We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great luxury hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Schlossle

Save Saved
You added Hotel Schlossle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Schlossle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Puhavaimu 13/15, Tallinn 10123, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
Fredrikstad, Norway
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great luxury hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Staying with business partner for 4 days. We were actually booked at the St Petersbourg Hotel that I normally use in Tallinn. However, upon arrival there late night the door was locked; closed for refurbishment! What a surprise, as they did not give me a hint of this prior to my arrival. Anyhow, Schlossle turned out to be a magnificent replacement, and at the rate actually booked at St Petersbourg. The Schlossle is really up-scale, and very comfortable. Cannot really say anything but fantastic about this hotel. However, I still feel the Schlossle Hotel Group owe me an apology for not informing me prior to my arrival. I dis also spend 10EUR for an additional taxi!
Do have a meal in the bar or restaurant while there! The food is top grade!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write such a nice review of Hotel Schlössle. Please once again accept our apologize for the confusion with your booking at our sister property St. Petersbour hotel. The mistake from our side was caused by misspelling of your e-mail address by our employee.
However we are very happy that comfort of your stay at Hotel Schlössle could compensate the negative situation upon arrival. Thank you for finding the place fantastic and recommending our restaurant.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to both of our properties.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    41
    7
    8
    5
See reviews for
40
164
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

It is hard to believe the previous reviewer. We have just returned from a 3 day break to Tallin staying at the wonderful Schlossle Hotel. We arrived early and immediately upon walking into the most characterful reception with its thick stone walls and receiving a very warm and highly after being served tea whilst we checked in, we were shown to our lovely deluxe room which was totally in keeping with much attention to detail and beautiful decor. Nice linen and drapes, lovely clean bathroom with heated floor and quality toiletries. Breakfast was served in the lovely dining room beside a roaring open fire. Excellent choice of juices,cereals fruit and breads etc and hot breakfast cooked to order. I can recommend the Egg Benedict. Staff were most professional, courteous and friendly at all times and only too happy to help with any request. They are an absolute credit to the hotel. Tallin itself looked beautiful in the snow and the hotel was ideally located only a moment away from the Old Town Square and all Tallinn has Excellent eateries nearby e.g. Clayhills Gastro Pub good food and selection of beers also Grill House Daube where meat is cooked on lava rocks is to be recommended. A warm welcome always greeted us when we returned to the Schlossle from the night cold. Would most certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with Tripadvisor readers your impressions of Hotel Schlössle. We are really glad to know that you felt most welcome in our unique property that is full of character. Our staff is pleased that you appreciate their efforts to provide excellent service and that you enjoyed both our the deluxe room amenities and hotel breakfast.
Thank you a lot for your readiness to recommend us to your friends. We shall be happy to have you back at beautiful Hotel Schlössle at any time.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very unpleasant experience. Valley damaged our car, no assistance from hotel was provided in resolving the issue. Disturbing smell in the bathroom, poor breakfast. Overall quality and experience does not correspond to a level of service expected from a boutique hotel. Management was a major disappointment.

Room Tip: the best room option is to book another hotel to save yourself the troubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. Each guest review is important to us, positive and negative ones, we take them very seriously as by this way we can improve our level of services.
We are sorry to hear about your negative experience at Hotel Schlössle. However I know that hotel management was taking immediate actions in order to solve the issue with your car. Our Front Office Manager stayed in contact with you, was following up on the situation and offered you the solution.
We have offered you full compensation for the damage of your car documented by the police who examined the vehicle in your presence. What we did not accept was your additional claim for the damage that you discovered already back in Latvia and we have no official prove that it was done to your car during your stay at our hotel.
We regret that hotel`s breakfast and and the level of service was not up to standards in your opinion, but it is difficult to comment more about that as you do not mention any details of why it was so.
Once again please accept our apologies for the experience that did not meet your expectations and hopefully we shall have a chance to welcome you back to Hotel Schlössle.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel is BRILLIANT. It is a 2 minute walk to the main square, the staff are amazing - so friendly and helpful. The building is beautiful and full of character - our room had a HUGE bathroom with underfloor heating which was very welcome as it was chilly outside. Breakfast was delicious - a continental style buffet with hot dishes available to order - the eggs benedict is recommended! Nothing negative to say at all - the hotel fully deserves its status as the best in Tallinn.

Room Tip: Room 2 - I think it was a suite - very nice, courtyard facing so very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for the very positive feedback about your stay at Hotel Schlössle. We appreciate that you noticed not only the spacious bathroom and delicious breakfast but also the unique character of our property.
Your compliments regarding the friendly service have been forwarded to the staff.
We shall be happy to see you as our guest at any time.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Beach, FL
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
192 hotel reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
319 helpful votes 319 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Grace, style and beauty. Schlossle Hotel has this and more. Super front desk, lovely building, nice rooms, great breakfast with eggs to order. The cellar bar is unique. The location in the lower part of Old Town makes it a great location to explore historical Tallinn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for speaking so highly of our property. We are delighted that you appreciate Hotel Schlössle`s grace, style and beauty, our great breakfast and unique bar in the basement.
Your comment regarding the hotel`s great location in the lower part of town is also very much appreciated.
Hopefully we shall get a chance to welcome you back to charming Hotel Schlössle.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was impressed by hotel lobby and restaurant, it's like an old castle, very nice and cosy.
Service is great, ad location is amazing, in the centre of the city. But rooms are small, and white, maybe i don't like white colour in rooms . Rooms are very clean and bad is great.
Bathroom is very small also. Room-service- which is saying - 24 hours, worked only till 23.00.
So we had to go to found some food at night in the city, no issues as it in the centre, but why they saying - 24 hours?
Food in restaurant is very good at breakfast, but we set for dinner and it not impressed me, but pretty expensive. Any way hotel is very nice, with great location and amazing spirit.
.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for finding time to share your impressions of Hotel Schlössle on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you found our castle like atmosphere nice and cozy, location amazing and service great. Hotel rooms indeed are not very large, but that is due to the medieval origin of the building dating back to 14h century.
As for the room service issue, we do have certain items available 24 hours, we shall look into it to find out why it did not work. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.
Hopefully you will visit us again to enjoy the amazing spirit of Hotel Schlössle.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

wonderful, definitely recomend to all of you!

We arrived this hotel somewhere between 13h to 14h, which is a bit earlier to the check in time. but even so, the front staff were so nice, and they served us tea (had choice of black, white or green) while they are checking if our room was ready.
The room was fullly furnished, there was even a weight scale;-)
there was also a plate with variety of fruit with warming message.

Tallinn is only 2hrs from Helsinki, but unlike Helsinki, you can stay at hotel --gorgeous one---
economically.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review, we are delighted to know that your stay with us was pleasant and made you feel „like rich“.
We appreciate that you mentioned such important details as room furnishing including the scale and our the welcome card upon arrival. Feedback about these small details that make the difference is very important to us.
We shall be glad to welcome you back to beautiful Hotel Schlössle!

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Schlossle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schlossle

Address: Puhavaimu 13/15, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#9 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schlossle 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Tallinn’s Old Town, the Schlossle is a delightful boutique hotel that will take you back to Estonia’s medieval past. The luxurious furnishings and the attentive staff ensure that you will have a memorable stay in this charming hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Schlossle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloessle Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Schlossle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.