We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold and Uncaring” 1 of 5 stars
Review of St. Petersbourg Hotel

Save Saved
You added St. Petersbourg Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. Petersbourg Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rataskaevu 7 | Tallinn Old Town, Tallinn 10123, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cold and Uncaring”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked to take our Widowed Mothers as a treat for Christmas. When we arrived they told us that the rooms wouldn't be ready until 2 pm which was fair enough but told us that we had three triples and where were the the other 5 people in our party !!! ..This was an indication of the few days that followed. The front desk was manned by youngish lads most of the period of the stay who listened but just came up with excuses as opposed to solutions to our problems with the room. Primarily the room was cold..the weather was cold but even for an old hotel heating and insulation shouldnt be an issue in this day and age....there was no carpet on the floor which made it feel cooler , the room had secondary glazing which was badly fitted with gaps where the cold air streamed through,the heating barely got hot and the radiators were placed under beches under the window so most heat went straight out of the window. We complained at the desk and were almost laughed at...saying that the weather was cold and it was an old hotel..what did we expect!!!??, we asked for rugs to help insulate the floor we got one runner! We asked for a double duvet as opposed to the single duvets we had ...and they gave us more single duvets!! We were told that parts of the hotel were being refurbished..we asked to be moved ....no other rooms were available the entire stay!!!?? even thugh people were arriving and leaving all the time!!....On the second day a room maid found a electric radiator which helped ..but by this time I had the flu..possible due to sleeping in an 15 degree room whilst being ill when arriving!!???. The food was ok in the restaurant and the staff there were ok. But the front of desk " Lads" need better training or even some senior management around during the holiday period would have been helpful!!!! No tea and coffee making facilities which totally amazed me too!!

Room Tip: No Lifts so if your not very mobile ground floor is a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are certainly sorry to hear that you experience of staying at St. Petersbourg hotel was negative.
Your review has been brought to the attention of all our management and department heads have followed up on it. Some extra training was organised for the staff of reception desk. We apologise for the fact that your room temperature issue was not solved faster and more efficiently.
Thank you for your comments as all the feedback from our guests is appreciated and helps us to improve.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    330
    101
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
67
220
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked a fantastic value short break to Tallinn, including flights from Gatwick and 3 nights here for £170 each.

The hotel is charming and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a junior suite on the first floor at the front of the building. We were concerned, having read other T A reviews that it may be noisy, but our fears were unfounded. Although Tallinn has a reputation as a "stag do" venue, the only visitors we came across were here for the pretty (but slightly disappointing) Christmas market.

Breakfast was excellent and the A4 printed news-sheets were a nice touch. Lovely fire in the comfortable reception area with a bowl brimming with ginger biscuits.

Hotel location couldn't be better, in the heart of the gorgeous old town, 2 mins from the town square.

Would thoroughly recommend this great hotel and Tallinn itself as a fantastic short winter break destination.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very kind review of St. Petersbourg Hotel. We are very glad our staff an hotel`s charming atmosphere helped to make your short break to Tallinn pleasant and memorable.
We appreciate you recommending our hotel and Tallinn as a fantastic winter destination.
Hopefully we can welcome you back to charming St.Petersbourg hotel some time again.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights in this hotel and were extremely happy with the location, the service and the price. The hotel was a little bit tatty but for the price we couldn't complain. We were given an ipad to help navigate our stay in Tallinn which was a great idea and something I hope more hotels pick up. The fireplace with gingerbread was a winner in my eyes as it was the perfect place to sit and wait for our friend who lived not far away. We enjoyed the breakfast every morning in the quaint Estonian restaurant.

This hotel is only minutes away from the Old Town square and a short walk to New Town. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Tallinn and would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat!

Thanks

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are pleased to know that you and your husband have enjoyed the location of St. Petersbourg hotel as well as our service and the price. Our room are being refurbished right now so that we can offer even more comfort to our guests.
Thank you for mentioning the ginger bread and the IPad we provide to our guests. It gives a perfect idea of St. Petersbourg Hotel concept - combination of tradition and innovation.
You are very welcome to visit us again at any time.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My friend and I visited Tallinn in December as I had always wanted to visit the city and thought it would be great to combine it with the Christmas markets. Hotel St Petersbourg was a fantastic choice, we had done a lot of research through tripadvisor and weren't disappointed. The hotel's location was excellent, just a few minutes walk from the old square with the Christmas market, plenty of cafes and restaurants. The hotel staff are very welcoming, helpful and knowledgable. There is no lift in the hotel, but there are people to help if you are struggling with your luggage. Our room was very comfortable, a good size, all rooms are apparently non smoking. The room was very clean and the turn down service we received in the evening excellent, with bottles of water and chocolates provided. The bathroom was spotless with plenty of toiletries provided and our highlight the underfloor heating, very welcome after being outside all day in minus temperatures. There is free WiFi in the hotel should you need to use it.

Breakfast is excellent, running from 7.30am-10.30am with a great selection of cold and hot choices, very friendly and efficient waiting staff. It is held in a charming and quaint breakfast room with lots of character. They also provide evening meals although we didn't eat in the hotel.

There is a cosy bar to have a pre dinner drink in the evening before you head out, which is very nice. Here the staff dress in the traditional costume, which adds to the atmosphere. There is also a restaurant if you want to stay within the confines of the hotel.

