We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay in Tallinn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Schlossle

Save Saved
You added Hotel Schlossle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Schlossle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Puhavaimu 13/15, Tallinn 10123, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 84 hotels in Tallinn
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay in Tallinn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Must have been at least half a dozen times we have stayed at this hotel, its atmosphere is unbeatable with beautiful reception rooms and friendly staff and the location in old town is perfect. Room sizes vary, have so far stayed mostly in large suites, this time the room was smallish but comfortable and beautifully decorated as always. Two minor drawbacks: the air in the room was very dry and it was a bit too hot - should have asked the staff to adjust the heating. The pillow in the bed was large which was nice, but perhaps a bit too hard and high to be comfortable - again something that maybe could have been changed if we had stayed longer. Breakfast was good, but why the restaurant was empty in the evening although it was open?

Room Tip: All rooms are obviously good, on the street side there is some traffic, but not too much. If you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
We highly appreciate your loyalty to Hotel Schlössle which shows that you enjoyed your stay with us not only this time, but before as well. Thank you for mentioning the beautiful decor of our rooms and public areas as well as friendliness of our staff.
Unfortunately the air inside is indeed quite dry due to extra heating and is caused by very cold weather. We shall be happy to provide a smaller size pillow upon request next time, just let us know and it will be arranged.
Hopefully we shall have the pleasure to have you as our guest soon again.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    41
    7
    8
    5
See reviews for
40
164
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

In the midst of winter, we had a warm and comfortabe stay in the old lady! The service was excellent, the staff friendly and always quick and willing to assist. The location is ideal for exploring Tallinn by foot. Breakfast was a treat each morning and I can recommend this hotel without reserve.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for you very kind review of Hotel Schlössle. We are happy to hear that your stay with us was warm and comfortable and you found our service excellent.
We highly appreciate you recommending us and would be very glad to welcome you back at any time.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

In a city with already a great deal to recommend it, the Hotel Schlossle is another reason to venture to Tallinn. Located in an ideal spot very near to the Town Square in the pedestrian only Old Town, the hotel is superlative. From Anthony welcoming you enthusiastically at the front door, the hotel's staff continues to do its utmost to ensure a pleasurable stay. Dining is superb with food not only beautifully prepared and presented in the atmospheric stone and beam dining room, but the maitre d's eagle eye ensures service is efficient yet unobtrusive. A pre dinner drink or after dinner coffee are equally enjoyable in the marvelous bar downstairs where again, the subtle not too bright lighting and chic furniture are the perfect vehicles to let the hotel's architecture shine. If you really wish to experience the special restoration of these period buildings, book the Schlossle Suite in the loft of the hotel. Here one can touch the stone and exposed timbers, still retaining the pulley mechanism to lift goods in from the street, and feel the house's medieval history existing perfectly alongside wifi! Of course, one loses the benefit of far reaching views from the gabled windows but there are few to be had anyway in the narrow lanes of the old town. Better to focus on the Schlossle welcoming interior and savour its overall excellence after a day's touring and buying Estonian wool sweaters and mittens. And don't forget the sauna to equally warm you - the Suite has one of its very own so you needn't worry about booking the hotel one ahead of time. A special stay in a special city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is our greatest pleasure to know that you not just enjoyed your stay with us, but even recommend Hotel Schlössle as another reason to visit Tallinn.
Thank you for pointing out the features of our biggest and nicest Suite as well as our restaurant and lounge.
Your compliments regarding the service have been forwarded to Anthony and other employees of hotel reception and restaurant.
Hopefully we shall have a chance to greet you at charming Hotel Schlössle some time again.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful old hotel in the city of the old town. Easily walking distance to everything. Hotel staff where excellent, couldn't have been more helpful.
Our room was at the back of the hotel in a separate building with the sauna beneath our room. Room was ok, we had paid for a superior room, not sure how it was superior tho.
Rooms are cleaned twice a day, and very well. Maid also cleaned my make up brushes, trying to be helpful, but personally thought was a bit of an invasion of my privacy.
Breakfast had a good selection, cooked breakfast also very good. Did however learn that if you order pancakes, you get 3 very small designer pancakes, not the stack I was expecting, but maybe they think only kids would order them :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for pointing out the important features of Hotel Schlössle that make our property so special: the location, excellent staff and beautiful old style. Each room of our hotel is different due to peculiarity of medieval building. Sorry to hear that the size of your pancake plate was not exactly what you expected but we are glad to know that it did not spoil your breakfast experience in general.
Welcome back to Hotel Schlössle whenever you decide to visit Tallinn again.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Nothing beats the fairy tale type of atmosphere in Tallinn's Old Town in December. This experience was nicely complemented by Hotel Schlossle's combined medieval and modern atmosphere, excellent service, and prime location just a couple of blocks away from the Town Hall Square, where the annual Christmas market is held. The Christmas market is definitely worth visiting if you happen to be in Tallinn just before Christmas.

