We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Warm Haven in the Snow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Petersbourg Hotel

Save Saved
You added St. Petersbourg Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
St. Petersbourg Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rataskaevu 7 | Tallinn Old Town, Tallinn 10123, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 81 hotels in Tallinn
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A Warm Haven in the Snow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had thought about staying in one of the modern hotels outside the old town but eventually decided to go for the traditional St Petersbourg Hotel and were very glad that we did. This is a really warm and friendly establishment, very close to the centre of the old town but in a quiet street.
We were visiting Tallinn for the Christmas Market and the St Petersbourg is just two minutes walk from the town square which is the centre of the Christmas action.
We had a wonderful three nights and the atmosphere was heightened by a heavy fall of snow the first night. It was bitterly cold but we were able to return frequently to our lovely room to thaw out.
We were given an upgrade to a Junior Suite at the corner on the first floor. This was splendid with high ceiling, a sofa and two armchairs, a writing desk and lots of room. TV with a DVD player, mini-bar, CD/tape/radio player (which was a bit vintage). Free wi-fi in the room. Large bathroom with underfloor heating (luxury). All windows are double glazed and secondary glazed so warm and efficient for soundproofing.
The reception was manned 24hrs and all staff were friendly and helpful. At the reception there is an open fire (gas) and a big basket of ginger biscuits topped up frequently.
Breakfasts are in the downstairs restaurant (Kuldse Notsu Korts) and is very good. Hot food, including omelettes is served and there is an extensive buffet. Enough to keep you going all day. We didn't actually eat any meals other than breakfast here but we were impressed by the dinner menu and it was busy every night. We also didn't eat in the upstairs hotel restaurant, Nevskij, which seemed quite expensive.
There is a sauna suite (on the 4th floor) which is free to guests up till 11am. We didn't get round to using it (hadn't brought swim gear).
There are lots of good and reasonable restaurants very near to the hotel.
There isn't any lift which didn't bother us but may be a factor to some.
The lack of any tea or coffee making facility in the room was a bit of a disappointment but we now note from other TripAdvisor posts that a kettle may have been available on request.

Loved the hotel, loved Tallinn, loved the market and the groggi (gluhwein)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such positive and detailed review of St. Petersbourg hotel. We are happy to hear that you had a great pre-Christmas time with us.
Thank you for mentioning the details that make the difference: charming atmosphere, location, room amenities and very good breakfast.
We are proud to have been a part of you Christmas fairy tale in Tallinn and and looking forward to seeing you as our guests again.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    318
    94
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
61
209
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taplow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Hotel is in an excellent location for old town Tallinn, a charming hotel with character.
First the good : staff friendly, breakfast is lovely in a charming room, staff very courteous and friendly, lovely bar staff and prices not too high, log fire in reception gives a welcome atmosphere.
Not so good : no lifts and if room on third floor have to lug cases up flights of stairs, staff will help though. No room is the same which although quaint is irritating in that you are not sure if grade of room is as booked, we booked 4 deluxe (one up from standard) non smoking twin rooms last February for our Dec stay and one was allocated a suite (lovely) on the ground floor, one a family room on the third floor which consisted of a small double bed and a 'Z' type bed and as the floor was being renovated smelled strongly of paint, one was allocated a smoking room on the third floor and ours was a room on the second floor, all rooms had couches apart from ours which only had one armchair and beds were really close to wardrobe doors. Very small beds with small quilts, high ceiling rooms which gave a 'roomy' feel.
We had asked for kettles and mugs in each room (as these were apparently available) we had to ask again when we arrived and were given a small travel kettle each with no cups ! Would have been nice to have had rooms nearer to each other and of similar size.
Apart from the room variation we enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: seems to be 'pot luck' as all rooms appear to be different
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that in general you enjoyed your stay at St. Petersbourg hotel although you mentioned some details that could be improved.
As you have mentioned, at the moment we are upgrading our hotel rooms and this is why not all of the room types were available during your stay with us. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by that.
We shall definitely remind our employees not to forget to bring cups together with kettle whenever requested.
We appreciate that you mentioned the quality of breakfast and the welcoming atmosphere of St. Petersbourg Hotel.
Hopefully we shall have a chance to host you again at St. Petersbourg hotel so that you can enjoy the utmost comfort of our refurbished rooms.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Arriving in Tallinn we arrived at our hotel to a warm greeting from Mari who impressed us with her English and ability to ask us relevant questions in a friendly and efficient way. During our 5 day stay we found all the staff had similar skills and warmth. Our room on the ground floor was impressive - underfloor heating in the bathroom; low level lights that came on when we got out of bed, and in again and out again.... like children we kept trying them out! Maid service was excellent; the in house restaurant for breakfast (not a meagre Continental but a full spread and eggs, bacon etc cooked to order); also excellent for evening meals. (Be prepared if you order the pork knuckle - a monster meal!). Decor was good with Christmas preparations underway. A hotel not be faulted in my opinion. Just a few yards from the Main Square, in an historic area of Old Town. (NB try the restaurants out the door to the left and right just a few yards, excellent too.

