilities.

Hotel book in our room was not updated. It said that there is free afternoon coffee with home made pastries in the lobby but it was not any more. Instead I visited nice cafe accross the street. Also price for sauna was less in the hotel book than it was.

The buffee dinner was included the room price but it was very poor. Only dessert was okay. Instead breakfast was nice supprise and it was very good.

We also were disturbed of the noice from the street at Saturday night. The hotel offered free earplugs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Perfect location , good breakfast , dinner buffet often the same...
Very noisy in lots of the rooms at night by surrounding bars...
Great & friendly staff
The hotel taxi is even cheaper than the city taxi.
Charming athmosphere

Room Tip: ask for a room on "the quiet side"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This cute hotel has a really great location in the old town. However, be aware that during the weekend nights the street outside turns into a very lively bar street. The sound must bounce off the walls as we were on the 5th floor but heard it quite well both friday and saturday, but we didn't let us bother us as we instead found some great restaurants and pubs on the street. There was also some earplugs in the bathroom.
The hotel has 33 rooms, one very old elevator in front of reception and one newer elevator which only fits 2 people behind reception. We first got a small room on the 4th floor with a queen size bed when we had booked a double room. But there was no trouble changing to a bigger room with a double bed on the 5th floor. We got a early check in without any trouble. We got breakfast room service for free 2 out of 3 mornings. We think this might have been offered to us as there was low season and not many staying at the hotel. Breakfast was good, nothing extraordinary but everything we wanted, except for meatballs. We didn't take advantage of the free dinner buffet offer as we liked to try out some restaurants instead. But we had a quick look and the food looked great, 2 main courses and 2 desserts where on offer with some salad. Both breakfast and dinner was served on the 2nd floor restaurant room.
I misunderstood the hotel web page and thought we could use the jacuzzi for free but we were advise that you had to rent the whole sauna complex privately to be able to use the jacuzzi.
All in all a very price worthy hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street will be noisy if you are there over a weekend but you get a great view if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
runcorn, cheshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We booked to stay in this hotel for our break in Tallin. When we arrived we were checked in speedily and given our room keys. During our stay the staff were excellent and the hotel is wonderful. It is in the centre of Tallin old town and within easy reach of all the sights to see there. We had a very enjoyable stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back and also recommend to people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barons Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barons Boutique Hotel

Address: Suur-Karja 7 / Vaike-Karja 2, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barons Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Barons Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barons Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barons Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.