Be warned we arrived late on the first night and desperately wanted some water for our room, two small bottles set us back 8.00 euros from the bar downstairs. Note there is a supermarket five minutes walk away in the Old Square.

A wonderful, boutique and reasonable hotel in a great location within a beautiful city- a real gem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with Tripadvisor readers beautiful memories of your stay at St. Petersbourg hotel. We absolutely agree that hotel`s location next to Town Hall Square, it`s coziness and boutique style make it a perfect place to stay if you wish to visit Tallinn's Christmas market.
We are sure that many customers who are looking for a place to stay in Tallinn and doing a thorough research on Tripadvisor the same way you did will find your review very helpful.
We are looking forward to greeting you at St. Petersbourg hotel again.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Just back from there, and what a joy of a hotel that is! Especially these days, when the medieval town hall square, a living postcard two minutes' walk away, is hosting a beautiful Christmas market.

The hotel itself, a former upscale residence in the heart of Tallinn's magnificent Old Town, is a combination of tasteful luxury and quietly impeccable service. The front desk staff treats you like royalty, at night you get turndown service, in the morning they cook you omelettes on request, and, at least under the right circumstances (we booked about six weeks in advance), all that comes out at two digits per room per night. Due to some weird quirk of the hospitality industry, the property lacks an obviously deserved fifth star, but that is probably good news for the guests, as is everything else about that exquisite hotel.

If the management is listening: kudos to your amazing staff, their attitude makes an impressive difference. Of your front desk people, at least two seem to be launching stellar careers, so congrats to you and good luck to them :).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is our greatest pleasure to hear that you felt being treated like royalty at St. Petersbourg hotel.
This is the biggest compliment for our staff as well as your comment that our property deserves the fifth star.
We have shared your review with our employees and they cannot thank you enough.
You are very welcome back to St. Petersbourg hotel at at time!

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I have just had a four night stay in this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves,perfect setting just around the corner from the old town square. Very small hotel but perfect the staff are lovely and made us feel very welcome ample toiletries provided,excellent breakfast and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. A very nice touch was the water and chocolates brought to our room each evening. It was snowing and the Christmas market is very good very nice people and a great way to start Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very glad to hear that you found St. Petersbourg hotel a perfect place to stay during you visit of Tallinn`s Christmas Market. Our staff is pleased to know that you felt very welcome and enjoyed everything – from hotel`s locations to chocolates brought by maid each evening.
You are very welcome to visit us again at any time.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had thought about staying in one of the modern hotels outside the old town but eventually decided to go for the traditional St Petersbourg Hotel and were very glad that we did. This is a really warm and friendly establishment, very close to the centre of the old town but in a quiet street.
We were visiting Tallinn for the Christmas Market and the St Petersbourg is just two minutes walk from the town square which is the centre of the Christmas action.
We had a wonderful three nights and the atmosphere was heightened by a heavy fall of snow the first night. It was bitterly cold but we were able to return frequently to our lovely room to thaw out.
We were given an upgrade to a Junior Suite at the corner on the first floor. This was splendid with high ceiling, a sofa and two armchairs, a writing desk and lots of room. TV with a DVD player, mini-bar, CD/tape/radio player (which was a bit vintage). Free wi-fi in the room. Large bathroom with underfloor heating (luxury). All windows are double glazed and secondary glazed so warm and efficient for soundproofing.
The reception was manned 24hrs and all staff were friendly and helpful. At the reception there is an open fire (gas) and a big basket of ginger biscuits topped up frequently.
Breakfasts are in the downstairs restaurant (Kuldse Notsu Korts) and is very good. Hot food, including omelettes is served and there is an extensive buffet. Enough to keep you going all day. We didn't actually eat any meals other than breakfast here but we were impressed by the dinner menu and it was busy every night. We also didn't eat in the upstairs hotel restaurant, Nevskij, which seemed quite expensive.
There is a sauna suite (on the 4th floor) which is free to guests up till 11am. We didn't get round to using it (hadn't brought swim gear).
There are lots of good and reasonable restaurants very near to the hotel.
There isn't any lift which didn't bother us but may be a factor to some.
The lack of any tea or coffee making facility in the room was a bit of a disappointment but we now note from other TripAdvisor posts that a kettle may have been available on request.

Loved the hotel, loved Tallinn, loved the market and the groggi (gluhwein)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such positive and detailed review of St. Petersbourg hotel. We are happy to hear that you had a great pre-Christmas time with us.
Thank you for mentioning the details that make the difference: charming atmosphere, location, room amenities and very good breakfast.
We are proud to have been a part of you Christmas fairy tale in Tallinn and and looking forward to seeing you as our guests again.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Petersbourg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Petersbourg Hotel

Address: Rataskaevu 7 | Tallinn Old Town, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Petersbourg Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel in Tallinn Old Town. All of our 27 rooms & suites have been individually designed to reflect the Russian merchants’ style.The building itself dates back to the 15th century when a wealthy Russian merchant purchased the property and had it redesigned by the famous architect August Gabler.The latest technological appliances have been discreetly integrated throughout the hotel giving guests the height of comfort in an elegant traditional setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your St. Petersbourg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Petersbourg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Petersbourg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.