Room Tip: We were downstairs, the first from the reception, but heard little noise although we overlooked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Our hotel employees were really happy to hear that you noticed their professionalism and friendliness. I personally forwarded your compliments to Mari at reception who impressed you with her English skills.
We are very glad that you enjoyed the amenities of your room and found the breakfast excellent. Thank you for emphasizing such important detail hotel`s location as well.
You are very welcome to visit us again at any time!

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orsett, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent three nights in this hotel last month. I have to say it was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in ( and we have stayed in a few over the years!) The staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. The hotel is well positioned in the old town, and we couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for mentioning St. Petersbourg hotel as one of the nicest hotels you stayed at. We are glad that you enjoyed the property itself as well as our service.
We hope that you will choose us again whenever you will decide to come back to Tallinn.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had a nice stay at Tallinn´s oldest hotel (if I recall). We got our triple room updated to junior suite, iPad to lend.. Exellent reception staff, very kind and sweet! Comfy beds, and cosy bathroom with a window.

Only negatives were a bit time-worn furnitures at room, and strange act to check minibar&refill it before our checking out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write this very positive comment on our stay at St. Petersbourg hotel and mentioning the small things that make our service special such as the Ipad.
We are glad to inform you that right now we are upgrading all of our rooms, so that our guests could enjoy the brand new furnishings in every room.
Hope to get a chance to welcome you back to St. Petersbourg hotel soon.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

All the other rave reviews on St.Petersbourg Hotel are spot on! This hotel is special. This is mainly due to the superb staff - to name but a few, the eloquent Stefan at reception, the wonderful housekeeper Olga and the so friendly and cheerful (married to an Irishman!) Katre Deen at breakfast. On arrival we were greeted by a very pleasant porter at the taxi to carry our luggage. Stefan and his equally articulate colleague at reception could not have been more helpful. What an innovative gesture to give an Ipad per room to familiarise us with the hotel and keep us up to date! Things only got better. Wonderful ambience, lovely decor, spotlessly clean surroundings, superb quiet rooms with plentiful supply of toiletries, complimentary water and chocolates each evening, most meticulous room cleaning and preparation. Breakfast was a treat - selection of juices, fresh fruit, yoghurts, cold meats and fish, cheeses, olives, jams, honey, selection of breads and cakes, freshly cooked eggs,bacon,omlettes,pancakes - a veritable feast!! Our only regret over the 5 days was that the Nevski restaurant was booked out on our evening of choice. Hotel St. Petersbourg must be THE place to stay inTallinn.
P.S. Balthazars Garlic restaurant in the square is a must visit.

Room Tip: 2nd/3rd floors had more light and brighter than ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at St. Petersbourg Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest
It is hard to describe how happy we are to receive such positive comments from you! We have forwarded them to Stefan, Olga and Katre who are very pleased to know that their efforts have been noticed and appreciated.
Thank you also for mentioning the lovely decor, the ambience, cleanliness of the hotel and quality of our breakfast.
We hope that we can welcome you back to St. Petersbourg hotel some day!

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the St Petersbourg towards the end of June, Wednesday to Sunday, and we really loved it. It was a gorgeous hotel, really pretty, and so perfectly located within Tallinn - basically smack in the middle of the Old Town, really close to the town square and easy walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go, as well as a bunch of really nice restaurants.

The hotel was beautiful, and the room was really nice - comfortable room, I wouldn't say huge or anything, but a nice size, and really nicely furnished, with a comfy bed! It was kept really clean, and I think except for like a lightbulb that had run out or something we didn't have any problems. The bathroom was lovely too.

The staff were one of the best things about the hotel; they were really helpful but more than that, really, really friendly. And my boyfriend absolutely loved the breakfast, which to be fair was very nice - the restaurant was very cute, and there was an excellent buffet, as well as really nice hot food served to order. We never tried the restaurant in the evening though!

It was good value for money, and we honestly didn't have any complaints. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Petersbourg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Petersbourg Hotel

Also Known As:
St Petersbourg Hotel
Address: Rataskaevu 7 | Tallinn Old Town, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#12 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Petersbourg Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel in Tallinn Old Town. All of our 27 rooms & suites have been individually designed to reflect the Russian merchants’ style.The building itself dates back to the 15th century when a wealthy Russian merchant purchased the property and had it redesigned by the famous architect August Gabler.The latest technological appliances have been discreetly integrated throughout the hotel giving guests the height of comfort in an elegant traditional setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your St. Petersbourg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Petersbourg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.