The service at Hotel Schlossle was first-class. I want to extend my special thanks to the personnel at the reception. Unfortunately, my name memory is fairly bad, but a young, tall lady and her male colleague were very attentive and professional from the very first beginning. The check-in process was prompt, and we were fluently informed of all essential things and opening hours at the hotel. A nice plus was that we were upgraded to a penthouse room on the highest floor. This room was very spacious, cozy, and decorated with a good taste very much in line with the "medieval" spirit of the hotel.

The hotel's breakfast was substantial and made of fresh, high-quality ingredients. The only negative thing was the speed of the service. We placed an order on two omelettes. From the moment of placing the order, we had 30 minutes available until we had to leave for a nearby museum to attend a guided tour. After waiting for almost 30 minutes for those omelettes and trying to find a waiter or waitress to hurry up our order, we gave up and simply had to leave the hotel for the museum. By this time, we had - fortunately - already eaten many things from the buffet table, so we did not leave the hotel as hungry guests. However, it would have been nice to hear from the waitress in advance that preparing the two omelettes will take about 30 minutes because the kitchen is busy or something else.

The cellar floor of the hotel has been turned into a nice lounge bar / living room. Unfortunately, it was almost empty while we were there, but the snacks and drinks there very good and served promptly.

All in all, a very nice hotel with a wonderful location. There are many high-quality restaurants in the neighborhood and pretty much everything is within the walking distance. Combined with friendly and helpful staff, a nice atmosphere, and well-maintained, very clean facilities, this hotel is worth visiting (in spite of the omelette episode...).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very kind and detailed review on Hotel Schlössle. We are happy to know that your stay with us was a nice compliment to beautiful Tallinn experience at Christmas time.
Our reception staff is very grateful for your positive comments regarding the service they provide. As for the „omelette episode“, thank you a lot for bringing it to our attention. Feedback like yours helps us a lot to make improvements wherever they are needed. We apologize for inconvenience caused by slow service at breakfast. At the same time we are glad to know that it did now ruin your overall impression of our hotel.
Thank you for recommending us and hopefully we can see you as our guest sometime again.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarratt
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of December and snow fell, it was SO beautiful. The hotel is warm, exquisite, comfortable, with excellent beds and a Downton Abbey level of service!! The hotel is right in the heart of the old town, close to the main square and you can walk everywhere from here. The breakfast is very good and I recommend the porridge (unusual!). I cannot recommend this hotel too highly, it is very good value and I bet you won't want to leave!!

Room Tip: Room 27 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you a lot for giving positive such comments about your stay at Hotel Schlössle and thank you even more for recommending us! We promise to keep up the high level of comfort and service in our house and happy to inform you that your compliments of porridge at breakfast have been forwarded to the kitchen!
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to beautiful Hotel Schlössle.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We were made to feel very welcome at Hotel Schlossle. Warm and friendly staff, great service and a hotel with a wonderful atmosphere in the heart of the Old Town. Couldn't have asked for anything more and can't wait to visit again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annatln, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Schlossle, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Warm and positive comments like yours motivate our staff to keep up doing great job keeping hotel guests happy.
We are looking forward to seeing you again Hotel Schlösse.

Best regards,
Anna Gvozdeva
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Schlossle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schlossle

Address: Puhavaimu 13/15, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#7 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schlossle 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Tallinn’s Old Town, the Schlossle is a delightful boutique hotel that will take you back to Estonia’s medieval past. The luxurious furnishings and the attentive staff ensure that you will have a memorable stay in this charming hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Schlossle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloessle Hotel Tallinn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Schlossle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.