We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reveling in Ravel (Tallinn)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Petersbourg Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added St. Petersbourg Hotel to your Saves list
St. Petersbourg Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rataskaevu 7 | Tallinn Old Town, Tallinn 10123, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Tallinn
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Reveling in Ravel (Tallinn)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

For our 20th anniversary the wife and and I chose to go and explore Estonia as it was a Country we had not visited, and its Capital Tallinn or as it was called Ravel. It is reputed to be the oldest Capital City in Northern Europe and since gaining independence again is one of the youngest Countries. The St Petersbourg manages to incorporate old world charm with all the modern comforts. Our room 107 was a deluxe superior and although just off reception was never subjected to noise or any disturbance.

Kasper who checked us in could not have been more helpful and it was nice to have an actual key rather than the overused swipe car. It made a nice change to hand it in and request it upon return which thus prompted the waning interaction between guests and staff.

The bathroom has underfloor heating, robes and slippers with upmarket toiletries. The room contained a flat screen, (not used) a dvd player (not used) and an ipad. The bed was large and very comfortable with 2 pillows or varying softness to give you a choice, and to top things off a fur throw.

Breakfast was served in the downstairs restaurant and the staff here are really attentive to all your needs and doubled up afterwards as a well know eating place for everyone in Tallinn. The hotel is located under the high towns walls in the old towns in has a well just outside that local legend has stories for.

Being located in the old town means nothing is very far away and can be walked from the hotel. This hotel ranks as one of the best I have ever stayed at and it very much warrants it's status, you maybe like me who always looks at the reviews and take a pinch of one and a pinch of another. If you choose to book this hotel (you would be wise to) then you will not be disappointed in anyway.

The sauna is free until 11.30 but give the reception half an hours notice before use

When you exit the airport just stand at the taxi stop (do not cross the road to the second island), these are the licensed taxi's it will cost you 9 euros to the hotel for 2 people.

Room Tip: Ground floor for those that cannot manage stairs as there is no lift, but that would spoil this hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaubarde, Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a fantastic way to star the morning while reading your great comment on tripadvisor.com. First of all congratulations on your 20th wedding anniversary! We are very pleased to hear you have chosen hotel St.Petersbourg as part of this wonderful celebration. We wish you all the best for the years to come!

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us how wonderful your stay was. Tallinn indeed has lots of history behind and we could not be more honored to be surrounded by it each day.

I will forward your greetings to Kasper. He will be very happy to hear you especially have mentioned him in regards to your recent stay with us. He is a very valuable asset to our team and we could not be more happier to have the pleasure to work with him on daily bases.

Thank you once again for the highlights and recommendations of your trip and we would be only honored to welcome you back for another special occasion in your life.

Very happy holiday season to you, your wife and your loved ones.

With best regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    113
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
72
246
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Chic boutique hotel in prime location close to the centre of the old town. Friendly and attentive staff. Good breakfast with plenty of choice. Excellent sleep quality and despite central location very quiet. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaubarde, General Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. We appreciate you taking time to tell us about your experience while staying with us. Hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We recently went to Tallinn and stayed at St Petersbourg Hotel in the old town, what a superb place to stay, one of the best hotels we've stay in anywhere! Here are our observations...

From the airport: If you take a taxi make sure you check the price when you get in. It's not illegal for drivers in Estonia to charge what they want, so it could be an expensive journey. We paid €9 each way which I think is about the going rate. It only takes around ten minutes to get to St Petersbourg Hotel. You can also get a bus but that seemed more hassle than it was worth for us.

The room: When we arrived we got a free upgrade to a superior double on the ground floor (room 107). It really was a fantastic (not-to-mention massive) room! The bed was also huge and extremely comfy. The heating made it lovely warm and cosy. We were just a couple of doors down from reception but it was very peaceful nevertheless. The only thing we heard was the occasional car outside. I imagine it could be quite different at weekends or in high season. We stayed Monday to Friday in the last week of November and for a couple of days thought we were the only guests staying there. We saw literally nobody apart from staff. Every night we were brought complimentary bottles of water, chocolates and a weather report. When we slept in late we weren't disturbed by the maid who took notice of the sign on the door. The TV had limited English channels but there was also the in room iPad to use. Wifi worked perfectly I was able to download some films to watch from iTunes.

The staff: All really friendly and welcoming, always stopping to chat whenever we passed through. Most spoke perfect English (as we found everywhere in Tallinn) never had any communication issues anywhere during our stay. One reception lady was very insistant we put our coats in the entrance closet one night while we had a drink in the bar, but since our room was actually closer we put them in there instead. She seemed a bit annoyed by this for some reason. Strangely out of character of the usual attitude of hotel staff. The bar is in The Nevski Russian Restaurant but there's comfy seats around the fireplace in reception. A great place to chill out after exploring.

Breakfast: Lovely breakfast in a cute Estonian restaurant downstairs (Kuldse Notsu Korts) There was a cold buffet of fish, meat, cheese, cereals, cakes and fruit. Plus hot food to order like omelettes, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages and pancakes. A big variety of food and everything you could possibly want, really very good. We also tried this restaurant for an evening meal (see review) which turned out to be a bit of a disappointment.

