We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Petersbourg Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added St. Petersbourg Hotel to your Saves list
St. Petersbourg Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rataskaevu 7 | Tallinn Old Town, Tallinn 10123, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Lodz, Poland
Top Contributor
575 reviews 575 reviews
236 hotel reviews
Reviews in 223 cities Reviews in 223 cities
342 helpful votes 342 helpful votes
“Memorable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Before the arrival, I was aware, that I had booked nice, historical hotel in the heart of the Old Town. However, when we came, we were pleasantly surprised by the cleanness, good service and atmosphere of this place.
In fact, we were upgraded to the large suite, in the top floor, with beautiful, large bathroom and spacious living room. The location is impressive, in one of the narrow, cobblestoned streets in the Old Town, 200 m to the Old Square. Fortunately, in spite of the noisy crowds of people in the evening, after 11.00 pm, we were able to sleep with the open windows.
If you arrive by the rented car, do not afraid about the parking lot. There is the valet service, offered by the hotel.
The breakfast is served in very elegant restaurant, with beautiful tableware. However, the choice of the dishes is not very rich and the warm dishes could be served by the waitress faster.
Unfortunately, we have not tasted the food in the hotel`s Russian restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    113
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
72
247
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

My mom and I had just returned from a 3-night stay at this fabulous hotel, which was part of our package by Norwegian Air. We were upgraded upon check-in, to a lovely deluxe room located on the second floor. The room was pleasantly spacious and airy. Luckily for that because due to the lack of air-conditioning, the little table fan was not quite enough in the hot summer nights. The room service (housekeeping) was meticulous down to the last detail eg. placing bottles of complimentary still water and chocolates on the bedside tables, turning down the beds and closing the curtains every evening. Pity about the flat pillows though, but the bed was sufficiently hard and comfortable. Very personalized service at breakfast too, cooking eggs, preparing oat porridge etc. to individual requests. Location-wise, you cannot find a better hotel which is centralized and not-too-noisy at night. Overall - like my mom pointed out, if this hotel could house 3 US Senators (J.McCain, H.Clinton and J.Sununu in 2004) among other dignitaries, it's good enough for us 'ordinary people' too! If I were to return to the charming city of Tallinn, I would certainly stay at the St Petersbourg again with her attentive and friendly staff!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

I stayed 5 nights at St. Petersbourg hotel. The first thing I liked was that everyone there (and that goes for the entire city) talks english WELL! The stuff was very helpfull, the rooms were great with a feeling of luxury you find only in much more expensive hotels, the service was excellent and the overall experience was one of a kind! I 'm definitely going back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We enjoyed our two night stay at this hotel. The location is great and the service was excellent. We had an extremely early flight our last morning and Artur (I think that was his name) at the front desk was kind enough to make us sandwiches for the plane at 5am. This was just one example of the good service we had. Tallinn is a great town and this hotel fits right into that old medieval charm. The hotel is a bargain and I wish we could have stayed a few days more.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We were upgraded to a luxurious suite. Very courteous staff and excellent Russian-style restaurant with parrot. Hotel St Petersbourg is just around the corner from the main square, so it occupies perfect location. Choose this hotel over the impersonal business-style hotels in the new town.
Tallinn is a fascinating place located on a geopolitical faultline. Do go on the sightseeing walk.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

No complaints at all, very comfortable, ideally located and competent staff. Good breakfast included in price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

A beatuful hotel in a great location in this gem of a medieval town. Close to all the sights in the old town. The highlight for us was the breakfast, individually cooked to order, something I have not found in any hotel in recent times. We were upgraded to a "junior suite" at no extra cost but it did not have air conditioning, which was a pity as the temperature was 28 degrees..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Petersbourg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Petersbourg Hotel

Address: Rataskaevu 7 | Tallinn Old Town, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Petersbourg Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel in Tallinn Old Town. All of our 27 rooms & suites have been individually designed to reflect the Russian merchants’ style.The building itself dates back to the 15th century when a wealthy Russian merchant purchased the property and had it redesigned by the famous architect August Gabler.The latest technological appliances have been discreetly integrated throughout the hotel giving guests the height of comfort in an elegant traditional setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Petersbourg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Petersbourg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Petersbourg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.