The hotel: I've no idea if this hotel is a five star or not. If it isn't it really should be, everything is first class! It has a real luxurious feel and couldn't have been better as far as we were concerned. It's has an olde worlde vibe, I think it dates back to the 1850's. This might be one reason why there's no lift, if you've got mobility problems this could be a problem and may not be suitable for you.

Location: This hotel is right in the heart of the action (not that there was much action this time of year) it's just around the corner from Market Square with it's quaint Christmas Market and there are several amazing reasonably priced restaurants in the same street (see my other reviews). We especially enjoyed; "Rataskaevu 16", "Von Krahli Aed" and "Vanaema Juures" all of which are virtually opposite. We didn't make reservations at any, just walked in and got a table.

In summary: I can't imagine there's a better place to stay in Tallinn, we absolutely loved St Petersbourg Hotel and Tallinn is a lovely town with lovely people. We paid £250 each for four nights b&b including flight, what a bargain! My only disappointment? No snow.

One last thing, if you're looking to buy presents for the folks back home we found the airport cheaper than either the shops or markets in old town although the range of things is smaller.

Iain, London

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaubarde, General Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a great review. Thank you for every comment and suggestion made. Can not express enough how valuable this information is to us and many travelers visiting this beautiful city and our hotel. Our employees will certainly be encouraged by your remarks as they strive to do their best to fulfill our guests highest expectations. Thank you once again for shearing your thoughts in regards to your recent stay with us. We wish you a wonderful upcoming holiday season and hope that you can visit us next time when snow has covered streets and path walks, as city in winter season is the most charming indeed!

Sincerely,

Mara Blaubarde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Brilliant hotel. Staff can't do enough for you. . Very very clean. Exelent decor. Situation for old Tallinn fantastic. . Breakfast Exelent. Would stay again.. we were upgraded from standard to superior. . Tea.coffee and mini bar in room .dressing gowns and slippers . Abd hotel very quiet at night wonderful

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaubarde, General Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Hotel St.Petersbourg. I will forward your greeting to our staff that love to hear how guests especially comment their work and attention to detail. Have a great holiday season and we hope to see you back soon!

With best regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST SUSSEX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

An excellent hotel employing great staff & situated in a perfect location. It is difficult to fault this hotel in any way....if I did I would just be being picky. Our room was spotlessly clean & of a good size. The staff will do anything they can to help. The breakfast won't set the world on fire but it is good and there is sufficient choice to satisfy. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaubarde, General Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such lovely note! There is no better reward for the ones in hospitality industry then hearing how much guests have enjoyed their stay! Have a a wonderful holiday season and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely yours,

Mara Blaubarde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Nebraska
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the old city in Tallinn, 1 block from the town hall, 3 blocks from the train and a 7 euro taxi drive from the bus station. You can walk to the port area in 15-20 minutes, but it would be difficult with luggage as you cross streets and go over cobblestones. You can easily walk to any of the tourist attractions in town from the hotel in a few minutes.
As you enter, you come into a comfortable old world lobby with a fireplace, which is typical of the feel of the hotel. I stayed in #208, a large room with sofa, large wood desk and chair, and queen bed. There is a refrigerator and safe, and a large flat screen TV with CNN and BBC and adequate wifi. The bathroom has a mounted handheld shower. Although in the center of things, the double windows provide for a quiet room, though it's an older building and you can get squeaking from the upstairs floor.
The breakfast is cooked to order eggs/omelet, pancakes (crepes) and/or porridge. There is also a cold meat/cheese selection, and pastry with juices. Coffee is served. There is a highly rated restaurant, and meals are also available in the lower floor area where breakfast is served.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaubarde, General Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for all your compliments and comments you took the time to leave on Tripadvisor. It was great to read how much you enjoyed staying with us. It has been our true pleasure to welcome you at the Hotel St.Petersbourg and we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with husband and daughter (young adult), in a double room with an extra bed - and it turned out to be a real bed, not the usual thin matress ! Location, friendliness of staff, quietness in and around the hotel, breakfast service, sauna ... everything was perfect !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaubarde, General Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice note. Have to agree that our extra beds are great and many of our guests compliment them too. I am very glad to hear how much you enjoyed your entire stay throughout. We hope to see you back at St.Petersbourg hotel if not soon then definitely in near future.

Have a great day!

Best regards,

Mara Blaubarde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Petersbourg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Petersbourg Hotel

Address: Rataskaevu 7 | Tallinn Old Town, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#6 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Petersbourg Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel in Tallinn Old Town. All of our 27 rooms & suites have been individually designed to reflect the Russian merchants’ style.The building itself dates back to the 15th century when a wealthy Russian merchant purchased the property and had it redesigned by the famous architect August Gabler.The latest technological appliances have been discreetly integrated throughout the hotel giving guests the height of comfort in an elegant traditional setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Petersbourg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Petersbourg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Petersbourg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.